We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Fita for three nights during our stay in Amsterdam. Our rooms (a single for our daughter) and a double for us were very basic but comfortable! Our rooms had air conditioning and ceiling fans which we were happy to have as it was quite warm during the first two nights of our stay. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was large and clean.The staff was very friendly and provided us three restaurant recommendations and all were very good! Breakfast in the AM was very good and the pancakes were wonderful! Make sure to try them as they are freshly made when you ask for them. We initially thought the location was a bit far from the main areas of Amsterdam but ended up loving the location as the tram is a block away and very easy to use plus being by the Rijksmuseum and the Vondelpark was very nice! The main tourist areas of Amsterdam were crowded so it was nice to be in a quieter area but still close to a lot of activity. If stairs are a problem, ask for a room on the lower levels. There is a small elevator so it may not be an issue but the stairs were a bit steep.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    286
    43
    20
    8
See reviews for
188
567
113
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, ON
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The proprietor of this hotel is one of the most hands-on and friendly hoteliers that I have ever experienced. He was extremely friendly, greeting each guest at breakfast every morning I was there. Speaking of breakfast, it is quite nice, with variety and many filling options. The other staff were also very helpful. While the room I was in was a bit austere, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was large: two things that can be a rarity in European hotels. As for location, it is close to the major museums...as in two blocks away. It is also right by the Vondelpark. It is also super easy to get to and from the airport: take bus 197. It is 5 euros and will take you right from the airport to a stop two blocks from the hotel. I was very happy with the bang for buck at this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I found it very hard to find value for money accommodation in Amsterdam with a good location and I picked Hotel Fita after looking at the reviews on Trip Advisor. I travelled with my dad so I wanted something that was close to transport and comfortable. Hotel Fita ticked all boxes. The hotel is basic but comfortable and very clean. The staff were both helpful and friendly. The hotel is located in a lovely area right beside the Van Gogh museum and a short walking distance from the Rajks museum. There is a tram stop just around the corner which will bring you into central station.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great location and very helpful and friendly staff. Great shopping areas very close to the Hotel as well - the parallel street has a number of high end store and great for a stroll and window shopping. A nice grocery store is also close by as well as great choice of restaurants - high end as well as great value!

Room Tip: You can ask for a "made to order" omelette for breakfast! Not listed in the menu or anywh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We spent 5 nights at Hotel Fita. Loved the quiet neighborhood, a bit away from the main tourist zone, but the tram stop was very close by and the tram was easy to figure out. The staff at the hotel was terrific. Service is very personal and accessible. The Van Gogh and Rijks museums are just a few blocks away. We asked for recommendations for dinner spots within walking distance, and were never disappointed. During our stay, we had a problem that was not related to the hotel at all, but the person on duty was extremely helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 44, on the top floor. Roel commented that the room had been renovated recently...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Fita. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, the selection at breakfast was excellent. The hotel is well located close to the Ruks Museum and the Van Gogh Museum, We found some really nice restaurants close to the hotel and were able to walk to Anne Frank house. Thoroughly reommend the hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We found Hotel Fita through Rick Steves and also Tripadvisor. It was the perfect place for us. Our corner room was on the first floor - was spacious and bright with large windows. We enjoyed hearing the school children gather in the mornings to attend the school across the street and also next door. The location of Hotel Fita was outstanding. Easy to access by tram and close to the Van Gogh and Riksmuseum, as well as to others. There were also great restaurants in the area, especially the Seafood Bar. Breakfasts at Hotel Fita were terrific - loved the home made pancakes served in the sunny, immaculate Breakfast Room. The staff at Hotel Fita were most accommodating and friendly. We'd definitely return!

Room Tip: Our corner first floor room was quiet except in the mornings when the school children were playing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.