We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central hotel, kind staff, charming building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Munck

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Munck to your Saves list
Hotel De Munck
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Achtergracht 3, 1017 WL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #246 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Central hotel, kind staff, charming building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We were very pleased with the hotel location, the kind staff, and the old, charming building. Yes, the staircase is extremely steep, but you should know that when booking a hotel in the old town. We were a family with 2 teenage children and received a large family room with internet (in the main building). Compared to Dutch standard, breakfast was ok - nothing exciting, but quite ok, and the breakfast room was really charming, mixing the old, historican style with American retro items. The staff was very friendly, the room clean, and the location superb. We were out most of the day anyway. Only reason to complain would be the hot water in the shower - it got burning hot and was for some reason very difficult to turn cold again. All in all, not suited for smaller children, but excellent for older ones.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    43
    28
    7
    8
See reviews for
13
20
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a 2 star hotel at 2 star prices. I have had worse and I guess it doesn't get much better in Amsterdam at this price , which does include a resonable continental breakfast.
As others have said the stairs are steep and may priove daunting to some guests. The room was small, warm in winter, clean sheets and towels and all a little jaded with work carpets and faded decorations, Wash basin in room with a wetroom shower and loo too small to move around in with comfort. Small T.V. with CNN and BBC 1 only in English.

No further creature comforts but at this price in Amsterdam it's sufficient for a short stay.

Close to Taxi rank, tram stops. Euro 13.50 to Central Station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

this hotel is good, staf very frindley and helpfull.. 7 min walk to rambrentplain .. its was a perfect stay for me and my girlfriend

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

My friend and I stayed here on a B&B basis for 3 nights in June. We were allowed to check in prior to the specified time, i.e. 2pm, given a clean and tidy room and our buffet breakfast was very good. The staff made us feel very welcome and were very helpful. We are hoping to stay here again soon. The location is also very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I consider this as a B&B instead of a hotel. The staircases to go up is too steep for most people. If you have mobility issues, forget about this hotel, especially the rooms facing the street. you will NOT be able to climb up the stairs at all. The WiFi is extremely weak and slow, even when you are in the breakfast area. No luck in our room at all. They should have installed screen door for the balcony because a lot of flies came in during the night. If we closed the door, it's hot even with the fan turned on. We found hair on the towels when we checked in so we did not use them at all. Breakfast was not too bad. Staff was friendly. Location is a few minutes of walk to the metro station. 3 stations away from the Central station. We walked for about 35 minutes from the central station to de Munck with our GPS guiding us. Over 100E a night is a bit expensive. A lot of restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Walk to Rembrandplein to eat, lot of good stuff there. Wok to Walk offers fast Chinese food for abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here during a three-night stay in Amsterdam. We were in one of the rooms on the top floor, and had a shared bathroom that was downstairs one flight. We never had to wait for the shower or toilet. The location was very convenient for accessing all of the attractions and trams, and there were a number of restaurants and cafes within a five-minute walk. There is a grocery store on the same block. Good place if you are there to sleep at night and not expecting amenities to keep you entertained during the day. Our one frustration was that we were unable to connect to the wireless service at any point during our stay. The value was good, but not as good as other places we stayed during our trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Munck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Munck

Address: Achtergracht 3, 1017 WL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Munck 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel De Munck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Munck Hotel
De Munck Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Munck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.