We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - shabby room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Owl Hotel

Save Saved
You added Owl Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Owl Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good location - shabby room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

To begin on a positive note, the hotel is in a good location for the main museums and galleries, is of smart external appearance and has reasonable public rooms and pleasant small garden. The breakfast was adequate, but no more. However our bedroom was shabby and the lack of air conditioning on a hot summer's night at the top of this tall building, meant we had to sleep with all windows and curtains wide open, vulnerable to the local mosquito population and exposed to light and noise. There was a small fan provided, but this simply circulated very warm air. The TV was rather oddly located at ceiling level, immediately above the main window, meaning that curtains had to be closed to see it clearly and the rather small room safe (too small for a lap top or similar) was fixed at floor level, so to access it, meant lying flat on the floor. The double bed was in fact two singles, pushed together, but not fixed - not over conducive to romantic activity! Shampoo was not provided automatically, initially told to go and buy our own , but later some was provided. The room was clean.

Room Tip: In warm weather the upper floors of this hotel are uncomfortably hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    178
    38
    10
    4
See reviews for
61
131
47
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atsugi, Japan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this hotel is located in a quiet area and close to vondel park, musiums, etc. right behind hotel mariott. I like this area. everytime I visit here, friendly staff welcome and they are very nice and kind. include breakfast and valuable. rooms are clean and i think its average in europe.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
130 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I enjoyed my two-night stay at this hotel. Personnel were very friendly and helpful, the location was ideal - on a quiet street, but just a five-minute walk to a tram stop, the Rijksmuseum, or the 197 bus to/from the airport. One can relax on a rear patio; and a fine full breakfast is included in the room price. My room was compact but comfortable and reasonably quiet - although the lack of air-conditioning means that you may have to leave the window open; and since Amsterdam is a fairly noisy city, you may hear alcohol-fueled revelry at most any hour of the night, even from a rear-facing room. Overall, however, this hotel was just what I was looking for as basis for a brief sight-seeing visit to this city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed two nights during a short visit to Amsterdam. The Owl Hotel is a very well family run hotel. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made most welcome. The rooms were spotlessly clean if somewhat basically furnished. We slept well except for one early call when sirens could be heard rushing into our street. On pulling the curtains back a fireman atop a high ladder passed me by less than a yard away! The house four doors down was ablaze! Gui assured me this was not part of the hotel's entertainment just a one-off event!
The lounge bar next to reception was a great place for a very reasonably priced gin and tonic before venturing out to our restaurants; talking of which do try Willems Restaurant in a street called Willemsparkweg just across the park from The Owl - really outstanding mid priced food.
Breakfasts were plentiful and tasty in a typically continental way. Once again service from the young breakfast waitress was attentive and cheerful.
Within 5 minutes walk trams, buses and water taxis can be caught to all parts of Amsterdam and we used the 'Hop-on-hop-off' canal boats to get around. The bus to and from the airport leaves from there too and costs about 7 euros each way so there is no need to take expensive airport transfers.
Hotels in Amsterdam seem pretty expensive however The Owl is well priced and a great place to stay while exploring the city. It was everything we hoped for and more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed here for three nights while visiting Amsterdam. The staff is wonderful; the hotel is clean and very comfortable. There is a small elevator and a lovely lounge area. The rooms aren't overly large but are comfortable. Very convenient location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonbie
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

A small, family-run hotel just a ten minute walk from the Rijksmuseum and van Gough Museum, very convenient for canal boat, tram and bus travel, and a 50 euro taxi ride from Schipholl airport.

Stairs are very steep, as in most old Amsterdam houses, but there is an efficient lift. No evening meals served, but many restaurant within easy walking distance.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. Doors open from the lounge on to a small patio area surrounded by tall trees, frequented by jays and parakeets (which can be relied on to give you an early morning wake-up call!). I cannot recommend this hotel too strongly. Brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights as a group visiting Amsterdam. Michelle and her husband Gui who run the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean and comfortable and quiet. There is a pleasant bar/ lounge area where our group was able to gather at the end of the day.
The breakfast is a typical Dutch continental breakfast and is fine.
The location is excellent. Nearby is the Vondelpark, lots of eating places of good quality and the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh and modern art museums are just a pleasant stroll away. For further afield there are tram, bus and canal bus stops nearby.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Owl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owl Hotel

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Owl Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Owl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.