We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel and hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2010

I stayed for 6 nights in a spacious and practical single room with en suite. The hotel is managed to highly professional standards, yet giving the positive feel of friendliness of the family run business. Perfectly clean Great freshly made breakfast every morning, free WiFi, espresso coffee machine in the rooms. Excellent location, around the corner from Van Gogh Museum and close to Vongel Park and Leidseplein. Absolutely great value for money. Will surely get friends and/or family to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    852
    275
    41
    20
    8
See reviews for
182
542
109
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

I travelled to Amsterdam with three friends, we stayed at the Fita for four nights. We are all artists so the location of hotel was perfect. We enjoyed every moment at the Fita, we were treated like royalty! Pancakes for breakfast as well as strawberrys, cheese, warm rolls, scrambled eggs and bacon, pastries, the coffee was perfect. Coffee maker in the rooms as well as kettle and tea! Ice machine and ice buckets provided in the rooms so the G&T in the evening was a must! Bed and bedding comfortable, nice and warm, lots of hot water for a shower or bath, we will return!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Very good location in corner of most important museums and luxury shopping street. Easy to come by buss from airport and by tram from central railway station. Rooms was clean, surprising big and staff was very friendly and helpful. Fresh pancake in breakfast was great surprise. Good value for price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

My husband and I stayed for 3 days at the Hotel Fita and it was a wonderful experience from start to finish. We were served a complimentary drink and snacks in our clean, spacious room at arrival. The Hotel is centrally located on a quiet street and within walking distance from all the sights. The breakfasts were excellent and we loved Hans's pancakes. The staff were friendly and helpful and we plan to go back again sometime and we will definately stay at the Fita!
Doug and Tracy Victoria, BC, Canada

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We recently spent one night at the Hotel Fita and then returned for two more nights. We stayed in their largest and their smallest room. The rooms were basic, but very clean. The bedding was excellent. The shower had some power and so did the hairdryer. This is not a 5 star hotel in looks but a Bed and Breakfast with an owner (Hans) and staff that are incredibly helpful. They even will do your laundry!! They stored our bags while we left Amsterdam for a few nights without any issues. There is an elevator so you are not lugging your luggage up 3 flights of stairs! We took the train from the airport to Central Station and then the tram (right out in front of the train station) almost to their door. One day we walked back to the train station with a bag and it was quite easy. It is one block from the most expensive shopping street in all of Amsterdam, the museums and Concert Hall are close by. Hans is an incredible source for restaurants, chocolate, cigars and all else. The breakfast is incredible! Free internet phone to the U.S. and free Wi Fi!!!! We give this B&B a 5!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We enjoyed our stay, and we would stay at this hotel again. We didn't hear the construction or children, except at breakfast, and the hotel is in a nice fairly quiet area and very near the tram and bus stops.

Pros: The young staff members, including housekeeping, were very pleasant and helpful. Added pluses included laundry, a tasty large breakfast (we didn't have to eat mid-day as the breakfast was filling - make sure to try the cheeses and pancake, which is more crepe-like rather than pancake), Internet, free overseas phone call (although we didn't use this convenience). I booked our our shuttle back to the airport, and the staff members were pleasant about reconfirming later (in Dutch) for me while confirming for another couple.

Cons: The beds were hard, but I rarely find a comfortable hotel bed. The stairs are very steep and narrow, both width and depth; the tiny elevator was appreciated. However that type of stair seems common at the smaller hotels. The hotel seemed expensive, but, when you figure out the lower prices at another hotel then add in laundry charges/stress/time, friendly and helpful staff, and a filling breakfast (food is expensive - everything seems to be much more expensive in Europe), the prices comparable.

Two Pros & Cons together - #1 the shower was fabulous with plenty of hot water (the sides of the tub are high so expect to be agile, make sure to disengage the shower option when finished, and be careful as I had to mop a lot of water as for some reason the spray escaped), but the downside is that the bathroom doesn't have a fan so all of the steam from that lovely hot water makes a person sticky and damp. #2 - I can see the owner Hans rubbing some people the wrong way. Many of the people seemed to love his style - I'm not quite sure if it was just blunt, presumed witty, or downright rude. I just kept my head down and tried not to attract his attention. It could be a cultural thing as he seemed to resemble our neighbor, who is from the Netherlands.

It sounds as though the patrons with the most problems and unpleasant experiences didn't follow the rules. Again, we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

The Hotel Fita seems to be far away from the city centre but it is actually ideally situated on a very quiet tree lined street - 2 minutes from the Van Gogh Museum, 4 minutes from the Rijksmuseum and 3 minutes from a tram. The quite excellent "stop/go" bus service(1 euro per hour) on the Prinsengracht canal is 7 minutes walk away. Plenty of restaurants within 5-15 minutes walk. Compared with a noisy Dam Square Hotel (with noisy fun fair) it was perfect. The room was fine (number 10 ground floor), spacious and comfortable. One of the more expensive rooms (they all are in Amsterdam) and no toiletries except wall mounted ones. Nespresso coffee machine was a bonus. Staff were delightful, helpful and friendly. Breakfast was superb. We would certainly book again and recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.