We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small room, handy location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Owl Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Owl Hotel to your Saves list
Owl Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Melbourne
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“small room, handy location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A good hotel in a great location in Amsterdam. Free parking in the street & very close to the tram & only a short stroll (20 min ) walk into the heart of Amsterdam.
We found the room clean but very small & the towels were thread bare. Breakfast was plentiful and in a lovely dining room with a pleasant out look. All the staff were extremenly friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    242
    59
    12
    7
See reviews for
81
176
67
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delmar, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

For our first trip to Amsterdam, the Owl Hotel was the perfect place to stay. The rooms are charming, clean, and comfortable. The garden behind the hotel is beautiful, and the perfect place to sit with a drink or a cup of coffee. The staff members are welcoming and helpful. The location is within walking distance of museums, restaurants, and shops.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol Cyprus
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I chose this hotel because it is very close to the Rijksmuseum, the Stedelijk and the Van Gogh Museum, just a few minutes walk away. I was also pleased to find The Hard Rock Cafe and many good restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. The hotel itself is just around a corner from a main road, I felt safe, it is in a quiet area, very clean and the staff are very helpful. The breakfast was good, the bar quiet, the garden very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I have been staying at this hotel since 1982 and I have just returned from what is at least my 7th stay at this hotel. It is simple and basic but I love it because it is small and personal and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I also like the location which is within easy reach of all the major attractions and yet it is in a quiet street. My only criticism would be the breakfasts - they do lack imagination but they are adequate. And if you are a cat lover then Disney is always willing to receive attention.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Not much had changed after 7 years, the staff was still as friendly and helpful as before, room old but clean, bathroom shower leaked and flooded the floor...however everything charming. Location is the big plus point, being able to walk to Leidseplein, as well as the newly opened Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum. The breakfast buffet was adequate, tasty and included in the price, which is a big saving in expensive Europe. Would come here again and again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Amsterdam is an incredibly overpriced city. And accommodations are often comparatively tattered and worn. That is just the fact. I say this because the rates at the Owl are not bad relatively speaking.

The neighborhood is great, and yes, in a really nice section of town. The street you are on is cosy and quiet, and extremely well situated to transportation to get to all the tourist sights, and to the RAI conference center if you are staying there on business. The nearby park is well known and well used, and well worth going there for walks if you have the time.

Do get a larger room, even if you are a single traveler. And ask for one that overlooks the garden in the back. My was comfortable and the facilities in it were fine.

I imagine, yes, the place is small and could be noisy if guests in adjoining rooms are unduly loud. Though that wasn't my experience, thankfully. While I was there, the patrons all seemed to be considerate, and I would have had no hesitation to complain to them and/or the staff at the desk if they weren't. It's that kind of place: not like a B&B but neither is it like a disinterested, uninvolved hotel, of which there are many in Amsterdam.

The sitting room is attractive and opens up into the garden, and they serve liquor from a little bar next to the reservation desk. I see what some reviewers are complaining about regarding the breakfast. It is somewhat on the sparse side. But then again, IMO, it is more than passable and worked for me.

If I traveled often to Amsterdam, I would consider making this my first option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We traveled with our 15 and 13 year old and had a fabulous time! The owners are so friendly and helpful, and were very accommodating to us! The stairway is steep and spiral, but adds to the charm! The breakfast was pleasant, and we thoroughly enjoyed cocktails on the patio!

The location was perfect for our family...convenient for walking the city, but a bit removed so quieter at night. Had a fabulous stay and will definitely return when/if we visit Amsterdam again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back overlooking the patio :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#144 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#86 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#179 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Vondelpark
Hotel Apple Inn
Hotel Apple Inn
#91 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owl Hotel

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Owl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Owl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.