We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Fita is Perfectly Located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Suwanee, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Hotel Fita is Perfectly Located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The Hotel Fita is perfectly located for easy walking to a number of wonderful museums including the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseums. Street car lines are conveniently located which makes it easy to visit other areas of Amsterdam. The family staff is very helpful and friendly and the breakfast is great, especially the "hot cakes" (crepes). Rooms were neat, clean and quiet. We stayed for 3 days and will stay there again when we go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    304
    44
    20
    8
See reviews for
198
601
116
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Great location ~ 50meter from Van Gogh Museum & not much further to the Rijks, & the chic shopping street PC Hoogenstraat. Walking distance to the centre and the many restaurants in Jordan. And still it is a very quiet hotel, there is no street noise at night which is great as Amsterdam is one continuous street party. No noise transmitted between rooms, although the hall doors are noisy when they close, but all the guests seem very thoughtful. The hotel is quite small and run by a very friendly family, led by the highly efficient and welcoming Roul, so it feels very safe. Comfortable beds, good hot shower, kettle&Nespresso in room (really appreciated) but no fridge. Breakfast is excellent, mostly cooked to order in the small but elegant breakfast room. Tickets for the museums can also be purchased from the staff at breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This is a nice butik hotel. It is located in a good area in Amsterdam. The stuff is young and very helpfull. The breakfast was ok. The hotel is very small and no reception. The room is also very small but with nice view and big windows. Overall I did not like its size but it is a good location and stuff are very helpful and friendly

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

We were soaked to the skin on a day trip to Amsterdam, and decided that for family harmony we needed to find somewhere to dry off and get warm. The hotel Fita had a spare room which we booked, and they could not have been more welcoming and saved the day! We were immediately offered the use of the tumble drier and the children brought mugs of steaming hot chocolate. It was so fabulous that our eldest teen actually opted to stay the night and was then able to sample the great breakfast and the very short walk to the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum. All round fabulous experience and hoping to return to finish exploring the city.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Lovely pancakes for breakfast.. Room was large and bed comfortable. Plumbing is noisey from all the bathrooms. Lighting in our bathroom very poor and extractor fan didn't work. Family who own hotel very helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

I stayed there early in August for 3 nights.I had a single room on the 4th floor. While the stairs concerned me for the first night, by the end of my stay I felt like a pro navigating them. They are typical steep, Dutch stairs and are not great for anyone with mobility issues. Thankfully, there is a small elevator, as well. The room was clean and very comfortable and the perfect size for a single person. The breakfast that is served every morning is incredible-- cheese, bread, bacon, eggs, fruit, cereal, milk, juice, coffee, and pannenkoeken. You must ask for the pannekoeken! The staff speak good English and are very friendly and helpful. We had some issues with the neighbours being loud late at night. We told Roel and he dealt with it. Hotel Fita is very close to the Van Gogh Museum and only a couple of blocks from the rest of Museumplein. The tram and bus are also very close by. Great location, great staff, great room...I'll be recommending Hotel Fita to my friends who are visiting later this year.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I've used the reviews from TripAdvisor for years, and they've always steered me well. That's the case with Hotel Fita. They have recently completed renovations on the third floor and I had a brand new room up there. I was a little dubious because of some mobility problems, but the elevator, though small, works just fine. As a 70-year-old traveling alone, I was delighted with the staff interest in me and my activities. They were great about directions, don't miss suggestions, transportation and lots of other details. I knew that whatever my question, they would answer cheerfully and helpfully. The bedding - always a question mark for those of us with joint issues - was superb. The cleaning was spotless and they even have healthy house plants in the rooms. It was truly my home-away-from-home. All this, and a very reasonable rate made it a great choice. The neighborhood is close to several museums and a fantastic park. Tram stops are also a short five-minute walk and everyone takes the tram. They are fast, clean and go everywhere. It's easy to learn the routes and you'll be covering lots of territory on them. Make hotel reservations early as they are usually full. I was there in early May for the flowers at Keukenhof and they were already full every night.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room in front because the alley in back can attract some noisy neighbors. The stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.