We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Basic and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Owl Hotel

Save Saved
You added Owl Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Owl Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
england
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good Basic and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

This hotel is in a good location and yet away from noise. It is a small, basic hotel and we have stayed in it several times and can not find fault with anything.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    178
    38
    10
    4
See reviews for
61
131
47
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
634 helpful votes 634 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

In a great location just off the Leidseplein,this is a great hotel for a sightseeing stay in Amsterdam.The very friendly & helpful reception staff are the first plus.The room was another.Clean,bright & big enough with comfortable furniture,i had no problems with noise even though my room was located at the front of the hotel,directly over the street.Tv was located out of harms way,high on the wall at the foot of the bed.No minibar or coffee/tea making facilities though & the room temperature was a little bit on the cool side.Bathroom was a decent size with a great pressure shower,hairdryer etc but there could have been another towel or two.Breakfast was good with plenty of choice & the reception area was a great place to chill with comfortable sofas looking out into the hotel garden & the small hotel bar located adjacent.The buzzer controlled front doors added a sense of safety & security to the hotel.
Location wise the hotel was in a perfect place.Less than 5 minutes walk to Leidseplein,about 10 minutes to Jordaan,a little over 15 minutes to Ann Frank Huis & 20+ minutes to Dam square & Madame Tussauds.Vondelpark was about 5 minutes walk,Rijksmuseum less than 10 minutes & the Heineken brewery about 15 minutes walk away.On the only occasion that we didn't walk,we used the watertaxi from Leidseplein to Centraal station,a great relaxed way to see the city.
Close by bars included the excellent Bourbon Street Blues Club,The Hard Rock Cafe & Irish pubs,The Aran,Murphy's & The Hoopman,none of which were anything special but all of them were in good locations to use as meeting points.Just off the Leidseplein,we tried the Sette Bello Italian pizza restaurant on one night.After waiting for more than 45 minutes for our pizzas to arrive,atleast they tasted fairly good but the one memory that i take from the place was the absolute stench from the upstairs toilets.If you do find yourself in that restaurant,use somewhere else's toilets,they really were that foul.
& will we be back to the Owl Hotel?
We've already booked for next march.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Great, hotel, great location, great staff. The room was perfect, large and clean. Breakfast was plentiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful in directing us, and also arranging taxi's etc. The location is great near plenty of bars and restaurants, and also walking distance to all major attractions. Recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

My daughter and I stayed at the Owl Hotel for two nights in February 2010. It was very easy to get to from the airport; we took bus 197 to Leidseplein, which is in the center of Amsterdam, and walked to the hotel from there - it was five minutes away. We also took the bus back to the airport when we left. When we arrived at the hotel, the very friendly owner (Peter) checked us in and gave us advice about where to go to for dinner (The Pancake Bakery near the Ann Frank House - it was terrific).

The room was small, which isn't unusual for a European hotel, but it was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast had many choices and there was a machine that made hot drinks.

The hotel is very near the museum area and great shopping. We walked every where, but there are a few trams that stop at the Leidesplan, so we could have taken the tram.

I recommend this hotel highly for your next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, VT
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

Very impressed with this little hotel. Great location, very friendly/helpful staff, nice continental breakfast, very clean. Small, but for the price, fantastic value. I would stay again in a second.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights with my partner. Chose the hotel due to previous TA reviews. Was not disappointed. The hotel is pretty basic but for the price it offers good value and a short walk to the museums and Leidseplein from where it is then a 10 minute walk to most places of interest in the City.

Breakfast is fine if you don't want a fry up ( being a veggie no problem). Toast, cheese, cold meats, cereal, fruit, yoghurt etc. Coffee is excellent.

No negatives to report. Will stay there again on a return trip.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

This hotel is exactly what you want when visiting Amsterdam. It sits in the heart of the city and is within walking distance of many of the city's great attractions. The accomodations are nice and the staff are very helpful.

Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Owl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owl Hotel

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Owl Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Owl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.