We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home - in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Buderim, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Our home away from home - in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We were very lucky to obtain a room in this wonderful, centrally-located, family-run boutique hotel as it appears to be very well known and much sought after. The rooms are immaculately clean and the delicious breakfasts truly kickstart your day in Amsterdam. The owners and staff are delightful and make you feel very much at home with their personal service and genuine interest in your well-being. They really went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable and easy as possible. The glowing reports in Trip Advisor that triggered our interest were not exaggerations at all ... they were all true and we were very happy there. My wife really enjoyed the in-room coffee machine but it was the occasional basket of washing done gratis by the hotel staff that really sold her! We would definitely stay at Hotel Fita again should we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    289
    43
    20
    8
See reviews for
190
575
113
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Based largely upon Tripadvisor comments from others we chose the Hotel Fita during recent trip to Amesterdam. We were not disappointed. Great location, wonderful staff (they even did a load of laundry for us). Very helpful. Owner joined us for breakfast one morning and he's wonderfully helpful - plotted out day trip for us. However, he told us he had plans to sell hotel so let's hope new owners maintain same level of service and attention. Get the A room with balconey - lots of fresh air. If you wonder whether Amsterdam is worth the trip by all means GO. It far exceeeded our expectations - amazing City. More canals than Venice and everyone was wonderful.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAKE OSWEGO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

My first nights in Europe were spent in Hotel Fita. I bused over from the airport and it was easy to find the hotel and a short walk. I don't think there could have been a better location to stay to be close to Van Gogh Museum (1 block) and Rijksmuseum (about 2 blocks), a supermarket and canal buses and tour buses within short walking distance. This is sort of a boutique area with a long street of high-end shopping also only a block away. Although close to everything, it was a quiet area and a quiet hotel. I was graciously welcomed and made to feel at home very quickly. My room was small, but had high ceilings and large doors to the outside, so it felt larger. There was a Nespresso machine in the room which was great, and an overhead fan over the bed was a treat during the recent heatwave. Very clean, comfortable and efficient room and bathroom. I was traveling solo, and felt very safe and secure with a card key needed for entry into the main hotel and my room behind 2 other locked doors. Internet access was easy and had an appointed, quiet area (never waited). The best part was meeting Hans, the owner, who made fabulous scrambled eggs each morning to accompany the rest of a nice breakfast buffet. He even greeted me with a song! He and his wife and team really care about their guests. It was a great hotel for women traveling solo. The size of the my room was more than outweighed by every other aspect of my visit. I would highly recommend this hotel for your Amsterdam experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Great location and wonderful breakfast but it's the Fita team (particularly Hans and Loes) that make Hotel Fita such a wonderful place. We felt like we were staying in their home - they are all most welcoming and very helpful. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Amsterdam. Thanks Hans and Loes!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010 via mobile

We stayed in Hotel Fita from 5-9 July. We had a fabulous time! It was my first time back in Holland in many years. I came back with my family to show them my birthplace and introduce them to extended family. Staying at Hotel Fita was like staying with family, like in the days when I stayed with Oom's and Tante's. The breakfast was tasty, I enjoyed the pannenkoeken!!! We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to other people! Thanks, Hans & Loes.

Sylvia, Marcos & Paolo

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

Hotel well located near Rijkmuseum & Van Gogh. Hans & his wife were very accomodating and explained the city sights so we could maximize our stay. The breakfasts were excellent -- tried to outmatch Hans with some personal dry jokes. I think I lost. The hotel was very clean. Had a super time in Amsterdam-- Netherlands beat Uruguay to get into final of World Cup while we were there-- exciting time.

John & Judi, New Jersey, USA

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scots south of the border
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

Great location, comfortable surroundings, good breakfasts and the timing of a stand up comedian from our host. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.