We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place in very good area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel IX Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel IX Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel IX Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Hartenstraat 8, 1016 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Belga) (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent place in very good area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel was a really nice surprise to us. We usually stay in 5 star accommodation around the world, this was different, but definitely much more pleasant than most of luxurious hotels. Susan and Merel both of them are taking very personal care of their place and their guests. We stayed in room 301 on top, room was really spacious, very good beds and linens, everything 100 % clean and designed. We were 3 of us, even sofa bed was comfortable enough. Nespresso machine , minibar for free was a nice touch. I hope both of ladies will be successful and wish them all the best. Next time in Amsterdam I will definitely stay in this place again. Some practical info: because it is typical Amsterdam house, there is no elevator,but we didn't feel that as a problem. Bathroom in 301 has one wall made of glass, it looks great, but somebody can be disturbed by lack of privacy. Hotel has very good location, Anne Frank museum 5-10 minutes walk, Screaming beans with breakfast next door,Van Harten with good lunch choices on the same street, sushi place across the street.It is in a center, but quiet compare to other parts of center.Wi-fi connection (for free) worked very well. There is no reception, enter with code given one day before arrival, worked well.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp Province, Belgium
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Since I moved from my hometown Amsterdam, it's always a joy to back in my city. I stayed in the hotel when they just opened. Everything feels like home, the location is great and I really enjoyed the design of the rooms. I stayed in the Wolvenstraat suite. A spacious and light room. More than enough space from one person.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel IX is a beautiful, new hotel, located in Amsterdam's nice 9 Streets area. Closely located to the train station, nice shops and places for food and drink on your doorstep. The hotel doesn't have a reception, but you get in using a code. Yet, when you ask for it, dropping off your bags is not a problem. We were in the Huidenstraat Suite, a vast room, located in the back and, hence, rather quiet. All drinks from the minibar included (water, beer, soda). The room has everything you need - perhaps the only thing missing is an alarm clock. No breakfast, but try Screaming Beans next door (great coffee!).

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruxelles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I spent a night at the hotel.
Easy to find, in a great location in the city. Not too central (dam etc) and hence quiet but close enough to have everything within waking distance.
The pictures are 100% realistic. Good bedding , great bath. Love the decoration style.
Plus great communication with the hosts who help as much as possible.
Would definitely come back and recommend


  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is an excellent choice for a hotel in Amsterdam! The room was very stylish and spacious, decorated with luxurious furniture and a very comfortable bed. The room had a beautiful and charming view overlooking Hartenstraat, located on the 9 Streets, surrounded by restaurants, bars, museums etc. The service was great and all products in the minibar are for free!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeBary, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We had visited Amsterdam many times before this trip, but this was the first time we stayed overnight in the city. This hotel is perfectly located for anyone who wants to explore Amsterdam -- from the big tourist attractions to the small canal-lined streets. We stayed in the Huidenstraat Suite which was perfectly appointed with a very comfortable bed (so important for a good night sleep!) and a roomy, separate sitting room. The large shower was divine! Considering the central location, we were also pleasantly surprised to find the suite quiet -- no street noise. I was a bit concerned about the lack of traditional lobby but check-in and check-out were a breeze and we didn't miss anything at all staying at this great hotel. I would gladly recommend Hotel IX to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Hotel IX is a breath of fresh air in the Amsterdam Hotel market. Very 'homey' and personal yes stylish and with an international feel. While the hotel does not offer 24-hr service, it is not missed. The hostesses think of everything and make any guest feel right at home.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel IX Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel IX Amsterdam

Address: Hartenstraat 8, 1016 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Belga)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel IX Amsterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We proudly welcome you to our 5 suite boutique hotel in the heart of the 9 Streets district of Amsterdam. The only hotel in the 9 Streets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel IX Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belga Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel IX Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.