We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sint Nicolaas to your Saves list
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wisconsin
1 review
“Good place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We enjoyed our stay. The hotel is well located and provides a pleasant place to stay during our stay in Amsterdam. We enjoyed the room, the breakfasts, the bar very late at night. Very helpful people!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    195
    65
    17
    10
See reviews for
73
196
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Adequate-sized clean rooms with comfy beds, great staff, and delicious breakfast compliment the perfect walking / transit location. Note: ground floor rooms can be noisy, especially on big holidays. The booking clearly indicated ground floor so it wasn't unexpected but if noise bothers your sleep, bring earplugs.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Small but good and friendly hotel in the centre of the city. Good value for money compared to some of the other hotels in Amsterdam. You can walk to most of the sites or take the tram. Clean rooms and nice fireplace

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We loved it there! It is so much in the center, the staff was fun and friendy. The room basically only consists of a bed (which is fun!). It was totally worth the money. Would go again. Not fancy, but cosy!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

fees paid only for accommodation,

only bed rooms, TV, gradırop.

lousy housekeeping

inadequate toiletries (not even hotel slippers)

The only good thing about being genial several friendly staff, center consists of located.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, we appreciate your kind words about our staff. We always do our best to try and assist guests wherever we can! Our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced regarding the room. Sorry to hear you were disappointed with the kind of amenities / toiletries we offer. However on our website we clearly state what we do and do not offer, and we offer the type of amenities that one can expect from a 3 star hotel. However, we are always open for suggestions on where to improve, so we thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
Jos Kaarsgaren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samedan, Switzerland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

happy: good location, good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, cosy atmosphere lots of restaurants nearby and bycicle rental next door, not so happy: our room was little and cleanliness in the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear the room was not up to your expectations. We really regret that you have not told us straight away, so that we could have fixed the problem for you right then and there. Maybe for next time, we can arrange a room that better fits to your expectations. Thank you again for taking the time to review us.

Kind regards,
Jos Kaarsgaren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was clean and well-apppointed with a comfortable bed
Breakfast rather poor with pastries that were not fresh, the cheese and meat slices looked less than appetising and the coffee machine was not working on two of the four days we were there. More and more city hotels seem to be relying on self-service breakfast but it is a step in the wrong direction

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosKaarsgaren, Manager at Hotel Sint Nicolaas, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are sorry to hear you have not really enjoyed our breakfast. The coffee machine was indeed not working, but we tried to get the repairman to fix it as soon as possible. In the mean time we had a Nespresso machine ready. Because of the holiday Kingsday, we had to pre order the bread in advance and it might not have been as fresh as it's used to be, but we always try to keep it as fresh as possible when it comes in from the bakery every day. We are actually looking into how to improve our breakfast, and we take all your suggestions seriously and do hope we can still welcome you again next time.

Kind regards,
Jos Kaarsgaren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sint Nicolaas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Address: Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sint Nicolaas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sint Nicolaas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sint Nicolaas Hotel
Sint Nicolaas Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sint Nicolaas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.