We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Owl Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Owl Hotel to your Saves list
Owl Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great location, good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have stayed at the Owl on previous trips to Amsterdam and it is in a very good location. One can walk all over Amsterdam from here. Very nice rooms, recently upgraded. Good breakfast buffet. Front desk staff are so helpful and friendly. Close to the Leidesplein and museums.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    204
    51
    11
    6
See reviews for
68
152
54
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The hotel is situated in a quite respectable area, although very close to the vibrant Amsterdam center. After all those wandering through the city center, we became aware that it is not so easy to find a hotel with a combination of such merits. Probably, the hotel needs some renovation, as the interior looks almost the same, as it used to be, when I stayed here in 1990. Also the leaky windows need to be repaired somehow; we were freezing in the room, when the temperature came down to 8-10 degrees this May, until the heating was turned on. At the same time the breakfast room looked renovated and tastefully decorated. The breakfast was good enough. The hotel staff was very helpful and polite and did their best to meet our requests. Wifi worked properly all over the hotel. It is also worth mentioning that among all the hotels Own was the only one, offering the entire room price for a stay with no hidden surplus payments, like city tax, cost of breakfast, etc., which facilitated the financial planning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Owl Hotel in early May for 3 nights.
It's easy to get to from the airport on the bus and is in a great spot for a city break - we walked everywhere easily.
All the hotel staff were really friendly and helpful at recommending good local places to eat.
Our room was small, but comfortable and clean.

I would recommend and definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This place is great! I stayed here for 4 days as I moved to Amsterdam. The wifi is over priced but you can get free wifi at Bagels and Beans Cafe close to the hotel. Alternately you can always go to Starbucks close to Leidsplein. There is also a computer that you can use for free.

The breakfast buffet is great.

The front desk staff is very helpful and look out for you. From helping with public transportation to tips for finding an apartment. I would come back here to stay if I didn't already live in Amsterdam!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our first trip to Amsterdam and we chose an excellent base, (Thanks to my fellow contributors)

Hotel's in the city are expensive even by London standards and to be fair, Owl is also pricey but the positives more than made up for this. The welcome was warm and this theme continued throught out our stay. The staff (family) could not be more helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Their local knowledge was very helpful and much appreciated. The location was very convenient, as a guide you could walk to the central station, thru the centre of town, in 35 minutes. The ever present trams render this unnecessary but you get the idea. Like most old European cities, Amsterdam is made for walking.

The room was clean. comfortable and quiet. Not large or luxurioulsy appointed but this is Europe. TV with cable channels and free wifi in the rooms. Breakfast was perfectly adequate if not expansive. One small comment, freshly made coffee in lieu of the machine would be a nice touch. There is a nice outdoor area to enjoy a cool beer after a busy day exploring.

The newly opened Rijksmusuem is barely a 5 minute walk and the Vondelpark no more than a 3 minute stroll. The busy Leidesplein is just over the nearest bridge with bars, resaurants ect.

I would recommend the hotel with confidence, particularly if like most of us, you are on a budget. A great location and friendly, helpful staff.

If you have not visited Amsterdam yet, just one recommendation, go soon. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: It is a quiet location so no problems there. We were on the top floor, this is a small lift. The sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

So friendly, clean, good location. Get the 167 bus from Schipol to Leidsplein and it's a five minute walk - no need to spend a fortune on taxi or train! Free internet and lots of helpful advice about getting around the city. Recommend the Amsterdam pass - I saved over 55 euros!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We arrived to a very friendly welcome,which continued throughout our stay. You really know you are in a family run hotel with a lot of repeat visitors. Location peaceful, but within walking distance of all the main attractions, the newly reopened Rijksmuseum being five minutes away. Rooms are cosy and comfortable but without over the top luxury, ideal for a short city break. We enjoyed the healthy breakfast choices and leisurely buffet arrangement. We did not use the bar, but it looked a good place to relax after a day of sightseeing. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Owl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owl Hotel

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Owl Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Owl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.