We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Owl Hotel

Save Saved
You added Owl Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Owl Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stayed at the Owl Hotel for four nights. The service was second to none. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I stayed in a single room, which was small, but has everything you would need my room ensuite had a shower and no bath which was good for me, but most importantly the room was very clean. There is a comfortable sitting area and a small bar in the hotel. The hotel is situated within walking distance of everything in Amsterdam. Just a five minute walk from the hotel you will find the Keytours excursions centre, which is situated in the fabulous Coster Diamond Museum, which is on Pauluspotterstraat. The Hotel has a good selection of brochures which will tell you whats on in Amsterdam. The Hotel also gave me a 10% discount card for the Blue Boat Company which is the Canal Cruise around Amsterdam, this is again a five minute walk from the hotel just opposite the Holland Casino. Eating out is fantastic, there is a wide range of places to suit all budgets, and the night life near the hotel is great. Where the hotel is is quite so you'll get a good sleep. Now, all bikes in Amsterdam have got right of way, and keep off the bike path! The hotel has a resident cat, which was not an issue for me, but it may be for some. I will be back at the hotel again, it was just fantastic!

Room Tip: If you want more space then ask for a double room, although this is a popular hotel and fills up qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    178
    38
    10
    4
See reviews for
61
131
47
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia, pa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Based on reading reviews on Trip Advisor, we decided to stay at this hotel for 2 nights before embarking on a Netherlands river cruise. We took the city bus from the airport into town, but unfortunately we got off at the wrong stop and ended up wandering around for a while with all of our luggage. All we knew was the address of the hotel and that it was close to Leidesplein. Also, in one of the reviews, they mentioned it was close to the Marriott by Leidesplein. After finally finding the Marriott, they directed us to the Owl which is just behind the Marriott on a back street. Bottom line, if you can't find the hotel ask where the Marriott is and inquire there for the Owl's location.

Throughout our stay, the gentlemen at the front desk were wonderful with directions and tourist information. The trams to connect to any location in Amsterdam are around 3 blocks from the hotel at Leidesplein so it is extremely easy to get anywhere in the city from here. The major museums are within walking distance of the hotel at Museumplein.

Despite being close to the trams, the hotel is in a quiet residential neighborhood - the best of both worlds. Breakfast was quite adequate and kept us filled until we stopped for a late lunch. The rooms are pleasant, not fancy like the larger hotels, and very clean.

If you are looking for a hotel with a good location, clean rooms and pleasant staff, this is where you should stay when in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We have just spent three nights at the Owl Hotel for a friends' reunion. The hotel is family-run and consequently has a lovely, friendly atmosphere with extremely welcoming staff at the front desk.

The rooms are simply furnished but spotless. We had a bath with great shower over it. The breakfast in the morning is typically Dutch, with one or two additions - really good with great coffee.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to be within reasonable reach on foot of the main museums etc., in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Room 26 is a double, at the back, overlooking the garden. Nice room and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Just like to say that this hotel is very clean & the staff were more than helpful to any questions or needs we had, we had a room that was bright & adequate for what we needed, nothing fussy just a nice sized double bed although it was two large singles pushed together & a gap did appear in the middle at certain times if you know what i mean haha! no problems though.....more than enough room to walk around the bed & a modern looking clean bathroom with a shower (no bath) but again no prob's, one thing i will say is watch the step as you go into the bathroom ...especially at night, all i can say is my girlfriend is still laughing now at my ...lets say my little trip ;o) ...beware stubbed toes & headbuttin walls with hangover is not a thing to have on your wishlist!!! 'trust' .....
Breakfast was typically continental ..fresh & tasty & as much as you like! happy days,
Oh they do have a lovely cat called Disney that owns the the hotel ..well if u know cats ;) ...but don't worry she doesnt nick your food if your not looking..... just on general patrol & keeping everything in order,
Its about a 5 min tram ride into city centre ...20 min walk... or 2 million euros for a cab ;) ...don't get cabs they are a rip off ..20 euros for a 20 min walk ...naaaa! oh & you'd sit in traffic for 15 mins ( no brainer)
Overall i'd recommend this hotel for sure, good service .. clean.. & at a decent enough rate compared to other hotels we looked at.

Room Tip: We had room 51 ...it overlooked the street & our windows were open & didn't hear a thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We chose to stay at the Owl Hotel before and after a Baltic cruise because we wanted to be on a quiet street near the major museums in Amsterdam. Front desk staff are welcoming, enthusiastic and very helpful and the rooms were very well kept - absolutely spotless. The choices for breakfast were more than adequate. The hotel has a small elevator but we worked everything out just fine with our large pieces of luggage.

The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Stedelijk Museum and Concertgebouw are an easy walk from this hotel. Although it can be a long walk to other attractions in Amsterdam, there is much to explore - so enjoy. You can also take the tram which goes down Leidsestraat toward the center if you need to rest your feet.

We would gladly stay at the Owl Hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We totally enjoyed the Owl Hotel from the very friendly staff to the cat that lives in the charming sitting room and garden. It's in a very quiet neighborhoodm but the Van Gogh Museum, the Riijksmuseum, and the Leidseplein with a multitude a restaurants are a short walk away. The rooms are not fancy, but they are clean and functional. A great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

5 mins walk from Leidsel Square, a great social hub of bars, restaurants, theatres and city nightlife. Far enough away to be quiet though.
Just what you need for a city break...with friendly helpful staff and a nice simple Dutch breakfast included.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Owl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owl Hotel

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 1, 1054 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Owl Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Owl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Owl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.