We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Good hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Great location

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    292
    43
    20
    8
See reviews for
191
581
114
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Comfortable and clean hotel, with helpful staff. Very safe and quiet neighborhood. Around the corner to Van Gogh Museum and tram. Nice grocery store and restaurants within blocks. Also quite walkable to center of Amsterdam. Staff was very forthcoming with information on where and where not to go. Nice breakfast, pancakes cooked to order. I believe the owners live on the top floor. Will definitely stay again when in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with small balcony, lovely to step outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a delightful family-owned hotel in which to stay. We spent four days here prior to an Arctic Circle cruise and enjoyed every minute of the stay. The location, in the museum district, provides easy access via cab (all of which take credit cards), trams, and busses to the attractions of the city. The two great museums, the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum are in easy walking distance. The VanGogh is a short block away and the Rijks another longer block away. As hearty a breakfast as one would wish is available each morning–do not miss the pancakes. Laundry is provided for the guests free of charge. A drawback is that it seems always to be full so book early.


There are several restaurants nearby: an English Pub type, Canellos, an Italian restaurant and Argentinean steak house, an Indonesian restaurant and the famous Momo’s.
Would we go there again-absolutely, we wouldn’t go anywhere else.

Room Tip: O ur room was on the 3rd floor facing Jan Luykenstraat. It was delightful. One could view the enti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My family and I (3 rooms) stayed here for three nights before our cruise and a further two nights after our cruise. We were so well looked after by the Hotel Fita team! Our rooms (type A) were huge particularly in European standard, beds are comfortable and bathroom is spacious with powerful shower and a nice big tub. The location is excellent and we felt safe walking back from restaurants at nights. Breakfast is plentiful and the yummy pancakes gave us a great start to our busy sightseeing mornings. We loved the way they have a communal fridge stocked full with soft drinks, wines and beers and trusting hotel guest to mark down what they took and charged accordingly. The free wifi and laundry service were a nice bonus. Lastly, the entire team was so pleasant and helpful - excellent service, with a beautiful smile all the time. I would highly recommend this hotel to any of you looking for a comfortable stay in Amsterdam. P.s due to my job as a lawyer, I travel quite a bit and get to stay in 5-star hotels around the world. The personable service from the team at Hotel Fita is something you rarely see at a 5-star hotel these days.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated next to school/playground so you could hear the kids at certain time in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keaau, Hawaii
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Perfect location on a quiet street close to the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gough and the Tram. The room was spacious for European standards with tall ceilings and windows that made it feel even bigger. The real live plant was a nice touch. The furnishings were a bit worn and the bed not very comfortable but everything was very clean and the complementary Nespresso in the room was wonderful. Roel and Martijn were very gracious and helpful recommending restaurants and getting our museum tickets in advance so we could avoid the long lines. The breakfast in the morning was amazing with scrambled eggs, bacon, rolls, bread for toast, cereal, juice, fruit, yogurt (the creamiest I've ever had), granola, nuts, dried fruit and made to order Danish pancakes (don't miss these). Also, they do your laundry for free! The bathroom was very large but it was a step up and my husband and I tripped several times fortunately without serious injury but it seemed dangerous. The only other negative was that it was a little short on closet space and drawers and we packed light! A very pleasant stay and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband and I spend a few nights here. It is a nice little bed and breakfast type hotel. It is only a few minutes walk to the tram stop and to the van Gough museum. They sell tickets to this museum so save waiting in the queue and buy them at the hotel. The room was comfortable and quiet with a large bathroom. Breakfast is included in the price and is really lovely. They offer you Dutch pancakes which are great! The staff are really friendly and helpful which adds to this being a great place to stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had 3 nights here and were very happy with Hotel Fita. Location and amenities were great, the warmth from the owners very genuine and helpful. Excellent breakfast, great pancakes. A bit of noise late at night/early morning from the bar in the side street may annoy light sleepers. 0n balance though, highly recommended, and endorse previous comments.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.