We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect start to a European holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Victoria, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect start to a European holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a wonderful two-night stay at Hotel Fita. A warm welcome, the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in, a perfect location for all we wanted to do in Amsterdam (we walked EVERYWHERE, with two school-age kids in tow), and pancakes in the morning. What more could you ask for? The recommendation for the Italian place near them for dinner was yet another highlight. Loved Hotel Fita!

Room Tip: We stayed in a the newly-renovated room on the top floor. The beds were new and so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    327
    44
    20
    9
See reviews for
209
654
132
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We found Hotel Fita to be perfect in all respects for our 4 day stay in Amsterdam. Charming small hotel, well-located on a quiet residential street close to major museums and trams, as well as walking distance to Vondelpark and the major shopping area. We took public transport from the airport to within two blocks of the hotel. Our room was comfortable, and (surprisingly) large. Roel (the owner) and all his staff are friendly, helpful, and energetic; and the breakfast was outstanding, including freshly made Dutch pancakes, on request. Several kindergartens or day care centers are right next to the hotel, but we were never aware of noise from children playing outdoors (which some customers have commented on). We would recommend this hotel to anyone (provided you can climb some stairs - maybe 8 steps - to the entrance. For getting up and down inside the hotel, an elevator is available, if needed).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Fita for three nights during our stay in Amsterdam. Our rooms (a single for our daughter) and a double for us were very basic but comfortable! Our rooms had air conditioning and ceiling fans which we were happy to have as it was quite warm during the first two nights of our stay. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was large and clean.The staff was very friendly and provided us three restaurant recommendations and all were very good! Breakfast in the AM was very good and the pancakes were wonderful! Make sure to try them as they are freshly made when you ask for them. We initially thought the location was a bit far from the main areas of Amsterdam but ended up loving the location as the tram is a block away and very easy to use plus being by the Rijksmuseum and the Vondelpark was very nice! The main tourist areas of Amsterdam were crowded so it was nice to be in a quieter area but still close to a lot of activity. If stairs are a problem, ask for a room on the lower levels. There is a small elevator so it may not be an issue but the stairs were a bit steep.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The proprietor of this hotel is one of the most hands-on and friendly hoteliers that I have ever experienced. He was extremely friendly, greeting each guest at breakfast every morning I was there. Speaking of breakfast, it is quite nice, with variety and many filling options. The other staff were also very helpful. While the room I was in was a bit austere, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was large: two things that can be a rarity in European hotels. As for location, it is close to the major museums...as in two blocks away. It is also right by the Vondelpark. It is also super easy to get to and from the airport: take bus 197. It is 5 euros and will take you right from the airport to a stop two blocks from the hotel. I was very happy with the bang for buck at this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I found it very hard to find value for money accommodation in Amsterdam with a good location and I picked Hotel Fita after looking at the reviews on Trip Advisor. I travelled with my dad so I wanted something that was close to transport and comfortable. Hotel Fita ticked all boxes. The hotel is basic but comfortable and very clean. The staff were both helpful and friendly. The hotel is located in a lovely area right beside the Van Gogh museum and a short walking distance from the Rajks museum. There is a tram stop just around the corner which will bring you into central station.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great location and very helpful and friendly staff. Great shopping areas very close to the Hotel as well - the parallel street has a number of high end store and great for a stroll and window shopping. A nice grocery store is also close by as well as great choice of restaurants - high end as well as great value!

Room Tip: You can ask for a "made to order" omelette for breakfast! Not listed in the menu or anywh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We spent 5 nights at Hotel Fita. Loved the quiet neighborhood, a bit away from the main tourist zone, but the tram stop was very close by and the tram was easy to figure out. The staff at the hotel was terrific. Service is very personal and accessible. The Van Gogh and Rijks museums are just a few blocks away. We asked for recommendations for dinner spots within walking distance, and were never disappointed. During our stay, we had a problem that was not related to the hotel at all, but the person on duty was extremely helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 44, on the top floor. Roel commented that the room had been renovated recently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,782 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#9 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,343 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,744 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.