We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
New York City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The Fita is a small, family run boutique hotel that provides excellent service. The staff are friendly, conscientious, and always willing to help. Their breakfast is outstanding. This is a simple hotel with small rooms on a lovely street near all the museums. What the hotel lacks in luxury it makes up for in customer service and heart.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    851
    275
    41
    20
    8
See reviews for
182
541
109
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Fita for 3 nights in a wonderful small room with balcony on the first floor in the back. It was very quiet and I loved being able to open the french door and have fresh air. The staff couldn't have been more helpful with directions, suggestions for restaurants and help with taxis and luggage. Also, the location is perfect -- within 1-2 blocks of both the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum and about 20 minutes from the train station (by taxi). The breakfast room is cheerful and selection of food is ample. Try the pancakes! All in all, I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Roel and his staff provided an exceptional experience for us in Amsterdam. We stayed for six days after disembarking from a cruise ship so wanted a quieter location to unwind.

Roel truly enjoys his profession. He wanted us to experience Amsterdam and the immediate area and enjoy our time spent there and took a personal interest in us and every guest staying at the hotel. His staff shared his enthusiasm. Each day he would have a different restaurant suggestion that took us to places frequented by locals, not tourists. He would ask us our daily plans and then make suggestions to make them a bit more efficient so that we could see more of the area. If necessary, he'd run a map off of the computer with a 'custom' route for us.

The breakfasts were a real treat - including the special Dutch pancakes prepared for each guest. The honour bar downstairs was appreciated after a hot day.

The hotel was spotless. Rooms were generally cleaned while we had breakfast - unless we had an early departure planned for the days activities - and couldn't be better.

The location in the Museum District is actually reasonably close to downtown - we walked it nearly every day and, with no wrong turns, could get to Centraal Station in about 40 minutes - even on those cobblestones!!

We would not hesitate to stay with Roel at Hotel Fita again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hearty welcome provided by the young owner, Roel, and his team is what sticks in the mind. Nothing is too much trouble. I was greeted with a handshake and given plenty of advice on what to see and how to get around as soon as I arrived. Roel took an interest in the conference I was attending and the restaurants I visited in the evenings. But the interest wasn't overwhelming—I was left alone when I wanted to be.

I had a simple single room at the back of the building—quite adequate for my needs. I was on the top floor, but a tiny lift took me there—the stairs looked very steep. There was some noise: during the day from the school next door and a playground across the road, at night from neighbours partying and a concert on the nearby Museumplein. This wasn't loud enough to seriously disturb me.

A tasty breakfast includes bacon and scrambled eggs. There is a trust bar of a limited selection of beer, wine and soft drinks.

The free wifi Internet connection is simple, reliable and faster than I have at home.

The location is great for the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. Trams at the end of the road take you to most destinations. Tram 12 took about 10 minutes to get me within a short walk of the RAI conference centre.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We found this lovely family hotel via Tripadvisor and the reviews don't lie, this is such a nice hotel with the best staff you can find!

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of August and as we arrived we were greeted with a big smile and a very helpful guy behind the receptiondesk. We got alof of great info about the hotel, what to do in Amsterdam, where to eat and which places to avoid, basically the things that are really useful to know when you visit a new city!

The hotelroom was nice and although a bit small it was just enough for 2 of us. The bathroom was very nice tho and felt really fresh with a bathtub as well which we didn't expect. Free use of coffeemachine in the hotelroom (4 cups and you can buy more if needed). The only downside for us was no fridge in the room to cool our drinks in, but thats just a minor issue. The beds were a bit on the harder side but didnt have any problem sleeping, the room got hot during the warm August day and we didnt get the fan to work, but apart from that nothing to complain about!

The location of the hotel is really nice close to the museum district and close to the lovely Vondelpark. Also at a nice walking distance to the city centre. The tips we got from the hotelstaff about restaurants and what to do in Amsterdam was really helpful as well as getting tickets to the museums directly from the hotel and saved us alot of time not having to stand in que to buy tickets.

But one of the best experiences we had with our stay must have been the breakfast, the service you got and everything was freshly made, homemade jam, recently made bacon and eggs and of course the by now legendary pancakes you got! Will be coming back to this hotel almost just for them!! :-D Staff was really helpful at breakfast with providing everything from coffee to pancakes.

Hotel Staff made our stay the best one in Amsterdam, so thanks a lot for that! We will be coming back! :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our family had a whistle stop over nighter at the Hotel Fita travelling back from UK via Hong Kong to Australia. I booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews as we were looking for an affordable, central, family friendly hotel. From the moment we walked through the door we were made to feel right at home. We were kindly assisted up the stairs with our 100 kilo of luggage by Roel, then all hands were shook including the children who were soon overjoyed at the sight of the fish tank in reception and the complementary glass of sweets/lollies. The room was spacious with ample room for the camp bed for Miss 4 and baby cot for Miss 1. Location is fantastic amidst the museum district with lots of wonderful walks, restaurants and a local supermarket close by. I worked in management (hospitality) years ago and Roel is a legend, he nails every service strategy on the head right down to the duck in the bathroom and a take home one for the children to the baby friendly cutlery, crockery etc for breakfast. We left a bag at the hotel on departure and it was quickly resolved by Roel/taxi company for us to return to collect it. First class!!! If and when we are travelling back through Amsterdam, we hope it will be a longer stay and we most definitely will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose a lower level room if you have children (road is v quiet) size of the windows may make your h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is the third time my wife and I have stayed at the Hotel Fita. The hotel recently changed ownership and the new owner Ruel (Spelling?) A wonderful young man who took great care of us.

Great hotel, great staff, great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.