We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and attentive staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location and attentive staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Hotel Fita in Amsterdam. We loved our stay and would definitely stay again and recommend it to friends. All of our communication prior to our stay was prompt and concise.

Hotel Fita is an easy tram ride from Central Station. We arrived early in the day and stored our luggage at the train station since we wanted to take a bike tour and didn't have time to get to the hotel to drop our luggage (although knowing now how easy it is, we probably could have). From the train station you can take either tram 2 or 5 within two blocks of the hotel. After the commotion of the inner city of Amsterdam, it was such a delight to be in a quiet, but convenient neighborhood. It's close to the art museums and wonderful restaurants. There is a small elevator, which was nice with the luggage.

Our room was smallish, but nothing we didn't expect. The bathroom was modern and clean. There was a ceiling fan so it was nice to keep the air moving.

As everyone else has said, the breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Roel is so attentive and he really has that hospitality spirit. He was helpful and friendly and offered wonderful suggestions.

I'm so glad we stayed here. As we were sitting on the tram going from the hotel to the Anne Frank house we were looking at the different hotel options. We were both glad that we stayed at Hotel Fita because it was the perfect combination of quiet and convenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    292
    43
    20
    8
See reviews for
191
581
114
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is small and family run. The larger rooms are good size and have a full bath. Breakfast is included. Its not a fancy hotel and perhaps lacks the glitz and services that a large hotel would have, but the location is great (near the major Museums, and near the tram line. Its safe and quiet, except when the elementary school next door lets out. There are ample restaurants nearby and on the next block is the most expensive shopping street in Amsterdam. The owners are very nice and quite helpful.

Room Tip: If you cannot handle steps than request a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset Beach, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Fabulous small hotel with thoughtful staff. Previous to visit email correspondence saved me 50 Euros by taking the bus rather than a cab to the hotel. Couldn't have been easier. Best scrambled eggs ever. Single room was really small, next visit to Amsterdam I definitely will stay here again and get a double room.
Very convenient location.

Room Tip: Corner room was spacious. Wish I'd booked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed with my mother and daughter at this delightful hotel over the Easter Break. Excellent email communication directly with hotel to book. No problems reducing our stay by one day when we had to come back a day early. All staff were friendly, professional and extremely helpful. We were provided with maps and so much information on arrival re: what to do and which trams to get etc. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - fresh milk every evening when requested, storing cheese we had bought until our departure etc. Stayed in Room 24 which was so pretty, spacious and very clean. Breakfast was excellent. Best scrambled eggs I have ever tasted, excellent bacon, and the pancakes - WOW! If we return to Amsterdam we will certainly stay here again. The hotel is ideally located and in a lovely area. Take the hotel's advice and jump on the bus from the airport to the hotel - it is so easy and cheap. Thank you for making our stay in Amsterdam such a fabulous experience.

Room Tip: Room 24 was a nice large room - big enough for three people
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and were glad we did. The Fita is located in the Museum district and steps away from the top museums and the Tram stop. Upon entering the hotel, the scent of apple pastries fills the lobby - absolutely cool! The hotel manager, Roel, definitely knows how to treat his customers - as do the other members of this family run hotel. The rooms are large (our favorite is room 32 with the balcony), clean, and very comfortable. The included breakfast is "American size" serving Dutch pancakes, eggs, bacon, and a host of pastries, breads, and breakfast cereals. Roel always has a smile on his face and seems genuinely concerned that you have the best possible experience at the Fita. Although this was our first trip to Amsterdam, we have no desire to try any other hotel when we return next time. Hotel Fita is more than an excellent value, the staff treat you like VIPs. I cannot see how we could improve on the 'home away from home'.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here in March, 2013. I pretty much knew what to expect, referred by Rick Steves' guidebook and having reviewed several pages of Tripadvisor reviews.
On arrival, Roel, owner, was very welcoming, helping us with our bags himself, reviewing map for our stay in Amsterdam, etc.
The "front desk" is the smallest I have ever seen!
We liked this place very much, and if/when we return to Amsterdam we will seek to stay at this hotel again.
Our room was nice, on the main floor, reserved as 27 square meters which is probably right, roomy enough. We were in a corner room with windows on two sides.
Some people have mentioned noisy during daytime due to the schools which apparently stagger their playtime so that there are always kids playing outside. SO BRING EARPLUGS if you want to sleep daytime for the jet lag. Night time was quiet, on the street and in the hotel.
Someone complained that people on the street could see into the room, but there are thick blackout curtains, ----plus during the day we used the sheer white curtains so we could see out but nobody could see in.
Anyone reading this has probably already read many other reviews. I will concentrate on correcting negative reviews by others:
Someone said that the hotel required cash at checkout, but that was not the case. I divided my payments between VISA and MASTERCARD (USA cards) without problem.
Some reviewers didn't like breakfast. Breakfast was very nice, a buffet of cold and hot dishes, juices, coffee, etc., more than you could eat actually. Plus, if you ask, they will fix the nice "pancake" that other reviewers mentioned, (actually a crepe I think) --to order.
An example of extra service--- our second/last day we overslept to the end of breakfast time and 1/2 hour b4 checkout. I rang the bell at the desk to check out,--- Roel said there were some rolls/ juice left at the breakfast room, plus he fixed me another pancake! We were a few minutes late at checkout and that wasn't a problem. Roel called us a reliable taxi to the airport, made sure it was there on time, even cellphoning the taxi company when it wasn't there in 10 minutes.

wgt

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a small gem in a good location of Amsterdam.

All staff were down to earth and looked after us well.

The pancakes made for you at breakfast were a highlight of the stay.

Also provided us good tips on restaurants in the town and local area that the locals frequent.

Rooms are simple and double Bed was 2 singles put together.

Some noise also from other rooms.

Having said that the people who run the place are brilliant and I'd stay again for just for how accommodating and nice they were.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.