We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sint Nicolaas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat 1A, Amsterdam 1012 SP, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I'm picky when it comes to hotels, and I was very happy here. This hotel presents Outstanding location, amenities, cleanliness and value for a family trip. The included daily breakfast is an added bonus. Don't pay more for the better known chains. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    163
    62
    17
    11
See reviews for
53
125
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Hotel Sint Nicolaas has a favorable location with it being situated a very short walking distance from Amsterdam Central train station and very near to the main shopping area of Amsterdam. The rooms are both clean and comfortable with a decent selection of TV channels including BBC1 and National Geographic (the dutch version but all the shows still in English). The breakfast was decent with a good continental selection including croissants and fruit with a coffee machine providing decent quality coffee. Overall, for the price paid the hotel offers very good value for money and I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

if you have a heavy suitcase to carry around from Central Station, Sint Nicolaas is en excellent choice, just 7min from CS.
Rooms are nicely decorated, spacious. i was on the 2nd floor in room 22. The only problem i had was the noise from the street because i had to open the window as there was no air condition in the room, there was just a small fan.
Breakfast was good.
and FREE WIFI quiet fast.

Room Tip: Location Location Location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

A little research online produced this Gem very close to the main Amsterdam railway station which was important as we flew in from Copenhagen and were taking the fast airport to city train service...the Hotel was very clean and had good free wifi which worked well in the room...a MUST for today's traveler..
The breakfast while not elaborate was very well done...they even had a graph in the room suggesting that earlier is better for breakfast..
Staff were friendly and attentive and had good advice....
You can rent bicycles all over the place and it gives you an edge as there is so much to discover.
Amsterdam is a trip in itself....take the Hop on Hop off bus...take their trip into the country...visit the red light district....smell the aroma in the air..!!

Room Tip: We were too busy outside to worry about the room except to sleep.....read other reviews i this is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great hotel, best location near central station, good breakfast, large room, nice staff. I would say here again with my family.
Some street noise while sleeping, has elevator. Easy walking distance to all the local sights, dining, and shopping


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We arrived by train on a very rainy day and found the hotel really close by. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were 3 to a room and although not huge the room was comfortable. There was a big post in the middle of the room but having travelled a lot in Europe we know these interesting oddities are part of the history of the building. We always ate early and found there was plenty of room. You could walk to many places of interest but if you want to save your feet buy a tram pass and get there quickly. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Maybe you don't want a post in the middle of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here with my friend fir a couple of nights for a gig at paradiso. The hotel was great for everything we needed. The location was great as it was a 5 minute walk to central station, all the coffee shops, and the nightlife!!! The room looked onto the main road however it wasn't noisy but note I am a heavy sleeper! The hotel had everything we needed and the staff were great too.

Room Tip: Good for a short stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sint Nicolaas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sint Nicolaas

Address: Spuistraat 1A, Amsterdam 1012 SP, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#66 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sint Nicolaas 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Sint Nicolaas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sint Nicolaas Hotel
Sint Nicolaas Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sint Nicolaas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.