We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Harrison Hot Springs, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amsterdam Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The Fita Hotel met our expectations completely, a wonderful place to call home for the three days we were in Amsterdam. The location was great, near the Rijks Museum and the beautiful Vondel Park. We walked to most of our destinations and took the convenient tram when we needed to. Thank you to the friendly staff for a great breakfast to start the day each morning and for your service on our behalf. Next time we are in Amsterdam we will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    283
    42
    20
    8
See reviews for
188
552
113
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, NY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Fita for 3 nights in July. It's location adjacent to the Van Gogh museum and The Rijksmuseum (and near the Heineken experience!! ) was perfect. The 2 and 5 trams stopped half a block away. But best was the owner Roel and his staff who did all they could to make our stay enjoyable, including a great breakfast and fresh dutch pancakes every morning. The room was cool and overall it was the perfect boutique hotel to experience Amsterdam.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

After a very long flight, we were easily able to find our way to Hotel Fita with a 5 Euro bus trip (the cheapest trip we've had from any airport) where we were warmly welcomed. Being early arrivals, we couldn't access our room immediately, so strolled up to the nearby Rijks Museum for a coffee and stretch before returning to our very comfortable and quiet room.
We stayed 4 nights, and found the location very convenient for both museums (just a short walk away) and for transport elsewhere. It's also situated in a very good area for dining - Maxine recommended the most wonderful seafood bar/ restaurant just up around the corner, along with a very reasonable Italian restaurant.
Breakfast were excellent - Roel is dab hand at scrambled eggs and while we didn't try the pancakes, other guests were digging in with gusto. The selections were varied and the coffee was great.
Another excellent feature of Fita is its free laundry service - great to have fresh clothes for our departure to our next stop.
All the staff - but especially Roel and Maxine, who were on duty for most of our stay - were extremely friendly and helpful, especially with guidance for getting around, public transport and suggestions for sightseeing. - being able to get museum passes from them was a wonderful bonus.
Hotel Fita gets our vote for being one of the most comfortable, convenient and friendliest hotel we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Just completed a two night stay...our stay was very comfortable..nice room good breakfast and great location. Just a block from the tram, a two minute walk to the Van Gogh museum and just a few blocks more to the Rijksmuseum. Although not a central city location the tram is a quick and cheap way to get to the major attractions. The only reason I didn't give this place 5 stars is the noise from the street. On the side of hotel is a play area for the adjacent school which can be filled with little one playing...however the bigger issue is the hotel across the street. The Hotel Van Gogh is close to being a youth hostel...looks like a lot of bunk beds in the rooms and the young people tend to be arriving at all hours and can be quite noisey even late at night...other than that a very nice stay

Room Tip: Try to stay from rooms facing the Van Gogh hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I recently stayed 4 nights at Hotel Fita and must say it is my favorite hotel in Amsterdam so far (I've been four times). Hotel Fita is a small, intimate hotel - only15 rooms, I believe. It is located right at Museumplein, so it is an easy walk to the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseums (and to the Concert Hall and Vondelpark as well). The hotel is on a side street, so it was very quiet, but is only one block away from the main street where the museums are and where the public transportation (bus and tram) is located. In fact, the #197 bus from the airport makes a stop at Museumplein, and at 5 Euro for a one-way trip, has to be the cheapest way to get to the hotel from the airport. There is also a supermarket about 2 blocks away that offers a large variety of ready-made take-out foods, should you not feel up to going to a restaurant to eat after a long day of sightseeing.

At the hotel I was warmly and enthusiastically greeted by Roel. All of the hotel staff I encountered were extremely nice and helpful. Having arrived on an early morning flight from the US, I was very grateful that one of their single rooms was available and so I was able to check in at 10 a.m. Normally check-in time is in the afternoon. My room was small but very clean and pleasant, especially since there were French doors that opened up to a balcony with a huge tree right outside. There is a children's school next door, but that would only be a problem noise-wise if you are in your hotel room during the day (and why would you be, really?).

Breakfast was included - a nice selection of scrambled eggs, bacon, breads and pastries, cereals, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, juices and coffee or tea. And, as others have mentioned, Dutch pancakes upon request. Those were really yummy! The hotel offers free wifi which worked great and there is a computer workstation and printer available for use if needed. Also, there was a keycard locking safe in the room which was nice to have available.

I would say the only negative for me was the absence of some amenities that one often expects in a hotel; things like real shampoo, conditioner and body lotion in the bathroom. There is a dispenser in the shower that has a body wash/shampoo soap in it. If you don't like that for your hair, bring some shampoo and conditioner (and also your own lotion). A shower cap and disposable bath mitt are provided as is a hair dryer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a wonderful two-night stay at Hotel Fita. A warm welcome, the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in, a perfect location for all we wanted to do in Amsterdam (we walked EVERYWHERE, with two school-age kids in tow), and pancakes in the morning. What more could you ask for? The recommendation for the Italian place near them for dinner was yet another highlight. Loved Hotel Fita!

Room Tip: We stayed in a the newly-renovated room on the top floor. The beds were new and so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We found Hotel Fita to be perfect in all respects for our 4 day stay in Amsterdam. Charming small hotel, well-located on a quiet residential street close to major museums and trams, as well as walking distance to Vondelpark and the major shopping area. We took public transport from the airport to within two blocks of the hotel. Our room was comfortable, and (surprisingly) large. Roel (the owner) and all his staff are friendly, helpful, and energetic; and the breakfast was outstanding, including freshly made Dutch pancakes, on request. Several kindergartens or day care centers are right next to the hotel, but we were never aware of noise from children playing outdoors (which some customers have commented on). We would recommend this hotel to anyone (provided you can climb some stairs - maybe 8 steps - to the entrance. For getting up and down inside the hotel, an elevator is available, if needed).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.