We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
“A Gem in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

We were 12 familymembers, ranging from the age of 18 to 70, who visited Amsterdam for 3 nights in the end of june. I was responsible for finding us a hotel, and I have to say, my family praised me all 3 days :-) It was simply perfect for us.
What a nice hotel. Quietly situated in the museumarea,yet still not far from everything.
Clean and nice rooms with comfortable beds. And especially friendly and helpful people managing the hotel.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    330
    45
    20
    9
See reviews for
209
666
133
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

Great location. Best location in city for museums, tram line, supermarket, and Vondelpark. Staff was very personable with owner on premises full-time. Very helpful having museum tickets available and advising on other sights, as well as transportation. Our over-all experience was very positive. Many travelers have concerns over safety. We found that Amsterdam is safe or safer than any city we have visited, including most in the U.S. Hotel Fita is very secure. We have no reservation in returning to or recommending Hotel Fita to others. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we did.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

Hotel Fita definitely exceeded our expectations. It is a small family run hotel and owners Hans and Loes de Rapper make everyone feel welcome and special. The hotel is reasonably priced by European standards. It is very close to the museums and is within walking distance of restaurants and the tram line. The place is spotless and our room had all the amenities of a more expensive hotel. There is a small elevator. Breakfast was first class, with fresh squeezed orange juice, best scrambled eggs and bacon we've had, crunchy pastries and croissants and home made raspberry and apricot sauces to go on those made to order crepes. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone we know.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blh1956
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Found Hotel Fita via Tripadvisor. Location and value would have rated 5 stars on it's own. The addition of a high quality breakfast with Hans's ultra-delicious pancakes takes it to a 5+. Any local information that Hans or Loes do not have/share is not worth knowing. Hans will tell exactly what the real deal is, whether you want to know or not.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We spent two nights at Hotel Fita and found our stay very pleasant. The service was personal, yet not intrusive. We began with a complimentary glass of champagne - (nice touch). We were close to all of the sights, shopping and bus routes. The breakfast was special with a variety of well prepared dishes. We highly recommend this hotel and were pleased that it had a lift, (elevator) to carry the luggage up to the second floor. They also arranged for a taxi to take us to our next destination which was much cheaper than a regular taxi, so don't hesitate to inquire.
John and Sue from Canada.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell GA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

My wife and I planned a trip while our children were away this summer. My wife is in the airline industry, and I am in sales and have travelled for my work over the years so we have some experience with regard to hotels and their accommodations. Like many we used trip advisor to provide some guidance on hotels in Amsterdam for our 5 night stay. Hotel Fita turned out to be a wonderful hotel. The hotel is located on a residential street but close to the major museums, the best shopping in Amsterdam and Vondelpark, so the location is great. The hotel is nice and cozy, neither too large or too small. We had a larger room and it was well appointed. The room was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was nice size. The bathtub was larger than your usual tubs and the water was nice and hot. The owners go out of their way to make sure that you are comfortable. Loes and Hans provided us with information on restaurants, the renting of bicycles and attractions. The staff is also very nice. Last but not least, Loes and Hans pride themselves not only on the cleanliness of their hotel but also their breakfast. We looked forward to their buffet every morning. This included eggs, bacon, pancakes, fresh rolls, crossaints, pastries and cheese, and let me not forget the freshly squeezed orange juice and great coffee. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Amsterdam who wants to be in a well cared for hotel with comfortable and clean rooms, a great location, attentive owners and staff, and a great breakfast to start their day.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We came to Hotel Fita after a two week cruise which ended in Amsterdam and enjoyed our stay there very much. The location, rooms, breakfast, and overall ambience of the hotel suited us perfectly.
We could only stay two nights, so the fact that the hotel was near the main museums was ideal. With the Van Gogh museum just down the street, we were able to come back to the hotel with our gift shop purchases before going on to the Rijksmuseum, just a block away. Plus, we bought our tickets at the hotel, so that eliminated some standing in lines.
The breakfast was very generous and varied from one day to the next. Be sure to have one of the pancakes - yummy!
To get away from the touristy areas, we took a long walk through Vondel Park, which is just a couple of blocks away. It was great to see families out on their bikes enjoying the beautiful scenery. The hotel is also close to the concert hall and some interesting restaurants - ask the innkeepers for directions. If we return to Amsterdam, we will definitely stay at Hotel Fita. It was nice to feel that you'd arrived at a distant shore and found old friends welcoming you and striving to ensure that you have the most pleasant time in their city.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,830 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#9 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,436 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.