We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet place in the middle of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 1015, 1017 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet place in the middle of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Nice place located around the center of the Prinzengracht, with good tram access, on a quiet street. The front desk staff was always friendly and helpful -- this is worth staying here alone. There is a lovely garden out back - quite a treat in a busy town like this. Our room had a nice view of the canal. The bathroom was clean and perfectly adequate. We had a room safe and a desk. I was pleasantly surprised to find they have an elevator, which is great considering how vertigo-inducing some Amsterdam stairwells can be, and is nice when you're travelling with an elderly parent.

We booked here at the last minute, so I did not do my research to see that they did not have A/C. Not uncommon for a small hotel in northern Europe, and normally not a problem. It was just really hot this month, there were mosquitoes (no screens, also not uncommon for northern Europe), and it also meant having the windows open at night on a weekend with a big street party going on. Also the mattress was really squishy and beat-down feeling. The rooms were tiny (barely room for both bed and suitcase). Other than that, though, everything was great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    109
    52
    22
    13
See reviews for
30
94
40
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Perfect wee hotel for a few days in Amsterdam! Great location to walk to the main sites, extremely good service and lovely friendly staff! Nice big room too (think we were lucky), would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Asked for a view, got it. Great staff, clean room and bathrooms, quiet hotel. Very close to the city centre, about 5 minutes walking so it was an ideal spot as you could enjoy the calm canals at night or hit the busier streets 5 mins away.

Enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e s, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your stay in our Hotel !
We hope to welcome you again in the near future as our guest.,
With kindest regards

E. Schreurs
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I would recommend this hotel. It is pretty functional but the garden is excellent. The staff were friendly and efficient.

If they read this I would thoroughly suggest getting fixed shower screens rather than shower curtains.

I would go back. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e s, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.
Our garden is indeed a secret hideaway in Amsterdam You can relax there and enjoy a drink or even eat our breakfast.,

Thank yuo for your stay an we hope to welcome you again.

With kindest regards
E. Schreurs
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

2nd visit to this hotel - last time 2009, when i was impressed. Stayed for 2 days in July 2014 & observations - LOCATION - Excellent - reached in a 25 min walk from centraal station or No 16 or 24 tram to vitzelstraat. Hotel in quiet street. 10 - 15 mins walk to Dam Square RLD etc, 10 mins to leidseplien & only 5 to rembrant square.. ROOM - was a little dissapointed in this - single room on 5th floor (dont worry the hotel has a lift) - I know Amsterdam has small rooms due to type of buildings but this was very small - just enough room to walk to from bed / shower room & no more. Facilities kettle / safe (free), TV, shower room near the bed. This was the downside for me - the shower room had an extractor type fan noise all the time - even with the slide door shut, i could still hear this, even though i wore earplugs - very annoying. I spoke to staff but was advised it was automatic & could not be turned off. STAFF - Cant fault them , friendly & polite at all times. CLEANLINESS - Seemed OK, however, I noticed 2 large bites on my arms on day 2 - difficult to know where they came from - the bedsheets looked clean - may have came from the rear smoking yard, where mosquitos couldve been far more in number due to it being very hot days. I told reception staff about this - they didnt have any incect repellent to hand but for a short stay i wasnt too concerned. PRICE - £136 room only - fair but next time for the same money, id probably look at other hotels which seemed more modern, a little further away & offered breakfast in the deal. OVERALL - a nice place & definatly worth a quick stay & see what you think..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e s, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.
The single room on the 5th floor is small but has the nice view on the garden. We will take care off the noise and if we can reduce the noise a litlle bit. But I am afraid it is the ventilator which subtracts the condens in the shower. so litlle can be done.

We still hope we can welcome you as our guest in the future.

With kindest regards
E. Schreurs
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights solo before moving to another city to meet family. I stayed in single room # 106 which was small but with a good sized bathroom. The great feature about this room was that there was an access door to the quiet rear courtyard with greenery all around and patio chairs to relax. They serve breakfast at tables set up in the courtyard (as well as indoors) but the courtyard was usually vacant during the day and evening. There is a small cottage at the rear of the courtyard that must be for families or groups. It was a wonderful oasis escape from the busy city all around. The staff is very helpful and since you must leave your key when you go out, they are at the reception desk at all hours. Location is good especially with a bike where you can get around this incredible city easily.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 1015, 1017 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam
Hampshire Hotel Prinsengracht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.