We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sint Nicolaas to your Saves list
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The staff very friendly and helpful. Very good location for seeing all the sites in Amsterdam.
Rooms clean and comfortable. Would stay there again and would recommend to all. Close to
mail rail station

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    160
    56
    16
    11
See reviews for
64
150
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aldinga
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located to many of the tourist sites and the train station. The staff were very accommodating in storing our luggage as we arrived early in the day. After some site seeing, we eventually got to our room on the 3rd floor and the huge purple mirror facing us as we exited the elevator was a big surprise - that, along with all the Marilyn Monroe pictures, was at such odds with the rather dark, heavy, but cosy atmosphere of the main floor. The room overlooked the road with trams, buses, and car traffic. There were no amenities beyond the one soap container that apparently does everything and toilet tissue. When I asked for Kleenex and a face cloth, I was told there was a market around the corner for such things.
The bed was comfortable and the cold breakfast was quite good.

Room Tip: Try to book a room away from the Main Street out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bremen
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

i recently stayed at the hotel while in Amsterdam. the hotel was conveniently place for a city break. close to all attractions and town centre. easy to get around from the hotel. the hotel lobby was nice, clean and cosy. the staff were friendly and polite and eager to assist. the breakfast was good actually above the standard. unfortunately the room i was given was not up to standard of a deluxe double. i had specifically gone for this hotel after seeing the rooms on the internet. i have had experience of cramped poky little attic rooms in amsterdam before. well i got the same again, small cramped two single beds pushed together with a hole in the middle sheets that didnt fit. low beams over the bed which made it impossible to sit up comfortably. only one bedside table. no tea or coffee making facilities or water.
its such a pity that this room spoiled my stay there as the rest of the hotel was fine.

i wont be going back there.

Room Tip: do not accept the poky little attic room if that is not what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel situated in a very good location. Just a short walk from Amsterdam Centraal station and a few minutes walk to Damrak, China Town, Red Light District and other sight seeing. The reception was friendly and helpful. The rooms are OK but the bathroom was a bit old. The housekeeping was late, around 3 pm, which was not the normal time of housekeeping. Breakfast was good. We are satisfied with the service and the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We were visiting Amsterdam for a few days waiting for a cruise to begin and stayed at the Sint Nicholaas. It was just about perfect for us. I love the art deco decor of the common areas and each room is specially decorated differently due to recent remodeling. The location is wonderful in the central area of the city and you can walk to numerous attractions readily. The staff is friendly and helpful, even helping us with some necessary communication back to the states. The included-breakfast was sumptious and there was ample room for the diners. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Amsterdam!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room as we always do and it was provided with no hassle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Riga, Latvia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel is located 5min walk away from the Central Station, which is very convenient to get almost everywhere in AMS. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
A room was tidy but rather small. No hot breakfast except toasts. Look elsewhere if you can't live without bacon.
To sum it up:
Pros: great location and friendly staff.
Cons: a tiny room and modest breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sint Nicolaas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Address: Spuistraat 1A, 1012 SP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sint Nicolaas 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sint Nicolaas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sint Nicolaas Hotel
Sint Nicolaas Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sint Nicolaas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.