We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel with central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We booked this hotel after taking a Viking river cruise. It is centrally located - a block from the Van Gogh Museum, a couple blocks from Rijks Museum. We asked for a room with a view - which we got. The tram and buses are really close too. Fita owner provides a delicious breakfast with scrambled eggs, bacon, yogart, all kinds of bread and all the juices, coffees, tea and milk. The breakfast room is downstairs, with colorful seats and inviting atmosphere. The staff was very helpful with a map and recommendation. As a side note - DO NOT TAKE THE HOP ON HOP OFF BUS. It isn't for the tourist - they try to drop you off at the diamond place - the stops are not convenient and hard to find. You are much better off buying a one or more day bus ticket. We walked to most of the destinations. Another hint - buy your tickets on line for the museums and Anne Frank house. Otherwise you will spend your day in a blocks long line. I would totally recommend this hotel... nice, clean ... large room with table, chairs, tv, and large bath with tub/shower. Remember to bring an adaptor for your hair curler etc. They provide a hair dryer. Also the shops around this hotel are very, very expensive. There are reasonable shops elsewhere unless you are into Tiffany and the like.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. I understand the rooms upstairs are smaller. If you have a street view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    282
    42
    20
    8
See reviews for
188
551
113
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We really enjoyed our recent stay at Fita. Very warm, smiley, friendly staff, and very much in line with all the good service we encountered in Amsterdam. This is an ideal location for the museums and galleries of the city and short walks away from good restaurants, shops and the lovely Vondelpark. The hotel seemed well equipped but more importantly there was a feeling that nothing would be too much trouble if anything was missing. To be recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Very nice personnel. It was a little annoying that the cleaning lady was knocking on the door of the neighbors quite often. Location was good. Bathroom of the single room 38 was dark. One of the girls in the kitchen / breakfast room talked very loud but was very helpful. Maybe it was my hangover...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Loved this Hotel and its happy staff but you cam be unlucky. We had room 24 for four nights.
Positives - Large light filled room and large bathroom with a bath. Adequate delicious breakfast. Great neighbourhood so can walk to all the sights. Excellent in room Wi Fi connection.
Negatives - The Hotel Van Gogh is opposite and provides back packer accomodation. Every night we listened to loud drunken revellers between midnight and 5.00am. Make sure your room does not face this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison Hot Springs, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The Fita Hotel met our expectations completely, a wonderful place to call home for the three days we were in Amsterdam. The location was great, near the Rijks Museum and the beautiful Vondel Park. We walked to most of our destinations and took the convenient tram when we needed to. Thank you to the friendly staff for a great breakfast to start the day each morning and for your service on our behalf. Next time we are in Amsterdam we will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Fita for 3 nights in July. It's location adjacent to the Van Gogh museum and The Rijksmuseum (and near the Heineken experience!! ) was perfect. The 2 and 5 trams stopped half a block away. But best was the owner Roel and his staff who did all they could to make our stay enjoyable, including a great breakfast and fresh dutch pancakes every morning. The room was cool and overall it was the perfect boutique hotel to experience Amsterdam.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

After a very long flight, we were easily able to find our way to Hotel Fita with a 5 Euro bus trip (the cheapest trip we've had from any airport) where we were warmly welcomed. Being early arrivals, we couldn't access our room immediately, so strolled up to the nearby Rijks Museum for a coffee and stretch before returning to our very comfortable and quiet room.
We stayed 4 nights, and found the location very convenient for both museums (just a short walk away) and for transport elsewhere. It's also situated in a very good area for dining - Maxine recommended the most wonderful seafood bar/ restaurant just up around the corner, along with a very reasonable Italian restaurant.
Breakfast were excellent - Roel is dab hand at scrambled eggs and while we didn't try the pancakes, other guests were digging in with gusto. The selections were varied and the coffee was great.
Another excellent feature of Fita is its free laundry service - great to have fresh clothes for our departure to our next stop.
All the staff - but especially Roel and Maxine, who were on duty for most of our stay - were extremely friendly and helpful, especially with guidance for getting around, public transport and suggestions for sightseeing. - being able to get museum passes from them was a wonderful bonus.
Hotel Fita gets our vote for being one of the most comfortable, convenient and friendliest hotel we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.