We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would return in a second” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ontario
1 review
“Would return in a second”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

We stayed at the Fita on April 7th 2009 en route to a river cruise. It was an excellent way to start our trip: friendly staff, great rooms, an introduction to Amsterdam architecture, and superb location a block from the Museumplein. Our only regret was leaving.

At the enjoyable breakfast, we discovered that their clientelle often had a history of returning to the hotel and we can see why.

Highly recommended, but please don't fill it when we hope to return :).

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,002
    331
    45
    20
    9
See reviews for
209
667
133
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centreville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

If you are looking for a charming, quiet, extremely clean, friendly, and conveniently located hotel in Amsterdam, then The Hotel Fita is for you! Loes and Hans, the owners, were delightful, helpful and welcoming. The hotel is located near several tram stops and around the corner from the Van Gogh and Rijskmuseum. Our room was spacious and included a terrace and surprisingly spacious bathroom (rubber ducky included). Breakfasts were included and were delicious, especially the pancakes prepared by Hans. I highly recommend this wonderful hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, IN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Fita on a friend’s recommendation. We were in Amsterdam for a few days before getting on a cruise ship and wanted to sty someplace that was close to the museums, this hotel was prefect! The owners could not have been more gracious. During our stay one of the gentlemen had to go to the hospital, in fact he had to cancel the cruise due to unexpected health problems but Hans was there to help with those arrangements as well

We will be going back to Amsterdam next year (2010) and are planning on stating at the Hotel Fita.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
easton ma
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

We just returned from our first trip to Europe, we chose the Hotel Fita due to the reviews on Trip Advisor. The location is lovely quite at night, close to tram, Van Gogh, Rijkmuseum, very easy to walk places, and very safe. The room was clean and beds comfortable, we had a large bathroom. The owners Hans & Loes treat you like longtime friends, very helpful with directions, advise on restaurants, where to buy tram tickets. They offer to do laundry upon arrival, phone calls to the states were no charge. The breakfast Hans serves was wonderful, we always remember the pancakes with humor! We hope to return someday soon. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

We just got home from a long trip in Europe and our favourite hotel was Hotel Fita in Amsterdam. First of all, if you love art the location is perfect - the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum are about two blocks away. As well, it is close to all othe amenities and a few minutes walk to the centre of Amsterdam. The rooms are quiet, clean and very comfortable and the breakfast was great, especially if you like pancakes. Hans and Loes, the proprietors are so nice and create such a relaxed, personable atmosphere where everyone feels special. We had trouble printing our ticket for a special exhibit of Van Gogh and they took the time and trouble to help us print it on their computer, even e-mailing the museum for advice. Now, that's service. Fun and friendly, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

Located just steps from the van Gogh and Rijks museums, the hotel offers a great location and easy transportation to other parts of the city and surrounding towns. Loes and Hans, the owneres, are truly interested in making your visit to this interesting city the best possible experience. When you visit a city where you don't know the language and are unsure of how to get around, these two great people key in on what you want to see and do and suggest sites and modes of transportation to save you time and money. Hans makes breakfast delightful with his wit and dry humor and Loes is gracious, charming, and helpful with her inciteful suggestions. We (two women over 50 from the U.S.) stayed a week and had the best experience we could have hoped for. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

My family and I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were made very welcome from the moment we arrived with freshly squeezed orange juice and sparkling wine. The staff were very friendly and breakfast time was very relaxed with Hans keeping everyone amused in between serving delicious pancakes. The hotel was around the corner from the Van Gogh museum and not too far from the main shopping area. We were able to fast-track entry into both the museums and Anne Frank's House because the hotel had Wi-Fi access with printer, allowing us to print tickets off in advance. The children loved their spacious room and enjoyed the general atmosphere of the hotel. We look forward to staying at this hotel again and would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Amsterdam

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#9 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,439 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.