We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This small, family-run hotel is in the perfect location, one street over from the uber fancy shopping street, a block from the Van Gogh Museum, two blocks from the Rijks, Vondel Park, Hop-On Hop-Off bus, tram, Diamond Museum, grocery store, and Concertgebouw. We have difficulty walking, but it was an easy stroll to all the restaurants and night life of Leidseplein, and the canals. We stayed for three nights. Roal and crew were welcoming and friendly, and even included a large umbrella in the room, just in case. Everything in the hotel was spotless! The breakfast buffet was ample and varied, and the made-to-order Dutch pancakes should not be missed. They sell museum tickets, and are happy to call a taxi for you. The room and bath were large, by European capital city standards, modern and comfortable. The lovely residential street and the hotel security door felt very safe.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    286
    43
    20
    8
See reviews for
188
566
113
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncks Corner, SC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our room was so clean I think we could have ate off of the floor! The pancakes are to die for! Queenie brought a delicious sparkling wine & nuts to our room after we checked in. The hotel is in walking distance of the museums & canals. Queenie, Roal & Martin were very sweet & helpful. My only complaint is there was NO ICE :(

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This small hotel run by family (two brothers with help from others) is in a quiet location close to shopping and two major museums with easy access to trams. They have a great breakfast (ask for a pancake) and a "trust" bar where you can pick up a few items (drinks, snacks) and have them charged to your room later. We had a large room and didn't hear noise from adjacent rooms. Bathroom amenities (including washcloth) are small to non-existent but all else was good. They even let us store our bags in their garage N/C for a few days while we made a side trip to Delft.
It does have a small lift to get to the upper floors but you'll have to drag your bags up about ten stairs outside.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Hotel Fita is just a stroll from the Van Gogh Museum and Rijksmuseum. We stayed for four nights in May in a Type A room, which was very clean and comfortable with reasonable facilities. There was a real feeling of a small family-run hotel offering a superior welcome. The staff were very helpful even before we arrived with tips about how to get there from the airport (197 bus) and they always responded to questions about attractions and transport. Continental breakfasts, bacon and scrambled egg were all good. It is helpful to know that Fita is on the corner of Jan Luijkenstraat and Van de Veldestraat. Even I found the sound of children playing at nearby Instituut Schreuder during school hours a trivial and even pleasant reminder of real life.
I like to pore over maps endlessly, and this showed up one area for improvement. With no reading desk in the room, no reading light over the bed, and no communal sitting out area, it was not too easy to plan ahead at night. Otherwise it's hard to fault the facilities here. Come and enjoy it!
General tips. Everyone here speaks English. Watch yourself crossing the roads: cars and trams are easy to see and hear, unlike bikes which can be silent but deadly. Trams are not suitable for heavy luggage. Eat at least once at Restaurant Hap-Hmm, Eerste Helmersstraat 33.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 10 at the front and didn't see any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I think this was the tiniest elevator I have ever seen, so if you are prone to claustrophobia you
won't want to go in there. Do put your luggage in there because the stairs are very dangerous;
steep, narrow and windy. Because I was on the second floor I had to walk two flights each time
I went to my room.
The room was bright, clean and adequate. The bathroom was modern, but I had problems with the hairdryer, the room was very dim, and the bathtub was so narrow I couldn't get out of it
(I'm not big). The room safe didn't work well and it was hot in the room because there was
no air conditioning. The mattress was so-so.
On the positive side we liked the quiet street location very close to the Van Gogh Museum
(don't miss it). If you want to take a nap during the day you may be bothered by the school children who play outside the window all day long. The family who runs the place is very
pleasant and helpful, but overall I wouldn't go back again.
Be sure to buy the city transit card and use tram #2 to get there from the central station.
The trams are great; just tap your card on the circle when you go in and also when you
exit.

Room Tip: Lower floor if you plan to walk the stairs, but not the room in the basement which is small and dar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

You will not find a better place to rest your weary head after a fun-filled day in Amsterdam than the Hotel Fita. The positive experience for our group of three couples began with the email reservation and follow-up exchanges. The Fita family team - Roel, Martijn, Ria and Queenie - promptly and helpfully responded to every inquiry (e.g. how to arrrange a Keukenhof Tulip Festival visit and making restaurant reservations). When we arrived early following a transatlantic cruise, Roel stored our luggage (and later moved the 12 pieces to our respective rooms) and sent us off for the final day of the magnificant Tulip Festival. When we returned, our well-appointed rooms were ready. Barbara and I stayed in #22, an oversize room by European standards, with two windows and a small balcony overlooking Jan Luykenstratt, and a large bathroom with a terrific (and powerful) shower. The in-room expresso machine provided us with a wake-up kick before we headed down for a well above average breakfast served in a pleasant airy room. The full meal includes fresh cooked eggs and bacon (as well as cold cereal), home baked rolls and other breads (with incredible homemade jam that cannot be missed!), an assortment of fruit and cheese, and the most delicious "pancakes" prepared individually. Our group missed breakfast one morning because we had to catch an early train to Den Hague to attend a session of the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia. When the Fita Team learned this, they prepared a "picnic breakfast" for us (fruit, bread, cheese, tomato and cucumber slices, and jam) to eat on the train!

Hotel Fita, an attractive mutli-story corner bulding built in 1902, according to a lovely large tile mural on the exterior of the hotel, is in a perfect location for Amsterdam visitors. In the heart of the museum district, the hotel is two blocks from the Van Gogh and the Ruiksmuseum, a short walk to canal tours, Vondel Park, and several fine restaurants (including Sama Sebo, a great Indonesian "rijstaffel" or rice table restaurant, and Bouf, across from the Concertgebouw with al fresco dining and frequented by locals). The hotel also is two blocks from stops for trams 2 and 5 (to Central Station and key sightseeing areas like the Western Canal neighborhood); tram 17 to South Station; and bus 197 to Schiphol Airport.

Our experienced traveling group gives Hotel Fita and its terrific hosts a solid five stars! We'll return on our next visit to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Number 22 is terrific; 32 is comparable; 26 is smaller but certainly adequate. No AC but powerful f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Hotel Fita was the best stay of our trip to The Netherlands and Belgium - 3 hotels, 2 B&Bs and a river cruise. It topped them all. Martjin and Roel (and family) were the #1 reason -- so personable and helpful and welcoming that we felt at home from the moment we arrived. The room was great with a fine bed. We chose Fita because of the TripAdvisor comments and the fact that they have an elevator (a life saver at the end of a 20 hour trip when we were exhausted). Note that there are steps from the sidewalk to the lobby as was usual wherever we went on the trip. Their newly redone dining room was beautiful (mom did the Easter decorations) and the food was terrific. Don't miss the famous homemade pancakes (yes, they are as good as the reviews say) and lots of other goodies. We had a front room (22) with the little balcony. We enjoyed seeing the school children (you can hear them but remember that they do go home) and the neighborhood was so convenient and felt very safe. We walked easily to the museums and canals and shops and restaurants and we aren't walkers. Roel recommended a nearby deli for a quick lunch (Renzo's Deli-great selections) and a nearby restaurant for dinner (Boef - loved it). We really enjoyed both so we returned to them for second meals as well as trying out others on our wanderings. Martjin (see him in the dining room photo) and Roel are very professional and helpful and friendly and the hotel is kept to high standards. They were very responsive to our inquiry and questions when booking. They were even able to accommodate us shortly after our morning arrival. They will be the ONLY place we stay when we return to Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Let them know when you book what is important to you - room size, balcony & windows, quiet, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.