We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed for one night in February, and it was absolutely perfect. There are a vast number of ways to reach the hotel from the airport, including bus, train, and shuttle. I opted for the shuttle and had an easy ride to the hotel and back to the airport the next day. Once I reached the hotel, I felt very welcomed by the friendly staff. The clerk even drew on a map to show me a good walking path to see different parts of the city, since I only had one day. The hotel is in close proximity to many of the museums as well as some great shopping and restaurants. The room itself was quite comfortable, especially for the price. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: There are two schools / parks adjacent to the hotel, so if you plan to sleep during the day to recov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    297
    44
    20
    8
See reviews for
194
589
114
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Well, I was little unlucky - asked for an early check-in, which was unavailable, but according to Hotel Fina, Hotels.com never relayed the message to me...first up, the doors from the outside don't open automatically and the reception desk isn't staffed permanently; I find that uninviting, despite the fact that the bloke who showed up was a delightful man, full of useful tips etc. The room I was in overlooked a school yard, so it was noisy enough from early on and hard to work with the playground in full swing during the day. The room itself was fine - big, in fairness to it, complete with iron, tea & coffee making facilities and FREE WIFI, but the shower was just too fierce pressure-wise; the sockets available are not work-friendly in terms of where they are placed and the TV stations available are limited. But I suppose the most disappointing aspect for me is that the two single beds pushed together were small and I just didn't / couldn't get a good night's sleep. One of the in-built bedside tables is head height and I ended up banging my head of that for good measure! Look, its location is fantastic, staff are lovely, but Amsterdam is relatively cheap in my experience and for E135 - E140 per night, I expected better...

Room Tip: Avoid overlooking the school..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed three nights in Hotel Fita.
Wish I had read more reviews before travelling as got train from to Central Station then (expensive) taxi to hotel - should have got Bus 197 to Rijksmuseum-stops at end of the street in which hotel is located.
Very friendly, warm welcome. Large, bright and airy room (Room 34). Large bathroom with excellent shower. Good breakfast (and the pancakes are as good as every other reviewer has mentioned!)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartres, Centre, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

We enjoy the stay a lot. Hotel is located in museum district so very close to city center.
Nice and warm welcome. As many advices as needed, on a city map given to you when check-in...they could make restaurant reservation for you if needed.
The breakfast is wonderfull (you should try the pancakes!)
Bedroom are cosy and very clean. They even had expresso machine inside.
A trust bar in the reception.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

The most friendly hotel we've stayed in. Great team of people and a good location. A short walk to the centre and a shorter walk to the Van Gogh museum.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed five days at the Fita Hotel--the location could not be better for the Van Gogh Museum (allow yourself most of a day) and the Rijksmuseum. Two tram lines which can take you direct to the Dam, the flower market, or the train station are only a block away. We got helpful suggestions from the staff about nearby restaurants and had very good breakfasts. And there is a economical shuttle service from the airport that can be easily arranged.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We arrived in Amsterdam at 6am, when it was -17 degrees. Fortunately our room was available when we got to the hotel at 8am, and we could check in, add a few more layers of clothes and start to explore the city. As others have said, it is close to the tram, the musuems and the direct bus to the airport. The coffee machine in the room was a nice extra touch. Breakfast was good, with the crepe being a highlight. Martijn was very helpful and we could buy tickets to the museums so we did not have to queue in the cold. A wonderful start to our European holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.