We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for culture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Owl Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Owl Hotel to your Saves list
Owl Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Greenock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great location for culture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The hotel was perfectly situated for the museums and the Concertgebouw - all within easy walking distance. A short walk to tram stops for all other attractions.
Room was comfortable though soundproofing between the rooms would help. Excellent breakfast. Staff could not have been more helpful. Glad we chose to stay at the Owl.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    193
    48
    11
    6
See reviews for
68
142
54
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forres, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Just back from a lovely long weekend in Amsterdam for my husband's 65th birthday. This was our second stay at Owl Hotel. The location is perfect and the new owners are just lovely. We were pleased to have the chance to speak to Pieter who has recently retired from the hotel. Let's hope he has a lovely long and happy retirement!

We would always recommend this hotel as it is so central for all amenities.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Spent 4 nights here. Good value for money. The hotel is in a very nice area and close to the centre of the city with easy access to transport, restaurants and places of interest. The hotel was clean, the continental breakfast more than adequate and the staff exceptional. Michelle deserves a special mention as she went out of her way to assist in any way she could.

The only thing I did not like was the cat ! Not this cat particularly but I do not like cats at all. However, I suppose the hotel being called The Owl I should have expected a pussy car. Apart from that everything was good and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My grandmother lost a personal belonging (with her name and number on) at the railway station in Switzerland and a couple on their way to Amsterdam found it. The couple stayed at the Owl Hotel in Amsterdam and called my grandmother from there. The Owl Hotel was so kind and sent it back from Netherlands to Switzerland. My grandmother got so happy. That I call great service! To help people that don't even stay in your hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed in Owl Hotel for 3 nights in December 2013. Good choice for budget accommodation. Very neat hotel, continental breakfast included in rate. Free WIFI. Comfortable beds. Conveniently near bus stop - we took bus 197 from and to the airport at only E4 per single ticket. Near Leidseplein with lots of restaurants to choose from. Can recommend Ranchas steakhouse on the square - best ribs ever!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The Owl Hotel is tucked away on a quiet street in Amsterdam. It is walking distance to the museums, the shopping district and the canals. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very nice, with comfortable beds and a medium-sized bathroom. Everything worked, and the water was hot. The breakfast (included) was much more than the usual "Continental breakfast" in US hotels -- almost a restaurant, with many delicious choices of hot and cold meals. The price was good -- a good value all around!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Owl is a decent little hotel tucked back on a quiet street. The staff was extremely friendly and overall, the place was clean and well maintained. The rooms are a little dated but nothing that would prevent me from recommending it. The breakfast was good. Better than what is found in most US hotels as a "free" breakfast.

The front desk was always helpful with directions and suggestions for getting there. There is a KLM shuttle that will drop you off there from the Airport. I suspect you could jump on the Marriott shuttle too as that property is in front of this one.

We had easy access to the tram and were easy walking distance to great restaurants and food options.

My only complaint is the wifi only connects you for a few minutes at a time so you have to constantly re-authenticate to it. Annoying but not a disastrous.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Owl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owl Hotel

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Owl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Owl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.