We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice breakfast, clean rooms and friendly owners.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Wales
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good location, nice breakfast, clean rooms and friendly owners.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

Me and my wife stayed here for 2 nights at the end of March and loved it. The hotel was in a nice quiet location but within a 5 minute of the Bars and restaurants. We were greeted by the owner on arrival with a smile and a few laughs. We were then showed our room and given a complimentary drink and some nuts. The room was a good size, clean and the beds comfortable. We are both vegetarian and there was a good selection for us at breakfast with the freshly cooked pancakes a real treat. I would happily stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,196 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    852
    275
    41
    20
    8
See reviews for
182
542
109
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We loved our stay at Hotel Fita. The location is fantastic - convenient for museums and for city centre but still very quiet. Rooms are clean, comfortable and very thoughtfully equipped. Breakfast is delicious. Best of all is the friendly and helpful attitude of owners and staff. You can check in online from here, and the airport bus stops just around the corner. Everything you could want!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

This smaller hotel is clean and quiet and lovingly run by the owners, Hans and Loes. Walking distance from the Van Gough Museum, Reichsmuseum and Vondelpark in a scenic part of Amsterdam. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, complete with a delicious breakfast and free laundry service (which we appreciated after a few weeks in Africa) and highly recommend this little gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We arrived on the early morning flight from Accra en route to Seattle, for a one day stay. The hotel surprised us with a room ready for immediate occupation. One can also purchase tickets for the nearby Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum at the hotel, and the breakfasts are delicious. I would judge Hotel Fita to be a comfortable location for sightseeing in Amsterdam, and certainly would be willing to stay there in the future, hopefully for a longer period than we were able this time around.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

For anyone visiting the musuems the location is great, the Van Gogh museum is literally around the corner and the Rijksmuseum at the end of the road. To get into the centre take the 2 or 5 tram stopping outside the Van Gogh. No problems with noise, seems a quiet area.

If you want to lose some money the casino is also just past the end of the road, to the left of the Rijksmuseum. Be prepared to pay 5 euros to get in though :(

The breakfast was good, with scrambled eggs and bacon also available along with the usual pastries, cereal and fruit. Tea/Coffee and OJ are also served.

My room was big enough, the shower was nice and hot and the bed comfy. Loads of tv channels available including plenty of english channels. There is a pc downstairs that is free to use, so you can check in online and print out your boarding pass which saves time at the airport.

Best of all was the warm and extensive welcome I received from the proprietor, who walked me to my room and went through the nearby attractions and explained the best ways to get around.

If you are visiting Amsterdam and want some peace and quiet and a nice place to stay at a reasonable price, this place gets my vote.

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

I was visiting friends in Amsterdam so picked this hotel based on previous recommendations and location and I wasn't disappointed. Walking distance to the centre but located in a quiet street. Owners Hans and Loes were most welcoming and ready to help with anything. Will stay here next time I go to Amsterdam - plan to actually see the Van Gogh museum...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

Everytime I visit Fita Hotel, I feel like enjoying visiting relatives. Breakast is really tasty (best breakfast saussages ever !) ... much better than the huge buffets I'm used to in Asian hotels, where the food is always too oily ! When you're in Amsterdam, close to the Museums, there is no need fo swimming pool or fitness center, and no need for extra-large rooms either. Bring your favorite Nespresso capsules : each room has an individual Nespresso machine but you wont find the whole variety of blends.

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.