We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art Lovers stay here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Evanston, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Art Lovers stay here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Fita in Amsterdam. First of all, we love Amsterdam. This hotel is only a few feet away from the Van Gogh Museum, which is one of the best museums in the world. The neighborhood is great. Quiet, clean. The staff was wonderful. The best thing was the location and the breakfast. We had freshly made crepes every morning with freshly squeezed juice. Also a great value.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    289
    43
    20
    8
See reviews for
190
575
113
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lufbra
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

All I can say is the services received from Hotel Fita team were the best ever service experience of my holidays in Amsterdam. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Clean and spacious room. Breakfast were superb. The best thing is, they understand and respect the various culture and religious believed of their customers. Personally, I can't find any negative points about the hotel or the staff. You should experience it yourself!. -Honey & CT.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights and everything was great. Rooms were modern and updated, with a very spacious bathroom with GREAT water pressure. Hans was a riot every morning at breakfast, always around to talk to and joke with. The rest of the staff were friendly and helpful. My sister and I both had our laundry done - dropped it off in the morning and by the evening when we returned to the room it was neatly folded in the basket for us. The location can't be beat, it's quiet but it's also right near 2 tram stops and the museums and about a nice 10-15 minute stroll to Leidseplein. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
福岡
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

I have never experienced such a wonderful stay like this. The hotel staffs are very kind. The hotel lies in the museum area of Amsterdam. It is very convenient to visit these museums and shops.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

I really liked this hotel. We spent Easter in Amsterdam at the Hotel Fita, and we were really glad we did. The hotel is smart and clean, in a quiet street very close to the museums, but a short tram ride from the rest of the city. Our room was big and bright, overlooking a side street even quieter than the quiet street which the hotel sits on. It had a big bathroom, a good quality coffee maker, and a reasonable bed. The breakfast is splendid, with the pancakes and freshly-squeezed juices as mentioned elsewhere, as well as good coffee, excellent cheese and vanilla-flecked yoghurt.

All of the staff are great. Some reviewers have described problems with the owner, Hans and he is a bit eccentric. We witnessed a hilarious encounter between him and a rather ponderous guest who clearly wanted to ask him something, but was taking forever to do it during a busy breakfast session. Put it this way - Hans made it clear that he wanted him to get to the point. But we found him charming and helpful, and besides, if you want bland and robotic service, stay at a big international chain hotel. This is a good quality, individual hotel. I liked it (and Hans) a lot, and when we return to Amsterdam, we'll stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I arrived later in the evening than anticipated and was ENTHUSIASTICALLY greeted by my host. I immediately felt welcome and that he had been on the look out for me. But I should have known to expect such a welcoming attitude - I'd asked for tram directions and they were worked well since I arrived at the hotel with little hassle. He asked if I'd been to Amsterdam before - I had not - so whipped out a city map and noted the hotel's location and nearby sights. My questions about other locations were answered and then he escorted me to my room and showed me around.

I had a great night's sleep - after following directions to the nearby entertainment and eating area, Leidsplein - and began the next day with a hearty breakfast and DIVINE pancakes. Jan was the chef and an able young lady assisted him in service. The breakfast room was cozy and clean, and other lodgers were also enjoying breakfast and the lively morning atmosphere.

I'd definitely recommend staying here. The tram ride to the central area of Amsterdam is an easy one and the Hotel is very close to the Rjikesmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. But best is the staff's service and warmth.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010 via mobile

This hotel is a great option as it is well located in the museum district, which is peaceful, feels safe, and has great shopping. The rooms aren't special but they are clean and spacious, although you have to put up with two singles rather than a double.

Breakfast is included and nice. All the major sights are within a short walk along the canals. You can get a 2 or a 5 tram direct from centraal station in 10 mins - just jump off outside the rijksmuseum or van gogh museum.

Amsterdam is great, buy online tickets to major sights to save trouble and hours of queueing. The hotel provides free Internet and printing for this which is very useful.

We recommend the Amsterdam jewel dinner cruise and whiling away time in the american hotel cafe, which is surprisingly cheap.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.