We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Service, Best Breakfast, Easy to get to!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Park City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Service, Best Breakfast, Easy to get to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We recently spent one night at the Hotel Fita and then returned for two more nights. We stayed in their largest and their smallest room. The rooms were basic, but very clean. The bedding was excellent. The shower had some power and so did the hairdryer. This is not a 5 star hotel in looks but a Bed and Breakfast with an owner (Hans) and staff that are incredibly helpful. They even will do your laundry!! They stored our bags while we left Amsterdam for a few nights without any issues. There is an elevator so you are not lugging your luggage up 3 flights of stairs! We took the train from the airport to Central Station and then the tram (right out in front of the train station) almost to their door. One day we walked back to the train station with a bag and it was quite easy. It is one block from the most expensive shopping street in all of Amsterdam, the museums and Concert Hall are close by. Hans is an incredible source for restaurants, chocolate, cigars and all else. The breakfast is incredible! Free internet phone to the U.S. and free Wi Fi!!!! We give this B&B a 5!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    844
    271
    40
    20
    8
See reviews for
180
534
108
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We enjoyed our stay, and we would stay at this hotel again. We didn't hear the construction or children, except at breakfast, and the hotel is in a nice fairly quiet area and very near the tram and bus stops.

Pros: The young staff members, including housekeeping, were very pleasant and helpful. Added pluses included laundry, a tasty large breakfast (we didn't have to eat mid-day as the breakfast was filling - make sure to try the cheeses and pancake, which is more crepe-like rather than pancake), Internet, free overseas phone call (although we didn't use this convenience). I booked our our shuttle back to the airport, and the staff members were pleasant about reconfirming later (in Dutch) for me while confirming for another couple.

Cons: The beds were hard, but I rarely find a comfortable hotel bed. The stairs are very steep and narrow, both width and depth; the tiny elevator was appreciated. However that type of stair seems common at the smaller hotels. The hotel seemed expensive, but, when you figure out the lower prices at another hotel then add in laundry charges/stress/time, friendly and helpful staff, and a filling breakfast (food is expensive - everything seems to be much more expensive in Europe), the prices comparable.

Two Pros & Cons together - #1 the shower was fabulous with plenty of hot water (the sides of the tub are high so expect to be agile, make sure to disengage the shower option when finished, and be careful as I had to mop a lot of water as for some reason the spray escaped), but the downside is that the bathroom doesn't have a fan so all of the steam from that lovely hot water makes a person sticky and damp. #2 - I can see the owner Hans rubbing some people the wrong way. Many of the people seemed to love his style - I'm not quite sure if it was just blunt, presumed witty, or downright rude. I just kept my head down and tried not to attract his attention. It could be a cultural thing as he seemed to resemble our neighbor, who is from the Netherlands.

It sounds as though the patrons with the most problems and unpleasant experiences didn't follow the rules. Again, we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

The Hotel Fita seems to be far away from the city centre but it is actually ideally situated on a very quiet tree lined street - 2 minutes from the Van Gogh Museum, 4 minutes from the Rijksmuseum and 3 minutes from a tram. The quite excellent "stop/go" bus service(1 euro per hour) on the Prinsengracht canal is 7 minutes walk away. Plenty of restaurants within 5-15 minutes walk. Compared with a noisy Dam Square Hotel (with noisy fun fair) it was perfect. The room was fine (number 10 ground floor), spacious and comfortable. One of the more expensive rooms (they all are in Amsterdam) and no toiletries except wall mounted ones. Nespresso coffee machine was a bonus. Staff were delightful, helpful and friendly. Breakfast was superb. We would certainly book again and recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laroles, Spain
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

When the owner meets you at the door and cracks a few jokes you know you have come to the right hotel. Hans and Loes runs a warm and cosy hotel near the museum. Our room faced out to a quiet street, the bed was fine and it had a large bathroom. In the morning we had a super coffee and crepes breakfast so we could get a jump on the crowds at Van Gogh. We had a great stay if only for one night.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Fita for six nights. Nice rooms, great water pressure, delicious breakfast, personable owner and staff. The location is right around the corner from the Van Gogh Museum, the Rijksmuseum, and VondelPark. It's also a 10-15 minute walk to central Amsterdam. Steep stairs to each floor, but luckily they have an elevator for you and your luggage (one person at a time with luggage). The breakfast is delicious. A new freshly squeezed juice every morning, a buffet including the best scrambled eggs ever, bacon, a variety of cheese, rolls, fresh fruit, granola, and oatmeal. The lovely staff will personally make you a fresh pot of coffee or tea. Best of all (besides the eggs) are their pancakes! Made fresh just for you. Yum! The owner, Hans, has a wonderful personality and is so friendly. Pick his brain for suggestions on where to go and places to eat! He is full of great ideas and will help you plan your routes on you city map. We actually wished we had a couple extra days so we could fit in all of his suggestions...so ask him early in your stay! We loved his sense of humor! The other staff are so friendly and helpful too! All together a wonderful and friendly stay!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We recently stayed at Hotel Fita for 2 nights after a River Cruise thru Germany. Selected this Hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews.Hans, Rouel and other staff were very friendly and gracious to us during our short visit. Our breakfast was delicious(fresh scrambled eggs, bacon, fresh squeezed juice, fresh fruit and Han's wonderful pancake/crepe along with other assorted breakfast goodies) We were in a Deluxe Room on 2nd floor with a Queen bed with a balcony overlooking the street in front of the Hotel. Room was very clean, Nepresso machine available for our use as well as a tea kettle. There is only a small elevator for luggage and 1 person, otherwise you use the stairs to second floor which are steep to get to your room. Breakfasr Room downstairs on 1st floor. There is no front desk attendent available at all times but you can call via your room phone if you need assist. Close and convenient to museums, shopping etc. Main complaint was there were no face cloths/wash cloths in Bathroom. Only Bath and Hand towels. When I called to ask about them , I was told there were none. Much like a Bed and Breakfast type of stay, quiet and cozy with very personal and friendly service. Hope to return again, but will bring my own wash cloths :) Thanks to Hans and Staff !!!

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

I think for the big number of feedbacks on Trripadvisor, this hotel will deserve to visit. But not very feeling good after 3 days staying here.

The location is the top, very good. People are nice as well.

But coupld other things:
-. The noise inside the hotel is not managable as it is quite loud. Also there is construction work from 8am. This is definately a negative point at less until the noise from outside building is no longer there.
- Room is standard, need some work to keep in good usable level.
- The breakfast is quite lack of choices.

Average hotel i think.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.