We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly but poor value for money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Owl Hotel

Save Saved
You added Owl Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Owl Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 1, Amsterdam 1054 EV, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very friendly but poor value for money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

The service here was excellent but sadly the hotel was poor value for money. The walls were paper thin which meant when the Aussies in the neighbouring room got their 6am phone call from the family back home we got to here every word... 2 days in a row. They then stayed in bed chatting post call to 8am which equated to us getting very little sleep, obviously not their fault, the fault of the paper walls and us staying up late. The fire alarm on sunday morning at 6.30am thanks to the smoker in the room was also not ideal. We left amsterdam exhausted and instead of pre dinner birthday drinks on saturday night we needed a pre dinner nap.

The service was super friendly and Disney the hotel cat was also friendly.

The room reminded me of halls of residence. The breakfast was very basic and the coffee was the worst coffee I have ever drunk, it was undrinkable (I'm sorry friendly family hotel but it really was). Fruit bread very yummy though.

Despite the super friendly service i would not stay here again. A good nights sleep is a high priority for me on holiday and this hotel is not designed to deliver one.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    177
    37
    10
    4
See reviews for
61
130
47
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland OR
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was our first time at the Owl Hotel, and we highly recommend it!

FIrst, location. It was easy to take the bus (4 euros per person in May 2013) from Schipol Airport to Leidseplein, a bustling square that is a mere five minute walk away from the hotel. The hotel is located near Museumplein, where you will find the big three museums (Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk); but there are several other fine museums within a reasonable walk from the hotel as well (we particularly recommend FOAM, an excellent photography museum). In addition to being so close to so many great restaurants, shops, museums, etc., the hotel's location is perfect for re-charging at the end of a full day; the peaceful, tree-lined street is matched by the nice garden patio at the back of the hotel. Highly restorative.

Second, the staff. Helpful, friendly, definitely making this the right place for us to recover from our 10-hour flight to Amsterdam.

Third, our room and the amenities of the hotel. Comfortable bed and a window that overlooked the garden. Free wifi that worked well. The perfect breakfast to get you out the door: cheese, meats, pastries, bread for toasting, cereal with milk or yogurt, hard boiled eggs, juices, coffee or tea (I am addicted to the cheese with cumin!).

We are already talking about our next trip to Amsterdam, and we will definitely stay at the Owl Hotel again when we do return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have stayed at the Owl on previous trips to Amsterdam and it is in a very good location. One can walk all over Amsterdam from here. Very nice rooms, recently upgraded. Good breakfast buffet. Front desk staff are so helpful and friendly. Close to the Leidesplein and museums.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel is situated in a quite respectable area, although very close to the vibrant Amsterdam center. After all those wandering through the city center, we became aware that it is not so easy to find a hotel with a combination of such merits. Probably, the hotel needs some renovation, as the interior looks almost the same, as it used to be, when I stayed here in 1990. Also the leaky windows need to be repaired somehow; we were freezing in the room, when the temperature came down to 8-10 degrees this May, until the heating was turned on. At the same time the breakfast room looked renovated and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was good enough. The hotel staff was very helpful and polite and did their best to meet our requests. Wifi worked properly all over the hotel. It is also worth mentioning that among all the hotels Own was the only one, offering the entire room price for a stay with no hidden surplus payments, like city tax, cost of breakfast, etc., which facilitated the financial planning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Owl Hotel in early May for 3 nights.
It's easy to get to from the airport on the bus and is in a great spot for a city break - we walked everywhere easily.
All the hotel staff were really friendly and helpful at recommending good local places to eat.
Our room was small, but comfortable and clean.

I would recommend and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This place is great! I stayed here for 4 days as I moved to Amsterdam. The wifi is over priced but you can get free wifi at Bagels and Beans Cafe close to the hotel. Alternately you can always go to Starbucks close to Leidsplein. There is also a computer that you can use for free.

The breakfast buffet is great.

The front desk staff is very helpful and look out for you. From helping with public transportation to tips for finding an apartment. I would come back here to stay if I didn't already live in Amsterdam!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our first trip to Amsterdam and we chose an excellent base, (Thanks to my fellow contributors)

Hotel's in the city are expensive even by London standards and to be fair, Owl is also pricey but the positives more than made up for this. The welcome was warm and this theme continued throught out our stay. The staff (family) could not be more helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Their local knowledge was very helpful and much appreciated. The location was very convenient, as a guide you could walk to the central station, thru the centre of town, in 35 minutes. The ever present trams render this unnecessary but you get the idea. Like most old European cities, Amsterdam is made for walking.

The room was clean. comfortable and quiet. Not large or luxurioulsy appointed but this is Europe. TV with cable channels and free wifi in the rooms. Breakfast was perfectly adequate if not expansive. One small comment, freshly made coffee in lieu of the machine would be a nice touch. There is a nice outdoor area to enjoy a cool beer after a busy day exploring.

The newly opened Rijksmusuem is barely a 5 minute walk and the Vondelpark no more than a 3 minute stroll. The busy Leidesplein is just over the nearest bridge with bars, resaurants ect.

I would recommend the hotel with confidence, particularly if like most of us, you are on a budget. A great location and friendly, helpful staff.

If you have not visited Amsterdam yet, just one recommendation, go soon. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: It is a quiet location so no problems there. We were on the top floor, this is a small lift. The sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Owl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owl Hotel

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 1, Amsterdam 1054 EV, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Owl Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Owl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.