We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, Amsterdam 1071 CL, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Hudson, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Still Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is the third time my wife and I have stayed at the Hotel Fita. The hotel recently changed ownership and the new owner Ruel (Spelling?) A wonderful young man who took great care of us.

Great hotel, great staff, great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    799
    259
    40
    20
    8
See reviews for
169
508
104
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

As a frequent business and pleasure traveler accustomed to big chain hotels this was a great respite and an even better experience. My family of 4 had a room with 3 beds and a fold out bed--plenty of room for us. The location was excellent--Amsterdam is a small city and we were able to walk it all and never even bothered with the tram. Upon arrival, we were greeted like old friends by Roel, presented with a map and given a quick overview on how to get everywhere we wanted to go. Each time we returned to the hotel we were greeted with a smile and by name. One of the girls working there kept apologizing as it was her 2nd day--and her service was a 10 out of 10. Felt like we were staying at a friends home the entire time--and the smell of breakfast cooking daily was heavenly. The hotel is on a quiet block just steps from the main museums.
Ask Roel and he will provide you with some places to eat out of the main tourist area that were reasonable and enjoyable. If you want a luxury room, 3 restaurants, a bar and turn down service this is not for you. If you want to be greeted with a smile by name each time you walk in and have a clean comfortable place to stay I can tell you the Fita is for you.
A few handy notes on tourism: During high season the museums are very busy--go early if you are going. the art museums have huge throngs of tour groups taking pictures of paintings (I don't get that really). Unless you want to wait on line for 2 hours buy tickets for the Anne Frank house online before you go! The lines were around the block but we walked right in. We took a bike tour w Fat Tire and i will post a separate review of that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is very clean, quiet and accommodating. As said in previous reviews, you are very close to the Van Gogh, and Rijks Museums. We really enjoyed both. Also, do go to the Rembrandthuis on Jadenbreestraat. The Etching and Paint Preparation demonstrations were quite interesting as well as wall-to-wall Rembrandts, floor after floor. We also visited the Ann Frank house, Our Lord in The Attic, Dam Square, and Old and New Churches. The Palace was not open, but I hear it's lovely. The walk to the Ann Frank house on our first afternoon was gorgeous along the canals. It helped stave off the jet lag.

Queen and Roel can really help you figure out transportation, your routes and local restaurants to eat. The Rembrandthuis was very convenient and quick when we used the tram, at Qeenies suggestion, plus a shorter route. They provide a good breakfast, and supplied decaf coffee and soy milk on request. The breakfast has a variety of hot eggs and breakfast meats, fresh fruit, Dutch yogurt,and Dutch pancakes made to order, and much more. We only found out our last day, that there is a fridge in the breakfast area stocked with adult beverages, that you can help yourself to, on an honor system of listing your consumption.

Arriving from the airport, we took the #197 bus from Schiphol Plaza--exit the airport and the bus leaves from lane B9. Pay 4 euros to the driver. It's 35 minutes. Get off at Hobbemastraat. You'll see the museums. We got off a stop early when we saw the museums, and it was still only a few blocks walk.

Leaving we took a high speed Thalys train to Paris--3:15 hours. A taxi to the train station is only 10 euros. If you buy the train tix ahead, we went first class, got dinner and a snack, plus wine, for little over 100USD. In the station, to the left, on the second floor (there are elevators) there is a first class lounge we found accidentally-- with refreshments, restroom, lounge area. Wrote postcards, etc. While waiting for our train.

We used the Museumkaart and made appts for the Ann Frank House and Van Gogh Museum so we were not in the long lines. Go online totheir websites and schedule your time before leaving home--if it is a must-see. The Museumkaart they let us purchase when we arrived for our appointed time at the Ann Frank House, our first site. The airport Tourist shop did not sell them. The card is good for one year, so we have to go back again soon, gladly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherburn in Elmet, Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in June 2013 for our wedding anniversary. Room was very clean, staff were brilliant and very helpful and location is superb for the museum quarter. Easy no 2 tram ride to the dam yet quiet of an evening. Download the trip advisor Amsterdam guide and all set to go! Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My family of 2 adults and 2 children stayed in Hotel Fita for 1 week while visiting Amsterdam. This is an owner run boutique hotel with about 15 rooms, spread across 3 floors. The location was convenient, being located in a quiet residential neighborhood in the Museumplien, makes it an ideal place for family. Directly in front of the hotel is an elementary school and adjacent to the hotel is what appears to be a youth hostel, catering primarily for budget travelers (noticed many young backpackers going in and out of the hotel).

There are several museums within the vicinity, namely the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Stedelijk Museum and Concertgebouw are all within minutes of walking. Just behind the hotel is the tram stop of Van Baerlestraat (Tram 2 and 5) and further along Museumplein (Tram 16 and 24), which will easily take you to city center within minutes. There is also a supermarket Albert Heijn behind the hotel, next to the Stedelijk Museum. One street in front of the hotel is the famous and upmarket street P.C. Hooftstraat where many designer label shops are located.

The owner, Roel is a young and friendly man. Always smiling and willing to accommodate every request. We had communicated with him prior to our trip that we will be arriving early. He was very accommodative and offered to store our luggage and provided us with coffee and hot chocolate upon our arrival.

We had booked a double room (the biggest room available). The room was sufficient and was able to accommodate 2 extra foldable beds; which meant that we could all be together in 1 room. The bathroom was big enough to accommodate 1 bath/shower. The water pressure was great providing a nice relaxing shower after a day of exploring this exciting city. Our room was cleaned every day and the housekeeping service was efficient during our stay.

Atypical of any Dutch buildings, the staircase was very narrow and steep. Luckily, there was a lift albeit big enough to only fit 3 people at a time. The hotel also provides free wi-fi and you can get access within your room. There are also 2 common PC and a printer for use.

Breakfast was included as part of the room rate and was served at the basement floor. We wake up every morning to the smell of brewed coffee, cooked bacon and freshly made Dutch pannenkoek (pancakes). There were also cereals and juices; bread and rolls with homemade berries jam and a variety of cheeses. What a way to start your day …

The only minor concern we have is regarding the thickness (or rather thinness) of the walls between the rooms. We were sometimes awoken by the sound of toilets flushing and water tap being turned on from neighboring rooms. However, that is only a minor comment considering all the other positive aspects of the hotel and service.

Would we come back and stay here again? Hell yeah ... Decent hotel, excellent service, friendly people and quiet/safe location. What more could you ask for.

Thank you Roel, Rita, Queenie and the entire Hotel Fita team for an excellent stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noank, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

You couldn't find a better location to stay in Amsterdam. The hotel is on a lovely residential street but only a block away from high-end shopping and museums, and a short walk from Leidesplein with its many restaurants, sidewalk cafes, and boat tours. The staff is exceedingly friendly and helpful, and breakfast is good. Our room (#12) was spacious and bright from a large bay window. Unfortunately, the window overlooks a courtyard of sorts where children play and folks gather, making it rather noisy. Across the courtyard is a hotel that operates as a youth hostel, and many of the youth congregated in the courtyard late at night on the weekends, making it difficult for us to sleep. We had to close the window, which muffled the noise, but made the room too warm, so sleeping was not the best part of this stay. That being said, we would very likely stay here again but request a room on the other side of the hotel. Aside from the late night noise, the hotel is wonderful. We particularly like the large bathrooms, unusual in Europe (though the light was very dim, making grooming a challenge). We definitely recommend the hotel, with the caveat that it's best to avoid room #12 unless you are a very deep sleeper.

Room Tip: Room #12 overlooks a courtyard where guests of a youth hostel gather late at night, creating a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you can make it up the steep seven steps into Hotel Fita, you have got it made. The location is in a tree filled, quiet section of the city,only a block from the Van Gogh Museum. Easy access to the excellent transit system combined with a staff that will help you find you destinations makes Amsterdam a snap to visit. We found the tram ride to and from the hotel one of the unexpected delights of the visit. The rooms are clean and beds comfortable. The breakfast was the best hotel breakfast on our entire trip. (Eggs and bacon to die for, as well as homemade crepes, yum) We enjoyed talking with the young man who bought this hotel three years ago, and is making Hotel Fita a wonderful hideaway in Amsterdam. I would not stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: We had a fan and a large room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, Amsterdam 1071 CL, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.