We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice experience at the Fita” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fita to your Saves list
Hotel Fita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
london uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“very nice experience at the Fita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

I spent the last 2 nights at the Fita Hotel.It was a very warm and pleasant experience.The owner knew I was in Amsterdam to work, and that I worked at night and needed sleep in the mornings.He gave me a quiet room which was very comfortable, with a big new bathroom including a huge tub to soak in. I was able to rest very well at the Fita. I also appreciated the free phone calls to Europe and the US.The only thing was that I missed breakfast, which ended at 9 30( 10 at week-ends), but that's just a minor quibble in otherwise a thoroughly relaxing stay.

  • Liked — size of room and quality of welcome
  • Disliked — breakfast ended too early on week-days
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    292
    43
    20
    8
See reviews for
191
581
114
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

We were 4 Aussie couples who were spending the last few days of a five week holiday in Amsterdam. We were delighted with our choice of Hotel Fita. On arrival the owner Hans greeted us with some peach cider and nibbles. A very nice touch. The hotel was in a quiet location,yet handy to trams & museums. Our romms were clean, and spacious with a large bathroom , an ironing board & iron, tea & coffee making facilities , writing desk, and two comfy chairs. Everything a traveller could want. Breakfasts were good, fresh orangeg juice, fruit, cereal, cheeses, toast, and cooked breakfast. Hans was only too happy to give advice on what to do and where to go and our group were very happy with his individual recommendations. Four of us had a late flight home and for an extra fee were were able to secure a room for a late check out. We were given fresh towells, making the prospect of our long haul home to Australia easier.
Only imporvementI could suggest: Australians do not like powdered milk in the tea. Fresh is best!

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales, uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

Forgot to do this review but just got back from another city break in Paris so here goes...Lovely hotel, lovely staff, fizzy wine on arrival, had a ground level room which was strange (watching peoples feet usually is!!) but very clean and respectable. Cracking breakfast. Its in a nice quiet location and please walk around the corner to the van goch museum and take an audio tour, its fab!

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2007

My husband and I just returned from a three week vacation in Europe and had the pleasure of staying one week at the wonderful Hotel Fita in Amsterdam. Upon our arrival we were offered a welcome drink from the owner himself, Hans, who is a very funny and entertaining fellow. This hotel is in a beautiful location, close to all the museums and within walking distance to everything. They also sell tickets to most museums at a discount. The staff is very friendly and helpful with any questions or recommendations to make your stay in Amsterdam very pleasant. The hotel offers free internet and phone calls (just do not take advantage) and a very nice buffet breakfast. Most hotel rooms in Europe are very small, but we had a nice size medium double room, large bathroom, small balcony, overall very comfortable. We absolutely loved the Hotel Fita in Amsterdam and will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Amsterdam. We have been to Amsterdam on several occasions and I must say the Hotel Fita is the best hotel we have visited.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

My wife and I found the Hotel Fita to be excellent. A very warm welcome and personal service from a charming host/owner. The hotel is ideally situated for the major museums and concert hall.
The hotel was spotlessly clean and the rates were reasonable.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Lack of space for storing unpacked clothes
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2007

My husband and I only had the pleasure of staying at this nice hotel for one night, but we are glad we did. Currently living in the UK but originally from Baltimore, Maryland, USA we are always looking for a nice sized hotel room, but rarely find one because the standard European hotels are much smaller then hotels in the US. However, when we walked into our Double Medium room at Hotel Fita we were pleasantly surprised. It was a very nice size with a big bathroom and even a small balcony. Our room was spotlessly clean and included tea and coffee making facilities. We did not receive a welcome drink as stated in other reviews, but the breakfast was very good. The morning we were there they were serving some sort of meatballs and beans for breakfast which I thought was odd at first, but they were delicious! The staff was very friendly and Hans, the owner, is funny and entertaining. They are also very helpful when it comes to directions or suggestions for dining. They sell Van Gogh Museum tickets at 20% off the regular price right at the hotel. An added bonus is that they will hold your luggage for you after you check out if you are not leaving town right away. Hotel Fita is located on a quite street within walking distance to many attractions. It's also very convenient to the Tram lines. We plan to stay here again on our next trip to Amsterdam.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, large clean rooms, great location.
  • Disliked — Very steep steps leading upstairs, but there is a small lift.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

After reading the reviews, I was excited about my upcoming visit to Amsterdam. Yes the hotel is run by super friendly people, yes the breakfast is good, yes the free internet and phone calls are definitely a perk, yes the free laundry is a luxury and the location to a couple of trams is great. The only thing I would say is that the room felt a bit that for a family run hotel, there could be a little more charm and or character. The bathrooms (large in size) have soap dispensers on the wall, same with the shower. There is no shampoo provided which I was prepared for but it would have been a nice touch. We were in a room on the bottom floor which faced a school. This wasn't a problem because we were out site seeing when school let out but it was a concern at first. Don't get me wrong, I have traveled extensively so I know what is out there. I guess it was just a little hyped up. Overall is was a good hotel and we got a great deal. It's just hard because we came from such a charming B&B in Brugge that I can't help but compare.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fita

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 37, 1071 CL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fita 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fita Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.