We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Fita” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved the Fita”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

Hotel Fita is a nice, small hotel in a great location. It is near the Rembrandt museum and Rijksmuseum, near tram and bus stops, and in a residential area so visitors may get a glimpse of how Amsterdam residents live, commute to work on bicycles and bring their children to school. Entrance to the hotel is restricted, which makes one feel safe. The room was lovely. I had a balcony overlooking a school playground. The bathroom was large, with a shower and bathtub (and rubber duck!) You can buy tickets to the Rembrandt Museum and Rijksmuseum through the hotel. The breakfast was good. The breakfast room was set up so that visitors could easily converse and make acquaintances. It was a lovely place, a great location. I would stay there again!

  • Liked — Location, style
  • Disliked — Nothing. It was great.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    296
    44
    20
    8
See reviews for
194
587
114
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

Arrived early AM from Asia and were welcomed by the owner. Room was not ready for some hours so he gave us some suggestions as to where we should visit. Upon return were shown to room - large and very comfortable. Very good bed and pillows (always improtant for me). Room wand the hotel were always spotless. Staff very friendly. Breakfast good. Hotel is highly recommended.

  • Liked — Spotlessly clean & Comfortable
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

What a great hotel for a 2 day stay for visiting the museums of Amsterdam. Our room was fresh and clean and the breakfasts were excellent. We had 2 days prior to catching a cruise to Ireland and Norway so needless to say had a great deal of luggage. Our room was large enough to accommodate the luggage with room to spare. The staff was very helpful and arranged for our transportation to the cruise port. Our hats off to Hans & Loes de Rapper for managing such a well run hotel in the heart of Amsterdam's museum district.

Ted & Cissy Twining

  • Liked — The helpful staff
  • Disliked — The steps to the loby
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We have traveled all over Europe and have to say that the Fita is an exemplary family-run hotel. Whatever it may lack in the way of "luxury" it more than makes up for in:
- location: quiet side street steps away from the museums, Vondel Park, shopping, and trams that take you to the center in minutes
- cleanliness
- helpfullness of the staff (we had our laundry done at no extra charge)
- extras that matter: complete breakfast, free phonecalls to Europe and the US, free Internet access, a room safe, even an umbrella for the guests' uses (which we luckliy did not have to employ).
The price may not be quite bargain level but it is quite reasonable for what you get. This will be our default place to call in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

Hotel Fita's delightfully located on a quiet residential street right behind the high-end shopping street (Chanel ....)

The room's a little tight but the bathroom's big! Our room was right next to a playground for a childcare centre so you can imagine how noisy it gets during the day with screaming kids playing right by your window... We were ready to head out most of the time so that didn't bother us..

Free internet access and calls were the best! It was easy for us to arrange meetups with another couple in Amsterdam. We made use of the free laundry service and they were prompt in delivering my bf's shirts after I explained that he had no clean shirts left. Some parts of the clothes arrived damp but it dried soon after hanging it up for a while.

The Nespreso machine was a nice touch,as well as the drinks and chocolates as a welcome treat! There's a safebox which I really appreciated.

I was expecting the breakfast to be of a lower standard after staying in B&Bs for most parts of my Europe tour; Hotel Fita was a pleasant surprise.

The staff's pleasant and they've helped us in booking our airport shuttle.

Just make sure that you have your breakfast within the stipulated time. We were slightly late and had to make do with grabbing some leftovers to eat in our room. Overall, a pleasant stay with thoughtful ammenities... =)

  • Liked — location, free laundry,internet access and phone calls, breakfast spread
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

Hotel Fita is a clean, modest, little hotel in a great location. On a quiet residential street, it's a short block away from both the Van Gogh Museum and Amsterdam's Fifth Avenue. It's far enough away from the riff-raff of the old city center that you don't feel like you're trapped in tourist hell, but near enough (and Amsterdam's so compact, anyway), that it's all easily accessible by foot. It's also close to Amsterdam's largest park and several supermarkets, which makes for an easy economical picnic.

The rooms are clean, but these are very much standard 3-star standards. There are some nice touches, such as a free use of an espresso maker in the room, cable TV, hot breakfast, internet, and a welcome glass of champagne and nuts. Staff are also generally friendly and helpful. But if you look around for specials at some of the other 4/5-star hotels in town, you could probably find a room at the same rate. It's this place's reliability, location and cleanliness keep it a consistent favorite.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing really wrong with the place
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

This exceptionally clean, quiet and friendly hotel allows free phone calls and internet access. Very hot powerful showers and wonderful beds and linens. GREAT breakfast included with fresh squeezed OJ and fabulous coffee. Very friendly and helpful staff. Short walk to museums and great shopping. Short walk to tram that takes you anywhere in Amsterdam. This is a wonderful place in a grreat neighborhood.

  • Liked — comfortable beds, internet, breakfast
  • Disliked — can't think of anything I did not like
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.