We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I cannot say enough good things about Hotel Fita. The location is very convenient to museums (one block from the Van Gogh) and my room was absolutely great. But even better is the service from the group of unfailingly upbeat, helpful young people who run the place. They went above and beyond for everyone with which I saw them interact--making museum reservations, helping with tram and bus routes, whatever. I travel a lot for business, and frankly, this hotel provided a better experience than pretty much every high-priced, name-brand hotel in which I have stayed. People like this deserve success.

The hotel is not luxurious, so don't expect it to be. It is basic but very comfortable accommodation. There is no actual check-in space, which didn't pose any problem.

About the only thing I could say negative is that while I was there, construction started somewhere nearby (in their building?) at 7:00, which would have been irritating had I been on vacation.

I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    286
    43
    20
    8
See reviews for
188
566
113
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We found this hotel/b&b on trip advisor. We thought we would give it a try. It is right around the corner from the Van Gogh Museum, a block from the Rijks Museum, around the corner from numerous tram stops and the airport bus. We were warmly greeted by a member of the family when we arrived. The room was ready for us as promised. It is not an elegant place but it is comfortably furnished and very clean. The bathroom is large and the tub shower is large. Our room looks out over a small street that has a very small play area. The building across the way houses a school. So it can get a bit noisy during the weekdays during recess. But it really didn't bother us. We loved the breakfasts they prepared for us. A coffee machine will make you an espresso, cappuccino, caffe latte or a hot chocolate. Tea is also available. Fresh flaky croissants, crusty breakfast rolls, eggs and bacon, any number of fruits, cheeses, cereals, yoghurt and specially prepared Dutch pancakes. I had never had one before and didn't think I would like it because I am not a big pancake fan. But these a more like crispy crepes, smothered in butter and confectioners sugar. Oh my! To die for! We were able to purchase our museum tickets from the hotel so we didn't have to wait in line. The family and staff are very friendly and very helpful. There are about 10 shallow steps up to the front door. But they brought our suitcases in for us and there is a functioning (small) elevator inside the hotel to get you to your room. I have become a big fan of Hotel Fita and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Tell the staff when you make your reservation what you require and they will do their best to accomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed in Room 46, which is only a month old. Very spacious, comfortable, immaculate and quiet. Note, the hotel is next to a kindergarten and it's wonderful hearing the children play during the day. If you prefer quiet then just close your windows. The location is excellent, near the museums and away from the noisy tourists. Tram is right around the corner. We really enjoyed our two night stay and are looking forward to our next visit. We will surely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

There is not much more I can say about this hotel than others have already said but do your self a favor and stay at the Hotel Fita. Roel and his staff are wonderful, helpful and always there when you need them. The location is great close to wonderful restaurants, shopping and transportation what else could one want. On our next trip to Amsterdam this is our go to hotel. Thank you for the great restaurant recommendations we loved the Italian restaurant so much we went two nights in a row ( The 4 Seasons) walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: If you do not like stairs as for a room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Great experience in this hotel...easy bus ride from airport, easy public transportation into city center and just overall good location. Property is well maintained, kind hosts, clean large rooms and excellent breakfast. Try this spot! Also about two blocks away is wonderful Italian restaurant---Brasserie Pompa---ate there for dinner and lunch , had great food

Room Tip: Even though near a school, the children were never a problem. We choice one of the larger rooms whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Just spent four nights at the Hotel Fita. Rather than repeat all the enthusiastic comments already shared, I'll just extend my congratulations to Roel and his team for providing a wonderful hotel in a terrific location, at great value, and with sincere enthusiasm and care. I could not have been more pleased.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Visiting Amsterdam for the first time we spent two nights at this well placed yet quiet retreat - Hotel Fita. Greeted and welcomed by Roel on arrival, our room was ready ahead of time and we were off to see the sights within an hour of landing at Schiphol Airport. We were on the second floor in a spacious double-bedded room which Roel showed us to himself. Our bed was very comfortable enabling a good sleep on night one.

There is no doubting the commitment and helpfulness of Roel and his staff. We knew from the start that the Staff would help us with any question we had regarding restaurants, places of interest or direction of the 197 bus back to the airport.

The following morning our breakfast was taken from a good continental/English selection. Perfect Dutch pancakes were made for us and arrived fresh at the table. A real treat.

Free Wi-Fi worked well: be careful of the hot water in the bathrooms, it was very very hot!

We will definitely go back to Hotel Fita again. It really was as every other TripAdvisor Review has described it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.