We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essential part of your Amsterdam's experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Essential part of your Amsterdam's experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I've stayed at Fita most recently for the 3rd time already within the last 4 years. Actually every time I've been to Amsterdam I've been staying at Fita. It never disappoints me. I still remember my very first time, when I was completely taken away by the warm welcome making me feel like i arrived home. Perfect combination of location (easy to get by bus and hotel shuttle from the airport can bring you straight to the hotel doors, literally 2 mins walk from the Van Gogh and Rijks, and btw hotel offers you the possibility to preorder tickets for the museums and as a result for all the times I've been to both museums i never was queuing, also easy to walk to wherever you want, since literally located in the heart of Amsterdam), price, service, always warm welcome, extra small cute things that make you feel at home (like nespresso machine in your room), if only there is a chance you'd get your early check in too. And above all, the hotel and its wonderful staff always do this little sweet extra mile in everything they do and making you feel their every guest as the very special one. Always and everyone. For me - Fita and Amsterdam will always go together, even up to the point that I would not stay an extra night in Amsterdam if Fita would not have rooms available. I am travelling a lot, and I know that when you travel you always want to feel a little bit at home wherever you stay - so Fita is like you coming back home in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    280
    42
    20
    8
See reviews for
187
549
113
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Just stayed at Hotel Fita for 3 nights -booked after reading TripAdvisor reviews,which were all positive, and pleased to confirm that it is a great hotel in a lovely part of Amsterdam.
The staff were friendly and very helpful as it is a small,privately-run hotel - particularly liked the breakfast room & the delicious pancakes thank you!
If you are visiting Amsterdam and want to visit the major museums, then the Fita's location is perfect. Overall, we found it very good value, and will happily recommend to anyone, whether staying as a couple or solo.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed two nights here and were thrilled with the location and the staff. I had notified the hotel that our ship would be arriving early and asked if we could drop off our luggage. He assured me that we could and that he would make our room preparation a priority for us, which he did. It was ready before noon. Our departure was very early in the morning-before breakfast service- so he offered to meet us early in the dining room and made us breakfast before our cab arrived at 7:30a.m.! The hotel is very, very clean and is walking distance to VanGogh Museum and the Rijks as well as several other tourist attractions. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel is very well situated,right beside main museums, very pleasant quiet area, but with plenty of eating options and very near city centre. Hotel staff are very hospitable, helpful and courteous, and the service provided is highly professional. Room was perfectly clean, well-appointed, good facilities. Service is also thoughtful - e.g. spare adaptor plugs if you forgot yours; facility for printing boarding cards. Couldn't recommend it highly enough

Room Tip: Rooms looking out on Jan Luykenstraat quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Hotel Fita is a delightful place to stay. Friendly management and staff, excellent breakfast (don't miss the pancakes) adequate rooms. Very quiet location.

Ideally placed for the Museums and the Concertgebouw with several local restaurants. Handy for trams to the city centre and Centraal Station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Recommended by Rick Steve and based on other reviews I booked a room for 2 nights at this hotel. We had room number 12, which was spacious and enough light. The bathroom was good with a nice shower and the beds comfortable. Although the room is almost on street level, during the night there is no noise. It's a calm neighborhood, with the public transport and the museums just around the corner. I've been in another hotel is this street, but I do prefer this one more. The difference was that this one is more comfortable and what it makes very special are the owners. They're very kind, keen to help and make you feel home.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We recently stayed at The Hotel Fita in Amsterdam and loved its location - around the corner from The Van Gogh Museum. It was also close to the tram.

From the time we arrived we were greeted by a friendly staff who were more than helpful with directions and suggestions for restaurants. It reminded us of a B and B even though it is considered a small hotel. They served a full breakfast which we all enjoyed.

If we return to Amsterdam in the future we will definitely return to the Hotel Fita as it met all our needs. We highly recommend staying at The Fita Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.