We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation start” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
San Francisco
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation start”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful welcome. Nicest owner and staff. Very clean, nice sized rooms. Very quiet at night. Fun and excellent breakfast. Great coffee and pancakes and other good stuff. Really liked the Dutch yogurt and cheese. Close to museums.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank rammer2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
adelaide
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We just loved our stay at the Fita hotel and enjoyed the service of the staff who always went out of their way to make you feel at home. Position is fantastic, we normally don't catch public transport but in Amsterdam they told us trams are the best way to go. The tram was only 2 minutes walk and they were so efficient we used them everyday to get to our tour pick up destinations, Room was pleasant, we found the room a little noisy because of the street noise but if we closed the shutters it helped a lot and we had no problems sleeping.
Everyone talks about the breakfasts and I was not prepared to be so surprised because we have travelled a lot over our years and I can honestly say it was the very best breakfast.
Lovely hotel, lovely staff you will not be disappointed at this hotel.
Rosalind backler

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 263rozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

It is a great hotel, I would come back, if I had a complaint it would be that you hardly see anyone, you only have to call and someone is there to help you with what're it is you need, I know it is not large so that would be why. You feel secure as you have to use your key to get I. To the foyer and if you are checking in there is an intercom.
Breakfast is very good and you have a pod coffee maker in your room with a jug should you wish. Yo make tea or instant Coffee etc.
You are given a map when you check in and are given suggestions for things to do plus shown on the map the best ways to get around.
My room was over the entry on the second floor and the street was quiet.
The next street that runs parallel is great for shopping or window shopping, depending on your pocket, all are designer brands, you name it and it is there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrissy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

It's great to be so close to the Museums and the galleries (you can almost see the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum from the hotel), to the shops and the canals, but what really sets this hotel apart is the hospitality and enthusiasm of the staff and the genuine feel of homeliness. Nothing was too much trouble for the them, whether it be advising us on where to go and what to see, or the special Dutch pancakes specially made to order at breakfast, which was already full and varied . They also sent us to a local seafood restaurant which served the best fish I have had in years. The rooms, though not large, are beautifully clean. All of Old Amsterdam is walkable from this hotel but is set in a very peaceful and charming area away from the traffic, where even the youngest kids play in the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffB169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I just spent 4 nights at the wonderful Hotel Fita and would highly recommend it. As a single traveler, I felt very safe. The location could not be beat - literally around the corner from the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum and a short block to the tram (#2 and #5) which took me everywhere I needed to go. Be sure to take advantage of buying tickets at the hotel for both of the above-mentioned hotels - it will save you a great deal of time by not having to wait in lines. My room (#24) was HUGE - the only downside for others might be the fact is right above the playground for pre-school children and could be noisy. But, I did not find this to be a problem. The staff was absolutely incredible, taking time to answer all of my questions, recommending restaurants, canal cruises, etc. The breakfast was great and the pancakes are not to be believed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey bon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just spent 3 nights at Hotel Fita and loved how close it was to the museums. It is in an upscale part of town that has nice restaurants, close to the park and all transportation. Roel and staff could not have been nicer and more helpful. Breakfast was fresh and pancakes were delicious. On Roel's suggestion, we took the 197 bus from the airport for 4 Euros each and it brought us down the block from the hotel- super easy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyBonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I spent 3 nights at Hotel Fita. I had a single room which was small, but it had everything I could need and was clean and quiet. The hotel has a great breakfast included. It is also situated very close to the Rijksmuseum and Leidesplein. But most importantly, the staff at Hotel Fita were outstanding, very nice and helpful. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,016 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,759 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,998 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#29 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing