We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owl my favorite in Amsterdam!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Owl Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Owl Hotel to your Saves list
Owl Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Owl my favorite in Amsterdam!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

New management, same ol' Owl. Sweet location on quiet street near museums, tasty breakfast served late, lovely garden, excellent multi-lingual staff and clean, cosy rooms. Front desk got me e-tickets for Rijksmuseum to skip line. Thanks Owl!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    206
    51
    11
    6
See reviews for
68
153
55
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gympie, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed here at the end of June and found this to be a good hotel and as we asked for a quiet room were given one overlooking the patio and garden. While not luxurious, this was a well run family hotel within walking distance of good restaurants - ask about the Indonesian restaurant and also the Italian a short walk away. The bed was comfortable and although the room was not airconditioned (not many older Europen hotels are) the open window provided plenty of air. The room was not large, but very clean with an adequate bathroom. Very pleasant helpful owners and staff. Breakfast was of a good standard. The location is great for going to museums but needs a taxi ride to and from the railway station. Perhaps some of the poor reviews were from people not used to staying in small European hotels. This is very good value for money in a very expensive city.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for one overlooking the back garden a couple of floors up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Writing this review in the hotel right now actually. Well lets start with the positive: the location is the best. That's it.
Okay, now with the negatives:
1) room has certain flaws. The bathroom is really small PLUS the lock doesn't work. So you hold the door all the way in this tiny room.
The beds are really uncomfortable. The pillows and mattresses are of poor quality.
Overall The room is really small and has no fridge!
2) breakfast is so not worth 10 euros! Only the basics (eggs, milk, cheese etc) are provided. No omlete, no fried eggs, no pancakes, waffles etc.
3) staff is friendly, except for a few. Say, one woman with an arrogant attitude behaving badly and *just wanting you to get out*.

Overall, its not worth staying for the enormous amount you're paying. I hope this helps.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

The features of this hotel are really completely black and white.

Let's start with the positive. Location is excellent. A quiet area yet very close to the most famous museums and canal tours and just a 20 minutes stroll to city center. You even have the streets with all the high end brands only 5 minutes away. Perfect actually.
The staff is extremely friendly. They go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and the genuinely felt bad over a mishap we had caused by a third party supplier. Almost like a family feeling which is rarely seen in Northern Europe. Big plus.

The rooms however are very different and it is really a big problem that there is no aircon in the summer. We had two rooms on the top floor. One had a nice bathroom and big windows which we has to have open all night to survive the heat. The other room however had the washing place next to the bed and only a small toilet/shower. The windows were also small and impossible to get a decent airflow. In other words, two of us were satisfied while the other two had two horrible nights with very little sleep because of the heat (and can you then believe that there was a supplier fixing the window - which as mentioned was open - already before 8am giving the ladies a real scare).

Finally want to mention the breakfast. Very simple but it had all the things you need to survive. The kids were at least happy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

To begin on a positive note, the hotel is in a good location for the main museums and galleries, is of smart external appearance and has reasonable public rooms and pleasant small garden. The breakfast was adequate, but no more. However our bedroom was shabby and the lack of air conditioning on a hot summer's night at the top of this tall building, meant we had to sleep with all windows and curtains wide open, vulnerable to the local mosquito population and exposed to light and noise. There was a small fan provided, but this simply circulated very warm air. The TV was rather oddly located at ceiling level, immediately above the main window, meaning that curtains had to be closed to see it clearly and the rather small room safe (too small for a lap top or similar) was fixed at floor level, so to access it, meant lying flat on the floor. The double bed was in fact two singles, pushed together, but not fixed - not over conducive to romantic activity! Shampoo was not provided automatically, initially told to go and buy our own , but later some was provided. The room was clean.

Room Tip: In warm weather the upper floors of this hotel are uncomfortably hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atsugi, Japan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

this hotel is located in a quiet area and close to vondel park, musiums, etc. right behind hotel mariott. I like this area. everytime I visit here, friendly staff welcome and they are very nice and kind. include breakfast and valuable. rooms are clean and i think its average in europe.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 198 cities Reviews in 198 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I enjoyed my two-night stay at this hotel. Personnel were very friendly and helpful, the location was ideal - on a quiet street, but just a five-minute walk to a tram stop, the Rijksmuseum, or the 197 bus to/from the airport. One can relax on a rear patio; and a fine full breakfast is included in the room price. My room was compact but comfortable and reasonably quiet - although the lack of air-conditioning means that you may have to leave the window open; and since Amsterdam is a fairly noisy city, you may hear alcohol-fueled revelry at most any hour of the night, even from a rear-facing room. Overall, however, this hotel was just what I was looking for as basis for a brief sight-seeing visit to this city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Owl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owl Hotel

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Owl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Owl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.