We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Noank, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

You couldn't find a better location to stay in Amsterdam. The hotel is on a lovely residential street but only a block away from high-end shopping and museums, and a short walk from Leidesplein with its many restaurants, sidewalk cafes, and boat tours. The staff is exceedingly friendly and helpful, and breakfast is good. Our room (#12) was spacious and bright from a large bay window. Unfortunately, the window overlooks a courtyard of sorts where children play and folks gather, making it rather noisy. Across the courtyard is a hotel that operates as a youth hostel, and many of the youth congregated in the courtyard late at night on the weekends, making it difficult for us to sleep. We had to close the window, which muffled the noise, but made the room too warm, so sleeping was not the best part of this stay. That being said, we would very likely stay here again but request a room on the other side of the hotel. Aside from the late night noise, the hotel is wonderful. We particularly like the large bathrooms, unusual in Europe (though the light was very dim, making grooming a challenge). We definitely recommend the hotel, with the caveat that it's best to avoid room #12 unless you are a very deep sleeper.

Room Tip: Room #12 overlooks a courtyard where guests of a youth hostel gather late at night, creating a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    289
    43
    20
    8
See reviews for
190
575
113
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you can make it up the steep seven steps into Hotel Fita, you have got it made. The location is in a tree filled, quiet section of the city,only a block from the Van Gogh Museum. Easy access to the excellent transit system combined with a staff that will help you find you destinations makes Amsterdam a snap to visit. We found the tram ride to and from the hotel one of the unexpected delights of the visit. The rooms are clean and beds comfortable. The breakfast was the best hotel breakfast on our entire trip. (Eggs and bacon to die for, as well as homemade crepes, yum) We enjoyed talking with the young man who bought this hotel three years ago, and is making Hotel Fita a wonderful hideaway in Amsterdam. I would not stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: We had a fan and a large room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very nice hotel. Great breakfast. Our room was spacious clean and comfortable. I had an accident while in Amsterdam and every one made sure I had the care I needed. Great location to walk to all museums. Buy your tickets at the hotel to bypass long lineups at museum, we must have saved an hour of waiting. The staff is very friendly. We have been there twice and would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

What a fantastic experience! Centrally located charming hotel with impeccable service. Rooms are very clean, killer breakfast with the most welcoming and helpful staff. Get you Van Gogh museum tickets from the front desk to avoid the long lines.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very confortable, i loved neighborhood, close to everything, tasty breakfast.
Everyone in the hotel was very helpful. Details like excellent maps, advises,
cold drinks, they have bykes to hire, can sell tickets in advance for Van Gogh and Ryksmuseum.
I will recomend it and go back if i visit amsterdam again.

Room Tip: We choose the big rooms on ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Excellent location so close to Van Gogh and newly renovated Rijksmuseum, shops, cafes, supermarket and tram stops. Staff very friendly and helpful with delightful, youthful energy and enthusiasm! Our twin room was spacious and light with very good facilities and excellent block out drapes (there was a lot of noise initially from an outside playground / kindergarten when we arrived on a Friday but this abated after 6pm and holidays started on the Monday). Breakfast was excellent quality, range and quantity and the downstairs eating space was welcoming and inviting. We loved Amsterdam and this small, privately owned hotel (15 rooms) added to our enjoyment because of the location, the relaxed, yet efficient and friendly environment and the people working in it.

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the kindergarten / open courtyard would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hard to know where to start: physical location or people? OK - location first. From my room I could just see the Van Gogh Museum. We wanted to stay as close as possible to the Museumplein and the wonderful thing about Hotel Fita is that it's in a quiet street parallel to the busy street running along the edge of the Museumplein, a couple of minutes to the Concertgebouw. Because it's next to an infants / junior primary school, you have the feeling of a living city, with a hundred or more kids being dropped off by parents as you eat breakfast in the airy breakfast room. This juxtaposition of two of the world's most important galleries (Rijksmuseum and VGM) and a school whose playground is formed by putting up some very informal barriers across the street made me think: This is a real city that accommodates its own people and the people passing through like us. I loved that. Other things about hotel: only 15 rooms (I think); superb breakfast (anybody who misses the pancakes is nuts - apologies to those who can't eat pancakes). Now to people: Queenie and Roel and the other lovely young people at Hotel Fita are the kind of people who make travelling a joy. You think: Why have I left it so long to come back to the Netherlands? When can I come again? I'm already thinking about next year. Thanks, Roel - no wonder Hotel Fita is No 5 of 337 hotels in Amsterdam! I will have to book a long way ahead (and if my review makes that even more necessary, I will be very happy). LOVE YOU. THANK YOU. BEST WISHES. Brett Sydney Australia

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.