We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We picked this hotel based on reviews from here and we were not disappointed. The host/owner could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Breakfast was wonderful. The location was perfect, one short block from the museums but on a quiet street. The hotel recommended some great restaurants which were nearby. We felt like it was our neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    327
    44
    20
    9
See reviews for
209
656
132
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

One of our main reasons for visiting Amsterdam was to go to the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum. As Robert C says, this hotel is perfectly placed for those museums and, if you can tear yourself away from the breakfast table, then you can get to those museums before the tour buses! Also close to a tram stop to take you to many of the other major attractions in the city. All the staff we met were very friendly, enthusiastic and helpful. We stayed in Room 10 on the ground floor - a light and airy room with windows to two sides. A great hotel.

Room Tip: Room 10 is a corner suite and light and airy. Although on street, the windows and heavily double gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We went for weekend to see the refurbished Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum and Rembrandt House. This wonderful find of a hotel is perfectly placed for the museums with good restaurants nearby. So perfect: room spotless and spacious, bathroom spacious; tea and coffee in room; pancakes for breakfast; helpful staff- all round exactly what we wanted. Would definitely recommend and go again ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had a glorious weekend in Amsterdam. A contributing factor to it was the charming Hotel Fita and its lovely team!!! The hotel is beautifully located just by the Riksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum as well as the concert hall. Easy access by bus from the airport or tram from the main station. The rooms are charming - complete with coffee maker and hot water kettle for tea. Breakfast was delicious! This was my second time there and there will certainly be a third!!! And fourth...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet comfortable small hotel with excellent access to the museums - then this is it. Our room was cosy - not luxurious - a bit studenty in style but with comfortable beds who is worrying? Excellent breakfast with freshly made scrambled eggs and nice pastries. We couldn't get the coffee machine to work. It would be easy to pick holes but the pros outweight the cons overwhelmingly. A warm welcome from all the hard working staff.

Room Tip: We had room 24 - very quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Spent 4 nights, in one of their larger rooms. Good value hotel.

Location of the hotel is very convenient, one block away from the Van Gogh museum and another half block to the bus stop.

Complimentary Breakfast was good. Served scrambled eggs and bacon, different kinds of breads, fruits, cereal, yogurt, coffee and tea,.... and their local pancakes (a treat)

Staff was very friendly, and gave us directions to local supermarket, and good restaurants. We tried their recommendations on a seafood restaurant and a restaurant that served local food, full of local regulars, and were both good and value.

Not only you can do laundry, but they do the laundry for you!!. you leave dirty clothes in a basket and at the end of the day, they returned it washed and folded for free.

As all converted houses in Amsterdam, the property is narrow with steep stairs, and a very tiny elevator.

Room had a safe, ceiling fan, nespresso machine. Heater in room and bathroom.

Small closet space.

Would recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Dont miss the pancakes at breakfast. Take advantage of complimentary laundry service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We arrived on the night of the great storm in October 27th. 2013! Luckily we took off from Bristol airport on EasyJet before the storm hit....the flight to Schipol is only an hour, so it wasn't too long before we were boarding the 197 bus from outside the departures lounge. This is by far the quickest and cheapest - at 4€ each - way to get to the bus stop which is literally at the end of the street on which Hotel Fita is situated.
The hotel is all about location!location!location.
It is very close to the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum.
The 'Van Gogh at Work' exhibition at the Van Gogh Museum is absolutely brilliant....the museum has had a lot of money,time,care and effort put into its re-shaping. You must....(a) book your e-ticket on the web-site...it lets you leapfrog any queue....(b) invest 5€ in the multi-media tour handset ..it is well worth It! The tour picks out certain exhibits for a lot of fascinating information and background detail.
The museum also has a good cafe/restaurant. We split our tour either side of lunch.
That evening we booked into the Sama Sebo Indonesian restaurant - again very close to the hotel....their rice table meal is very flavoursome and very good value for money! Make sure you book well in advance as they are often full on most days of the week!
Second day we took the number 2 tram from the end of the street and caught the train from Amsterdam Centraal railway station to the Hague (Den Haag Centraal railway station).
Fleur, Julia's sister-in-law has lived in The Hague and she gave us an excellent circular tour to follow.We walked from Den Haag Centraal to Binnenhof (Dutch Parliament) then walked via the Buitenhof over the "Hoogstraat" and "Noordeinde" which are some the nicest shopping streets with the more luxurious shops. Then onto the Palace "Paleis Noordeinde". Next we walked to the "Lange Voorhout", this has very nice streets/square has lots of old residential houses, big old trees etc. and even a little old palace which is not in use as such but has a permanent exhibition of Escher.
From there we made our way to the Panorama in the city centre which showed a wonderful painting of the Hague coastal area in the 19th century in the round. This was an unexpected delight which we would thoroughly recommend.
To round off the day we ate at the restaurant Fleur recommended ...De Tapperij ….where we had a really lovely meal. The owner let us in early (5.30p.m.) and we had a drink while the staff had their meal. As the weather had taken a turn for the worse this was really kind of him and we had an excellent dinner..... we wound our way back to Den Haag Centraal and went back to Amsterdam. It sounds like a lot of walking but The Hague is a compact city and we managed it easily.
On the third day we went to the newly re-vamped Rijksmuseum....fantastic lay-out - once again the multi-media tour is a must...."The Nightwatch' never fails to amaze us....the weather had picked up by now, so we took advantage of the sunshine and went on a Blue Boat canal trip...once again, this canal cruise line is very close to Hotel Fita.
Our room in the hotel was a good size - and it has a high spec coffee machine and tea making facility in the room, There is an 'honesty' bar where you can get a beer/wine soft drink at any time...breakfast was very good - their pancakes are not to be missed!! All of the (young) staff were very helpful and cheerful....if we stayed again, we would insist on a room at the back of the hotel - our room at the front had a nice balcony but there was some traffic noise from the street.
All in all, a very good stay...the Dutch are such friendly people....and their lovely country is ideally close for a short break!
Ron&Julia - Ross-on-Wye





Go to TripAdvisor | Unsubscribe | Privacy Policy | Contact Us

Room Tip: Next time we would ask for a room at the back away from the street outside the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,789 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#9 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,351 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#8 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.