We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just adding my two cents...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Owl Hotel

Save Saved
You added Owl Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Owl Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
New York City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Just adding my two cents...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Amsterdam is an incredibly overpriced city. And accommodations are often comparatively tattered and worn. That is just the fact. I say this because the rates at the Owl are not bad relatively speaking.

The neighborhood is great, and yes, in a really nice section of town. The street you are on is cosy and quiet, and extremely well situated to transportation to get to all the tourist sights, and to the RAI conference center if you are staying there on business. The nearby park is well known and well used, and well worth going there for walks if you have the time.

Do get a larger room, even if you are a single traveler. And ask for one that overlooks the garden in the back. My was comfortable and the facilities in it were fine.

I imagine, yes, the place is small and could be noisy if guests in adjoining rooms are unduly loud. Though that wasn't my experience, thankfully. While I was there, the patrons all seemed to be considerate, and I would have had no hesitation to complain to them and/or the staff at the desk if they weren't. It's that kind of place: not like a B&B but neither is it like a disinterested, uninvolved hotel, of which there are many in Amsterdam.

The sitting room is attractive and opens up into the garden, and they serve liquor from a little bar next to the reservation desk. I see what some reviewers are complaining about regarding the breakfast. It is somewhat on the sparse side. But then again, IMO, it is more than passable and worked for me.

If I traveled often to Amsterdam, I would consider making this my first option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    179
    41
    10
    5
See reviews for
64
132
47
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We traveled with our 15 and 13 year old and had a fabulous time! The owners are so friendly and helpful, and were very accommodating to us! The stairway is steep and spiral, but adds to the charm! The breakfast was pleasant, and we thoroughly enjoyed cocktails on the patio!

The location was perfect for our family...convenient for walking the city, but a bit removed so quieter at night. Had a fabulous stay and will definitely return when/if we visit Amsterdam again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back overlooking the patio :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talent, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Owl has a very friendly staff and is situated in a beautiful part of Amsterdam - a short walk from the best museums and park. Unfortunately, the rooms were not thrilling, though clean and fairly quiet. The breakfast was disappointing and not worthwhile - most of the food came from a can or a box, coffee from a machine that added hot water to a powder mix. After being in similar hotels all over the UK (the Cottwolds and York) as well as Belgum (Bruges) this was the exception in what we experienced.

Room Tip: second floor back was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathmont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel a few days ago and it was possibly the most overpriced hotel we have ever stayed at. The rooms were very old and the carpets were stained. The bed appeared to have been cleaned poorly because it had other people's hair on the sheets.

We the customer service of the front desk was either really good or really bad depending on who was working.. One of the guys appeared to have no idea where to even catch the bus to the airport from. I am really not sure how this place got such a good rating..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

The service here was excellent but sadly the hotel was poor value for money. The walls were paper thin which meant when the Aussies in the neighbouring room got their 6am phone call from the family back home we got to here every word... 2 days in a row. They then stayed in bed chatting post call to 8am which equated to us getting very little sleep, obviously not their fault, the fault of the paper walls and us staying up late. The fire alarm on sunday morning at 6.30am thanks to the smoker in the room was also not ideal. We left amsterdam exhausted and instead of pre dinner birthday drinks on saturday night we needed a pre dinner nap.

The service was super friendly and Disney the hotel cat was also friendly.

The room reminded me of halls of residence. The breakfast was very basic and the coffee was the worst coffee I have ever drunk, it was undrinkable (I'm sorry friendly family hotel but it really was). Fruit bread very yummy though.

Despite the super friendly service i would not stay here again. A good nights sleep is a high priority for me on holiday and this hotel is not designed to deliver one.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was our first time at the Owl Hotel, and we highly recommend it!

FIrst, location. It was easy to take the bus (4 euros per person in May 2013) from Schipol Airport to Leidseplein, a bustling square that is a mere five minute walk away from the hotel. The hotel is located near Museumplein, where you will find the big three museums (Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk); but there are several other fine museums within a reasonable walk from the hotel as well (we particularly recommend FOAM, an excellent photography museum). In addition to being so close to so many great restaurants, shops, museums, etc., the hotel's location is perfect for re-charging at the end of a full day; the peaceful, tree-lined street is matched by the nice garden patio at the back of the hotel. Highly restorative.

Second, the staff. Helpful, friendly, definitely making this the right place for us to recover from our 10-hour flight to Amsterdam.

Third, our room and the amenities of the hotel. Comfortable bed and a window that overlooked the garden. Free wifi that worked well. The perfect breakfast to get you out the door: cheese, meats, pastries, bread for toasting, cereal with milk or yogurt, hard boiled eggs, juices, coffee or tea (I am addicted to the cheese with cumin!).

We are already talking about our next trip to Amsterdam, and we will definitely stay at the Owl Hotel again when we do return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have stayed at the Owl on previous trips to Amsterdam and it is in a very good location. One can walk all over Amsterdam from here. Very nice rooms, recently upgraded. Good breakfast buffet. Front desk staff are so helpful and friendly. Close to the Leidesplein and museums.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Owl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owl Hotel

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Owl Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Owl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.