We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central, very friendly, very recommendable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sint Nicolaas to your Saves list
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very central, very friendly, very recommendable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Lovely hotel very close to the Centraal station and the old city centre. Staff were always friendly, helpful and welcoming. We did have cause to complain about the noise from the room above on our first night until the early hours, and not only did reception move us to a different room, but also said they would speak to the guests involved to avoid a repeat with subsequent guests. So, very well handled all round.

Breakfast is continental style and served in the multi function reception/bar/ breakfast area. In reality it is much better than that sounds, and actually a very relaxing atmosphere. The breakfast itself was very fresh, and unlimited, including tea & coffee.

There were a couple of minor negative points I found with this hotel. Firstly, as there are no tea & coffee facilities in the rooms this could be provided free to guests in the reception area. Coffee is only €2, but still, I think it would be a nice touch. Secondly, the bathrooms are beginning to look tired. There are some signs of a refit, but since these are exposed screw holes and cut tiles it overshadows whatever new bits have been added. Really not a big problem, and I'm being fussy for the sake of an honest review, but it's these things that make it four instead of five stars.

All said though, for proximity to the station and the centre, along with comfort, price, and friendly staff I wouldn't think twice about returning to, or recommending this hotel. In fact two years ago I reviewed hotel JL no.76 in amsterdam. It was dearer than Sint Nicolaas but perhaps a little better at pulling off a boutique hotel style. It was also further away from the centre, and the station. Taking everything into account, of the two, I'd probably choose the Sint Nicolaas.

Room Tip: If you're not used to urban noise perhaps ask for a room on the side of the hotel away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    218
    70
    20
    10
See reviews for
80
220
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Clean room, great location, and good breakfast.

We had a triple room, only disappointing was no Aircondition.

The location was really perfect, close to Central Station so was easy to find.

I really liked the decorations in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Very helpful staff with great recommendations for activities, shopping, and restaurants. You can purchase tickets for attractions at the desk. Daily breakfast from 7-10am includes fruit, toast, cold cuts of meat and cheese, hard boiled eggs, coffees and teas. We requested the largest room, which was room 26, and were not disappointed. There was plenty of space, had a double bed. & a single bed. Very comfortable. Location of hotel was very convenient and close to Amsterdam's central train station. There are also trams and buses that run by the hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The hotel is a refurbished town house. Staff is very friendly and rooms are decent without excess luxury. For me, the mixed emotions come down to location. On the one hand, it's in the center which makes all relevant stops accessible by foot, but on the other hand, it's next to one of the busy town streets with both bus and tram lines in the center. Also, on the other side, is the red light distric which somehow does not give a safe feeling at night and certainly doesn't make you park your car in the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I was in this hotel for business but it was really nice and confortable. It is near to the Cantral Station and it is a very nice hotel, for sure I will be back there in future.
The room was clean and confortable. Free Wi-Fi

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed at the hotel with 2 of my colleagues during the trade show, METS. Location is 5 minute walk to the Centraal Station where we could get the tram to the RAI. Hotel rooms were a good size, clean and equipped with everything required, even had a radio docking station which charged my phone! The breakfast is more limited but there is enough choice and as it is included in the hotel room, can't complain! Staff were friendly and very helpful.

Having stayed in a 5* hotel on a previous visit, I found this hotel just as good! Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#61 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#9 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sint Nicolaas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Address: Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sint Nicolaas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sint Nicolaas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sint Nicolaas Hotel
Sint Nicolaas Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sint Nicolaas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.