We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint & Homey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Abbotsford, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Quaint & Homey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I came to Amsterdam on Dec. 27th and stayed 2 nights with Hotel Fita. We were impressed with the welcome email before we even left home, our welcome when we got there and the lovely thank you email when we got back home! Roel was our first impression of the hotel and couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. He gave us many ideas of where to go and what to see. Our room was immaculate and quaint. The breakfasts on both mornings were delicious and there were plenty of choices of what to have including amazing homemade pannekoek! The location is perfect to get to the canals, the museums, the transit... Roel's brother (sorry can't remember his name..) was also lovely when he waited on us in the breakfast room and super friendly, as was the young woman. It was a wonderful stay and everything was clean and comfortable and we would recommend a stay here to anyone.

Room Tip: suggest not staying at the front of the building due to noise from dwelling next door; obviously not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    289
    43
    20
    8
See reviews for
190
577
114
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

Thank you to Roel for making us feel very welcome. This stay was the second time in Amsterdam and Hotel Fita wasn't open the first time we came. Roel was very happy to help us with all questions we had. We stayed here for five nights over the new years period and felt very safe walking the streets at night. This hotel is close to van gough museum. Easy walk to vondelpark. Overall, Amsterdam is for now my favourite city in the world!

Thanks Roel for making this stay enjoyable this time around, we will be back again to stay here

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

The Hotel Fita was an absolutely wonderful place to stay.
My father and I were only in Amsterdam for two nights, but the staff of the hotel Fita made certain our stay was as pleasant as possible.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The first thing they do when you arrive at the hotel is to make sure you know where all the best restaurants and attractions are.
They are very attentive, and helpful, and include a free homemade breakfast in the half basement, which is a pleasant sunny room.
Location was wonderful too. Not far from the central train station, and literally a block away from the Van Gogh museum.
We highly recommend the Hotel Fita to anyone going to Amsterdam.
We will most certainly be returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edisto Island, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

My stay at Hotel Fita was a very pleasant experience for me. The hotel is located in an unusually quiet section of a bustling city. The staff was exceptionally helpful in every aspect of providing me a delightful hotel experience, I was given very useful and accurate travel advice. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was awesome. I was sorry to leave this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

We were in Amsterdam right after Thanksgiving. Hotel Fita was a great find! Reasonably priced and a wonderful location - it's about a block from the Van Gogh Museum and the tram and bus stops. The rooms were quite large by European standards and very nicely furnished. The property was very quiet (no traffic noise), immaculate, and the price included a wonderful breakfast daily. It is family owned and they couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. We definitely are recommending this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Fl
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

There are lots of hotel alternatives in all price ranges in Amsterdam, but it would be hard to beat the Hotel Fita – it was just perfect for us. Of course what’s perfect for one would be not necessarily be so for others. So, here is what made it “perfect” for us:

Small and friendly – from our initial check in through our last breakfast, we always received a warm and friendly welcome.

Location – we walked everywhere, except the one day we needed to be at the train station to catch an 8:41 AM departure when they called a taxi for us. The hotel is around the corner from the Van Gogh Museum and a few blocks from the Rijksmuseum. If we had wanted to take a tram, they were just around the corner. Our rooms faced the front of the hotel and had small balconies. There is little car and pedestrian traffic in the evenings. There is a schoolyard across the street but we were not in the hotel during the times the kids were out playing, so whatever noise there might have been wasn’t an issue for us.

Room size – we and our friends had rooms 32 and 22, double room type A and both were spacious and large enough to have an afternoon happy hour sitting in chairs around a coffee table with our friends.

Bathroom – clean, modern, large bathroom with a shower with good pressure and plenty of hot water

Honor bar – reasonably priced snacks and drinks were available, which made it convenient since we didn’t always stop off at a market to get snacks to go with the liquor we had purchased in the duty free shop at the airport.

Free wireless internet – we really don’t like being nickled & dimed with extras, so we appreciated that it was included in the room rate.

Yummy breakfasts – warm hospitality extended into the breakfast room, where upon entry we were offered fresh brewed coffee or tea. They remembered from one day to the next our preferences for milk or cream, as an example. On the breakfast buffet were fresh croissants and rolls, cheese, yogurt, cereals, fresh fruit, tomatoes, cucumbers, scrambled eggs & crispy bacon, juices. We looked forward to the apple pancakes which were a real treat.

Helpfulness – from the requests for information prior to making our reservation and their prompt response to their suggestions for restaurants and making dinner reservations Roel, Martign and the Fita team were great.

Overall, it is an excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I travel alone, am not a brave traveler, but love to travel and want to be close to the things I want to do...just in case I don't feel comfortable or am tired. This hotel was very good for me for a number of reasons: 1. warm friendly service that made me feel comfortable, 2. safe convenient location, 3.price, it's a great value. The owner gave me a map and mapped out everything I wanted to do...and he did it with a warm friendly smile and accurate information. He even gave me a good Thai Restaurant rec. For this trip, I wanted to go to the Rijksmuseum to see Rembrandt's work as well as the Van Gogh Museum. I only had one day in town. Both museums are right around the corner (2-5 min) as is the tram and bus service if you want to go further. Within a 5 minute walk was the canal tour and right around the corner was a bunch of great shopping. So it's all about location here. My room was quiet but had a poor view. This didn't matter to me as I didn't stay in this hotel for the view but instead for the wonderful location and super friendly staff. The breakfast was great. I think this is an excellent value

Room Tip: The single room is very small but just fine for just me. The wifi worked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.