We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, Amsterdam 1071 CL, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We were two couples staying at the Hotel Fita in October, before a cruise. The location was excellent for getting around, although one of the selling points was being near the Van Gogh museum, but those artworks had been moved to another museum further away during renovations. It is a very quiet area at night, but during the day, very noisy due to several schools for young children surrounding it (international travelers sometimes want to lie down when they arrive early in the am after a night flight). Also, our room had a nice bay window, but we had to close thick, room darkening curtains to get any privacy, being on a low floor. Some kind of lighter shades would help or avoid the lobby floor. Breakfast was excellent and the host very helpful. There are numerous shops and restaurants nearby, as well as public transportation and the Rijksmuseum. The room was very clean, but the bathroom would benefit from some additional or upgraded amenities (shampoo, etc.) - very institutional looking (but clean!). Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Higher floors might have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    833
    267
    40
    20
    8
See reviews for
175
527
106
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bruxelles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Great staff: smiling and warm welcome from Roel, who showed us around our room (coffee facilites etc...) and also helped us in choosing a nice restaurant nearby on our first evening.The next morning, as we were more than half an hour late for breakfast (we thought it was served till 10am) a smiling lady offered us to sit down and she would give us some breakfast, if not the whole range. She soon came with a variety of breads and croissants, and a large platter of cheese and cucumber, some ham , etc etc..That kind of service is quite unique and we highly praised it.
Great location: very quiet street yet in the immediate vicinity of the Concertgebouw ("the" concert hall) and of many museums: Stedelijk museum (modern and contemporary art) is right behind, Rijksmuseum is 5' walk.Tram 5 or 2 from the train station takes you there in less than 20 '.Our room (26?)on the first floor was comfortable and bright, and warm (we turned off the heating and opened the window during the night).We'll choose Fita again (hoping they'll have room) if we go to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Hotel Fita was an amazing finale at the end of our European trip that saw us staying in 8 hotels in a space of 4 weeks.
The Location: On the periphery of the canal area and Centrum but very easily accessible by tram or even a leisurely walk, time permitting. The location certainly resulted in significant cost savings.
The Room: we were on the 2nd floor in room 36 which was spacious with a large bathroom. We were informed that the room was due for renovation but it seemed perfectly fine to me. Roel mentioned that they were wanting to upgrade even further! The room also came with a Nespresso machine and 4 shots of coffee provided....awesome! The only thing to watch for is the lack of air conditioning for those of you visiting in summer. The availability of an elevator to get luggage to the room was appreciated.
The Food: Breakfast was plentiful and included scrambled eggs and bacon, with the freshly prepared pancakes, as mentioned in previous reviews. This was good compared to the usual continental breakfasts we had in other hotels. Roel makes a great pancake...more like a crepe really.
The Service: Roel's initial greeting and signing us in was highly commendable, full of suggestions and advice on things to do and places to eat at. Friendly yet not overly so.
The Verdict: Would be very happy to come back here when we pass through again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel was clean and comfortable. The room facilities were fantastic and we particularly liked the trust bar of snacks and drinks downstairs as well as the free wifi/use of computers. The breakfast was excellent and included a good range of food. Pancakes were offered every morning and cooked fresh for each table.
The best thing about the hotel is the staff, who are really friendly and personable, without being over-familiar. They were very helpful and spoke excellent English. Although the hotel is not in the centre of town it is right by many museums and is easily reachable by the very regular trams (central train station is only 15mins away). Overall, I was really pleased with our choice of hotel and would recommended it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

With a warm welcome awaiting, we returned to Fita in November. We expected to enjoy our stay but weren't expecting to match that "first impression." We were wrong. It was every bit as good as the 1st stay and we're trying to figure out how to return again. We were again impressed by the warm welcome, helpfulness and cleanliness -- all top notch. We were looking forward to the generous and delicious breakfast weeks before our arrival and it did not disappoint - besides all the other goodies don't miss the cheese - best of our trip (as were the pancakes and bacon and eggs). The location is great (easily walkable) for the museums and sights and it's very easy to catch trams and buses. Roel made great suggestions for affordable luggage for the trip home (things never fit at the end of the trip!) and we found a nearby German porcelain store for more last minute Christmas presents. There are plenty of good restaurants nearby of varied prices. We couldn't have been happier. Oh yes, their suggestions of taxi companies is spot on. We forgot and paid too much from the train station but were again pleased when going to the airport using the suggested company. They will be doing some freshening in the rooms in Jan & Feb so we can't wait for the results. Our thanks to Roel, family and staff for another memorable and stellar stay - best of our November trip! (yes, again) and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Be sure to let them know your priorities for your room - space, quiet, etc. We love the front with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Fita 7 nights from Dec. 27 to Jan.3, 2013. You can size up a hotel pretty well in seven nights of sleeping and eating there, and interacting with the staff. We liked Hotel Fita a lot and we can tell you why;

Value: Hotel Fita is good Value for your money. Amsterdam is an expensive place for lodging, and for everything else too! You are not going to find much of anything decent for under 2 hundred bucks a night.. Hotel Fita cost us just a little over two hundred a night and we considered it a fair price for their accommodations in an expensive city like Amsterdam.

Facilities: Our room, number 14 on the first floor, was compact in the sleeping area (like many European hotels) but more than adequate for our needs. We spent most of our time out of the room anyway. The room has high ceilings (which made it seem more spacious), lots of windows, was quiet, comfortable and had great room darkening curtains. It even had a ceiling fan above the bed. Surprisingly, the bathroom was large. There is free phone service to the States, free laundry (a real life saver on longer trips that allows you to travel lighter) and a great breakfast. Breakfast was all the usual stuff of bread, cereals and fruit, but also included yogurt, great Dutch cheeses, scrambled eggs, juice, coffee & cappuccino, and delicious Dutch Pancakes upon request. The staff at breakfast was helpful, attentive and friendly.

Staff: The Hotel Fita staff is overall young, enthusiastic and cheerful. They purchased the hotel 2 years ago and have been updating it over time. They are VERY helpful and will go out of their way to help you with recommendations and directions.

Location: Hotel Fita is located in the Museumplein, one block from the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum. (FYI: Right now the Van Gogh Museum is closed for renovations but the best of Van Gogh has been moved to the Hermitage Museum, a quick 20-25 minute walk. The city has even placed a red rope line above the street to lead you to the Hermitage from the Van Gogh while it is under renovation. Just follow the "red line" rope. Check on-line to see when the Van Gogh re-opens in 2013.) We walked everywhere in Amsterdam or took the hop-on hop-off canal bus from the hotel Fita area. Hotel Fita is nicely situated for touring the city.

In conclusion, let me summarize by telling you what Hotel Fita is, and what it is not. It is not 5 star fancy. If you need 5 star fancy, you should go someplace else and bring lots and lots of money with you. Instead, Hotel Fita is very nice, well run, well located, comfortable and reasonably priced. And that is what we look for in a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I spent one night ib this hotel, just after Christmas. I felt like in a family pension or flat, very warmly welcome. The room were clean and the breakfast were abondant (sweet and good pancakes). More over, the hotel is very well located, 5 mn far from several museums and only 30 mn from the airport (by bus, 4€). In brief, I recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, Amsterdam 1071 CL, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.