We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and well located, though our bed was uncomfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
San Francisco, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cozy and well located, though our bed was uncomfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I agree with the positive comments of other reviewers but can't give the hotel 5 stars for 2 reasons. First, the mattress in room 39 was not comfortable: very thin, and after a few nights in German hotels (where the beds are top notch, even in a modestly priced hotel), this was a disappointment. I am not usually sensitive to the comfort of a mattress, so it takes a lot to get me to comment on a mattress. The other aspect that was not ideal was that staff were NEVER around, except when we checked in. We checked in at noon. The hotel door was locked but when we pushed the buzzer, someone buzzed us in and then checked us in. He was very very friendly and welcoming. We wanted to pay our bill in cash, and were staying just one night so I told him we'd like to pay right then and there. He said that he'd have to do it later because he would need to print a receipt and the Wifi was down (unsure how those are connected). All of that was fine. (And wifi was quickly restored, so I was happy about that, too.) But then in the next several times we checked the front desk, including later that day, dinner time, late night, and very early morning, no one was at the desk, and there was no way to summon anyone to the desk. No bell, no sign, nothing. So we wound up not even being able to formally check out, and did not get to pay cash.
These criticisms are small in comparison to the positives of the hotel. The location is superb, the staff was friendly, and it was clean, cozy and quiet. So I will be returning, but just note these two areas for improvement.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    286
    43
    20
    8
See reviews for
188
567
113
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vacaville, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a small hotel in the museum district. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are small but well appointed in a European style. Breakfast is included, and if they offer you pancakes, say yes! The hotel is a block from the Van Gogh and Rijks Museums, and close to public transportation. I will definitely stay here again if I'm in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights back in September 2012. The hotel is clean, comfortable and is a great location but the best thing about this stay was the staff. Everyone was beyond friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very good and when I overslept after traveling the day before, I was still offer some food after the normal breakfast time. They offered free laundry service at the time and that was a great help during my multi-trip stay. Even without that service I would stay here the next time I'm in Amsterdam. I was offered some nice tips for my travels and a transfer was booked for my trip to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed here about eight years ago, for the location, and found nothing to complain about. So planning another four-day stay, we chose the Fita again. New owners have brought upgrades in everything - the breakfast, with very special "Dutch pancakes," is very good, the large room quite comfortable, and the service exceptionally friendly and helpful. The location would be lovely even without the Concertgebauw and three major museums, in a beautiful 19th c. residential area, but with these magnificent cultural sites, it's outstanding!!

Room Tip: If you plan on sleeping during the day, ask for something not on the front; a large private school i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Hotel Fita was very comfortable and clean. We stayed in a smaller room but it was set up well for our two night stay. The breakfast at the hotel was very good. Roel was a great host and provided good advice on what to see in Amsterdam.The location is very good with the Rijks Museum and Van Gogh Museum within two blocks, Leidseplein is within about four blocks, and one block from Amsterdam's mini Fifth Avenue - P.C.Hooftstraat. The trams to Amsterdam Centraal stop one block away (route 2 or 5). There are many restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

As others have said Fita is clean, great location and good breakfast. Our stay was short but we experienced the personal attention from the owner and staff at this hotel. If you are in need of a top notch hotel within walking distances to museum district this is your place if you are lucky enough to reserve a room. The owner was patient with us and suggested very good italian restaurant that we think was more local and that was good, also he gave us a great hint where to see countryside and windmills.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this lovely hotel situated a block from Rijks and Van Gogh museums. the trams are around the museums so it is easy to get into Dam sq area. the staff are so helpful with all your needs and enquiries. we were recommended great restaurants close by, as well as a delicious quick lunch place. breakfast is superb, pancakes sublime and good coffee. the room was large and sunny , quiet and warm. they helped with our taxi to Schipol , suggested buying a museum card to save money while visiting the variety of museums in this wonderful city.
What a great place to stay. thank you fita staff !!

Room Tip: Corner room lots of light
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.