We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sint Nicolaas to your Saves list
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very good hotel in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I was in this hotel for business but it was really nice and confortable. It is near to the Cantral Station and it is a very nice hotel, for sure I will be back there in future.
The room was clean and confortable. Free Wi-Fi

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    193
    62
    16
    10
See reviews for
73
188
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed at the hotel with 2 of my colleagues during the trade show, METS. Location is 5 minute walk to the Centraal Station where we could get the tram to the RAI. Hotel rooms were a good size, clean and equipped with everything required, even had a radio docking station which charged my phone! The breakfast is more limited but there is enough choice and as it is included in the hotel room, can't complain! Staff were friendly and very helpful.

Having stayed in a 5* hotel on a previous visit, I found this hotel just as good! Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We decided to stay over for a night in Amsterdam while on a 'Dutch dash' from the UK, and are so glad we chose to stay here.
From booking, the staff were very helpful, corresponding via e-mail about a possible early check in. This was not needed however as they have somewhere you can leave your bags until your room is ready. The hotel was really easy to find, and the central location made it convenient after being dropped off outside the central station.
When we got to our room I was pleasantly surprised (after staying in paris and knowing what city centre hotel can be like); the hotel decor is lovely and our room continued this. The room size is small, but there was plenty of room to move around. Room contained a double bed, side table with two chairs, bedside cabinets, TV and side cabinet also. En-suite was clean and spacious with shower/bath and stand alone sink.
Our room was on the main street however the majority of the street noise was blocked out by the windows and heavy curtains.
Breakfast included was a standard continental with lots of options available.
Overall I am extremely happy with this hotel, you could want nothing more from a city centre hotel designed to be a base for your sightseeing in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: room on the street can be noisy if windows open (but expected due to traffic passing by)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Hotel 08-11 Nov 13, Great Location, good size room and bathroom. Breakfast was continental style but very good choice available. Booking in at the reception was very easy and well organised. Very good hotel to stay in.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Located about a 5 - 10 minute walk from Centraal Station, in the middle where the nieuwzijdsburgwal and spui split and just south of the Haarlemerstraat pedestrian shopping street.

Especially for the time of year right after queensday. I managed to get a great room.
Friendly,professional staff & knowledgable staff, refined lobby, even nice art. Good sized room for the price and location esp for Amsterdam.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just got back from staying at the Sint Nicolaas in Amsterdam and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. It's a very cosy hotel and spotlessly clean, our room was lovely, gorgeous curtains and I had the best nights sleep in a long time as the beds were so comfy. The bathroom was amazing too, like home from home!!
It's the perfect location right on top of Dam Square, so everything is in walking distance and the train station is over the road.
Brilliant!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sint Nicolaas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Address: Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sint Nicolaas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sint Nicolaas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sint Nicolaas Hotel
Sint Nicolaas Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sint Nicolaas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.