We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, quite hide away a few steps from busy city life.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Excellent location, quite hide away a few steps from busy city life.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Friendly family run hotel, with all facilities you would need for a city break and yet close to the vondelpark to get out in the air and sunshine. On a very quiet street you could forget you are in a big city. A few metres away from the tram and bus stops outside the Van Gogh museum (one of the buses, No197,is the quickest and easiest way to and from the airport). Good location to go sight seeing through the canal belt and past plenty of bars and bistro's for refreshments and the famous waffles. Breakfast at the hotel was a delight with homemade pancakes made to order, large buffet choice to load up for some sight seeing walking and all the hotel staff will happily help guide you on what to see and how to get there. Many thanks to Roel too who gave us some restaurant ideas before we arrived. Good handy work in our room furnishings too fella.

Hope to see you again for another anniversary, thanks a lot Andy & Kelly.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    851
    275
    41
    20
    8
See reviews for
182
541
109
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I "found" this hotel on tripadvisor, and am so pleased we stayed here. This is a small, charming hotel, with bright, clean rooms, nice size bathroom, and delicious breakfast. We purchased tickets to Rijks and Van Gogh Museums at the hotel saving us time in line. All the staff was helpful with advice about buses, where to eat, etc. It was easy to get to the Hotel Fita on a bus from the airport. Will definitely recommend!

Room Tip: There is a small elevator, but if stairs are a problem ask for room not on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Our visit to Amsterdam was enhanced by our stay at Fita. It's location and access to the museum district, canal tours and transportation is excellent. The stay was friendly and very helpful. Every morning we enjoyed breakfast pancakes freshly prepared for us. We highly recommend Hotel Fita as choice for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a small hotel run by a charming group of young people. Although it isn't a luxury hotel, it offers great value, especially if you plan to visit the museum district. I can't say enough about helpfulness of the staff, as well as the delicious pancakes they cook for breakfast. The rooms are large enough to be comfortable. The location is quiet, yet only a stone's throw from the Van Gogh museum as well as the central tram 5 line. The picture of the remodeled lobby looks great! (It was under construction during our visit.)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Spent four nights at the Hotel Fita at the beginning of April for our first visit to Amsterdam. It is situated in a quiet, attractive part of the city close to the main museum area and the large green spaces of Vondelpark and Museumplein. It is also close to the excellent Amsterdam transport system which we used during our stay having bought a three day pass for 16 Euros each which we considered excellent value. There are also plenty of really good places to eat within easy walking distance.

The Fita team are all enthusiastic, helpful and friendly and were a very good source of information about sightseeing and eating out. Our spacious room on the first floor had a large bay window overlooking a pedestrian thoroughfare, a comfortable bed and a decent sized well equipped bathroom. The stairs throughout the building are steeper than we are used to in the UK which is good for the thighs but there is a small lift to all the floors if needed. The breakfast room on the lower ground floor is compact and gets quite crowded if all the residents descend at the same time. However the choice of food is quite varied and the warm Dutch pancakes, prepared to order, are definitely worth a try.

We enjoyed our stay very much and would certainly use the hotel again if we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I don't think we could've picked a better hotel than this one for my first time in Amsterdam.

Less than a minute's walk from the Van Gogh museum, two minutes further from the Rijksmuseum and Vondelpark, near to the canal for boat rides, across the road from two tram lines which run to Amsterdam Centraal train station, the location was absolutely ideal. The staff at this family-run hotel are lovely - we arrived an hour before check-in, they were happy to let us leave our luggage with them as we explored for a while (with a map helpfully provided by the girl at reception, with routes, attractions and transport circled for us). Upon our return, our bags were waiting in our room for us.

The room itself was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom is huge and the free Nespresso-esque coffee machine is a welcome addition, particularly if you return to the hotel after several hours shopping and need a pick-me-up before you head back out for the evening/night!

Interestingly for a continental European hotel, the fantastic breakfast buffet includes bacon and eggs - which will please the British Tourists who insist on full English garb when they travel abroad. The more broad-minded traveller will be very happy with their selection of cheeses, pastries and fruits, and in particular the homemade cooked-to-order pancakes, which are delicious.

I would highly recommend this recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam, but particularly those planning on spending their times in museums and on the canals. It made my stay in the city all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed at this hotel last weekend, the staff are very friendly and efficient, the room was clean, bright and comfortable. Loved the breakfasts, Staff very helpful with questions and advice on where to eat and best times to visit the museums, would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.