We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed emotions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sint Nicolaas to your Saves list
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mixed emotions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The hotel is a refurbished town house. Staff is very friendly and rooms are decent without excess luxury. For me, the mixed emotions come down to location. On the one hand, it's in the center which makes all relevant stops accessible by foot, but on the other hand, it's next to one of the busy town streets with both bus and tram lines in the center. Also, on the other side, is the red light distric which somehow does not give a safe feeling at night and certainly doesn't make you park your car in the street.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    231
    71
    20
    10
See reviews for
84
226
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I was in this hotel for business but it was really nice and confortable. It is near to the Cantral Station and it is a very nice hotel, for sure I will be back there in future.
The room was clean and confortable. Free Wi-Fi

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed at the hotel with 2 of my colleagues during the trade show, METS. Location is 5 minute walk to the Centraal Station where we could get the tram to the RAI. Hotel rooms were a good size, clean and equipped with everything required, even had a radio docking station which charged my phone! The breakfast is more limited but there is enough choice and as it is included in the hotel room, can't complain! Staff were friendly and very helpful.

Having stayed in a 5* hotel on a previous visit, I found this hotel just as good! Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We decided to stay over for a night in Amsterdam while on a 'Dutch dash' from the UK, and are so glad we chose to stay here.
From booking, the staff were very helpful, corresponding via e-mail about a possible early check in. This was not needed however as they have somewhere you can leave your bags until your room is ready. The hotel was really easy to find, and the central location made it convenient after being dropped off outside the central station.
When we got to our room I was pleasantly surprised (after staying in paris and knowing what city centre hotel can be like); the hotel decor is lovely and our room continued this. The room size is small, but there was plenty of room to move around. Room contained a double bed, side table with two chairs, bedside cabinets, TV and side cabinet also. En-suite was clean and spacious with shower/bath and stand alone sink.
Our room was on the main street however the majority of the street noise was blocked out by the windows and heavy curtains.
Breakfast included was a standard continental with lots of options available.
Overall I am extremely happy with this hotel, you could want nothing more from a city centre hotel designed to be a base for your sightseeing in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: room on the street can be noisy if windows open (but expected due to traffic passing by)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Hotel 08-11 Nov 13, Great Location, good size room and bathroom. Breakfast was continental style but very good choice available. Booking in at the reception was very easy and well organised. Very good hotel to stay in.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Located about a 5 - 10 minute walk from Centraal Station, in the middle where the nieuwzijdsburgwal and spui split and just south of the Haarlemerstraat pedestrian shopping street.

Especially for the time of year right after queensday. I managed to get a great room.
Friendly,professional staff & knowledgable staff, refined lobby, even nice art. Good sized room for the price and location esp for Amsterdam.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#59 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#157 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#9 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sint Nicolaas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Address: Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sint Nicolaas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Sint Nicolaas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sint Nicolaas Hotel
Sint Nicolaas Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sint Nicolaas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.