We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My daughter and I had a three night stay at hotel Fita and couldn't find a thing to complain about. We were in a recently refurbished room on the top floor. Lots of space and very comfortable beds. A big bathroom with clean, modern fixtures.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, taking care of our bags until check in time and transporting them to our room while we were out.
The continental breakfast was very good. Great coffee and lots of choice in fruit and cereal with scrambled eggs and delicious pancakes if you could manage them!
In a quiet area close to the museums and close to transport to take you anywhere including the Airport and reasonably priced I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    316
    44
    20
    9
See reviews for
202
629
125
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Friendly family run hotel, with all facilities you would need for a city break and yet close to the vondelpark to get out in the air and sunshine. On a very quiet street you could forget you are in a big city. A few metres away from the tram and bus stops outside the Van Gogh museum (one of the buses, No197,is the quickest and easiest way to and from the airport). Good location to go sight seeing through the canal belt and past plenty of bars and bistro's for refreshments and the famous waffles. Breakfast at the hotel was a delight with homemade pancakes made to order, large buffet choice to load up for some sight seeing walking and all the hotel staff will happily help guide you on what to see and how to get there. Many thanks to Roel too who gave us some restaurant ideas before we arrived. Good handy work in our room furnishings too fella.

Hope to see you again for another anniversary, thanks a lot Andy & Kelly.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I "found" this hotel on tripadvisor, and am so pleased we stayed here. This is a small, charming hotel, with bright, clean rooms, nice size bathroom, and delicious breakfast. We purchased tickets to Rijks and Van Gogh Museums at the hotel saving us time in line. All the staff was helpful with advice about buses, where to eat, etc. It was easy to get to the Hotel Fita on a bus from the airport. Will definitely recommend!

Room Tip: There is a small elevator, but if stairs are a problem ask for room not on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Our visit to Amsterdam was enhanced by our stay at Fita. It's location and access to the museum district, canal tours and transportation is excellent. The stay was friendly and very helpful. Every morning we enjoyed breakfast pancakes freshly prepared for us. We highly recommend Hotel Fita as choice for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a small hotel run by a charming group of young people. Although it isn't a luxury hotel, it offers great value, especially if you plan to visit the museum district. I can't say enough about helpfulness of the staff, as well as the delicious pancakes they cook for breakfast. The rooms are large enough to be comfortable. The location is quiet, yet only a stone's throw from the Van Gogh museum as well as the central tram 5 line. The picture of the remodeled lobby looks great! (It was under construction during our visit.)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Spent four nights at the Hotel Fita at the beginning of April for our first visit to Amsterdam. It is situated in a quiet, attractive part of the city close to the main museum area and the large green spaces of Vondelpark and Museumplein. It is also close to the excellent Amsterdam transport system which we used during our stay having bought a three day pass for 16 Euros each which we considered excellent value. There are also plenty of really good places to eat within easy walking distance.

The Fita team are all enthusiastic, helpful and friendly and were a very good source of information about sightseeing and eating out. Our spacious room on the first floor had a large bay window overlooking a pedestrian thoroughfare, a comfortable bed and a decent sized well equipped bathroom. The stairs throughout the building are steeper than we are used to in the UK which is good for the thighs but there is a small lift to all the floors if needed. The breakfast room on the lower ground floor is compact and gets quite crowded if all the residents descend at the same time. However the choice of food is quite varied and the warm Dutch pancakes, prepared to order, are definitely worth a try.

We enjoyed our stay very much and would certainly use the hotel again if we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I don't think we could've picked a better hotel than this one for my first time in Amsterdam.

Less than a minute's walk from the Van Gogh museum, two minutes further from the Rijksmuseum and Vondelpark, near to the canal for boat rides, across the road from two tram lines which run to Amsterdam Centraal train station, the location was absolutely ideal. The staff at this family-run hotel are lovely - we arrived an hour before check-in, they were happy to let us leave our luggage with them as we explored for a while (with a map helpfully provided by the girl at reception, with routes, attractions and transport circled for us). Upon our return, our bags were waiting in our room for us.

The room itself was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom is huge and the free Nespresso-esque coffee machine is a welcome addition, particularly if you return to the hotel after several hours shopping and need a pick-me-up before you head back out for the evening/night!

Interestingly for a continental European hotel, the fantastic breakfast buffet includes bacon and eggs - which will please the British Tourists who insist on full English garb when they travel abroad. The more broad-minded traveller will be very happy with their selection of cheeses, pastries and fruits, and in particular the homemade cooked-to-order pancakes, which are delicious.

I would highly recommend this recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam, but particularly those planning on spending their times in museums and on the canals. It made my stay in the city all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.