We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, Amsterdam 1071 CL, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A gem in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We went for weekend to see the refurbished Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum and Rembrandt House. This wonderful find of a hotel is perfectly placed for the museums with good restaurants nearby. So perfect: room spotless and spacious, bathroom spacious; tea and coffee in room; pancakes for breakfast; helpful staff- all round exactly what we wanted. Would definitely recommend and go again ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    833
    267
    40
    20
    8
See reviews for
175
527
106
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had a glorious weekend in Amsterdam. A contributing factor to it was the charming Hotel Fita and its lovely team!!! The hotel is beautifully located just by the Riksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum as well as the concert hall. Easy access by bus from the airport or tram from the main station. The rooms are charming - complete with coffee maker and hot water kettle for tea. Breakfast was delicious! This was my second time there and there will certainly be a third!!! And fourth...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet comfortable small hotel with excellent access to the museums - then this is it. Our room was cosy - not luxurious - a bit studenty in style but with comfortable beds who is worrying? Excellent breakfast with freshly made scrambled eggs and nice pastries. We couldn't get the coffee machine to work. It would be easy to pick holes but the pros outweight the cons overwhelmingly. A warm welcome from all the hard working staff.

Room Tip: We had room 24 - very quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Spent 4 nights, in one of their larger rooms. Good value hotel.

Location of the hotel is very convenient, one block away from the Van Gogh museum and another half block to the bus stop.

Complimentary Breakfast was good. Served scrambled eggs and bacon, different kinds of breads, fruits, cereal, yogurt, coffee and tea,.... and their local pancakes (a treat)

Staff was very friendly, and gave us directions to local supermarket, and good restaurants. We tried their recommendations on a seafood restaurant and a restaurant that served local food, full of local regulars, and were both good and value.

Not only you can do laundry, but they do the laundry for you!!. you leave dirty clothes in a basket and at the end of the day, they returned it washed and folded for free.

As all converted houses in Amsterdam, the property is narrow with steep stairs, and a very tiny elevator.

Room had a safe, ceiling fan, nespresso machine. Heater in room and bathroom.

Small closet space.

Would recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Dont miss the pancakes at breakfast. Take advantage of complimentary laundry service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We arrived on the night of the great storm in October 27th. 2013! Luckily we took off from Bristol airport on EasyJet before the storm hit....the flight to Schipol is only an hour, so it wasn't too long before we were boarding the 197 bus from outside the departures lounge. This is by far the quickest and cheapest - at 4€ each - way to get to the bus stop which is literally at the end of the street on which Hotel Fita is situated.
The hotel is all about location!location!location.
It is very close to the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum.
The 'Van Gogh at Work' exhibition at the Van Gogh Museum is absolutely brilliant....the museum has had a lot of money,time,care and effort put into its re-shaping. You must....(a) book your e-ticket on the web-site...it lets you leapfrog any queue....(b) invest 5€ in the multi-media tour handset ..it is well worth It! The tour picks out certain exhibits for a lot of fascinating information and background detail.
The museum also has a good cafe/restaurant. We split our tour either side of lunch.
That evening we booked into the Sama Sebo Indonesian restaurant - again very close to the hotel....their rice table meal is very flavoursome and very good value for money! Make sure you book well in advance as they are often full on most days of the week!
Second day we took the number 2 tram from the end of the street and caught the train from Amsterdam Centraal railway station to the Hague (Den Haag Centraal railway station).
Fleur, Julia's sister-in-law has lived in The Hague and she gave us an excellent circular tour to follow.We walked from Den Haag Centraal to Binnenhof (Dutch Parliament) then walked via the Buitenhof over the "Hoogstraat" and "Noordeinde" which are some the nicest shopping streets with the more luxurious shops. Then onto the Palace "Paleis Noordeinde". Next we walked to the "Lange Voorhout", this has very nice streets/square has lots of old residential houses, big old trees etc. and even a little old palace which is not in use as such but has a permanent exhibition of Escher.
From there we made our way to the Panorama in the city centre which showed a wonderful painting of the Hague coastal area in the 19th century in the round. This was an unexpected delight which we would thoroughly recommend.
To round off the day we ate at the restaurant Fleur recommended ...De Tapperij ….where we had a really lovely meal. The owner let us in early (5.30p.m.) and we had a drink while the staff had their meal. As the weather had taken a turn for the worse this was really kind of him and we had an excellent dinner..... we wound our way back to Den Haag Centraal and went back to Amsterdam. It sounds like a lot of walking but The Hague is a compact city and we managed it easily.
On the third day we went to the newly re-vamped Rijksmuseum....fantastic lay-out - once again the multi-media tour is a must...."The Nightwatch' never fails to amaze us....the weather had picked up by now, so we took advantage of the sunshine and went on a Blue Boat canal trip...once again, this canal cruise line is very close to Hotel Fita.
Our room in the hotel was a good size - and it has a high spec coffee machine and tea making facility in the room, There is an 'honesty' bar where you can get a beer/wine soft drink at any time...breakfast was very good - their pancakes are not to be missed!! All of the (young) staff were very helpful and cheerful....if we stayed again, we would insist on a room at the back of the hotel - our room at the front had a nice balcony but there was some traffic noise from the street.
All in all, a very good stay...the Dutch are such friendly people....and their lovely country is ideally close for a short break!
Ron&Julia - Ross-on-Wye





Go to TripAdvisor | Unsubscribe | Privacy Policy | Contact Us

Room Tip: Next time we would ask for a room at the back away from the street outside the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Good location on a quiet street just 1 block away from the museums. Perfect place to stay while exploring the city and still getting a good night of sleep. Comfortable and clean rooms. Excellent breakfast! Nice and helpful staff. Totally recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Maybe I expected too much. It is, after all, a TripAdvisor and Rick Steves' recommended hotel. Unfortunately, there were just too many things that went arwy.
Let's start with the good things about the Hotel Fita.
Location, location, location. The hotel is on a quiet street one short block from the Van Gogh and Stedelijk Museums. The tram line that takes you to the historic center and the Centraal train station runs along the street where those museums are, so traveling to and from the hotel is very easy. One block in the opposite direction is the Rodeo Drive of Amsterdam, so if you have a lot of money to spend on high end fashion, you're in the right place.
Friendly staff. Really friendly and helpful with directions and pancakes.
Sleep. The bed in my room was really comfortable and the room temperature was perfect from beginning to end.

Okay. Let's get to the not-so-good about the Hotel Fita.
Cleanliness. My room seemed pretty clean at first. But then I noticed that the tea kettle in the closet, helpfully pointed out to me by the proprietor when I checked in, was dirty. So much for making tea in my room. I guess they expect guests to only use the Nespresso machine. But then why keep the assortment of instant coffee and tea under the night stand? Next, the bathroom seemed pretty clean, except for the shower. It looks like it was forgotten during a recent renovation. There's a lot of hard water spots and build-up and the floor mat was dirty. On my second day at the hotel, I returned from a day of sightseeing to find a pink kitchen towel on my suitcase. Apparently, it was left over from the cleaning service, which the proprietor said was new. Hmm. OK. I had three nights there so I figured that it would get better. It didn't. The next day, I noticed that the cleaning crew didn't clean the water glass or tea cup. So, needless to say, I didn't use the Nespresso machine or drink the water in the room again.
Hot water. I didn't have it my first morning at the hotel. As soon as I got up, I tried to take a shower but couldn't get any hot water, only a lot of noisy pipes and freezing H2O. I gave up and went down to breakfast where the proprietor informed me that he heard the noise the pipes made when I tried taking a shower and so he went and repaired the boiler. Thankfully, by the time I finished breakfast, the hot water had returned and I didn't have this problem the remaining two nights of my stay.

Finally, the hit and miss of the Hotel Fita.
Breakfast. The hotel has a large and varied breakfast buffet. There are freshly made scrambled eggs and bacon, an assortment of breads and danishes, cereals, cheeses, fruit, juices, and coffees. The bread is fresh. I know this because I awoke to the smell of baking bread every morning, three floors up from where the kitchen is. Dutch pancakes are available upon request and the staff is happy to make them for guests. Unfortunately, however, I noticed that there were some gnats flying around the cheese. They were there all three mornings I was at the Hotel Fita. Needless to say, I didn't eat the cheese.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, Amsterdam 1071 CL, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.