We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice, views are great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 1015, 1017 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great choice, views are great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Asked for a view, got it. Great staff, clean room and bathrooms, quiet hotel. Very close to the city centre, about 5 minutes walking so it was an ideal spot as you could enjoy the calm canals at night or hit the busier streets 5 mins away.

Enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e s, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your stay in our Hotel !
We hope to welcome you again in the near future as our guest.,
With kindest regards

E. Schreurs
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    124
    59
    24
    13
See reviews for
31
115
41
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I would recommend this hotel. It is pretty functional but the garden is excellent. The staff were friendly and efficient.

If they read this I would thoroughly suggest getting fixed shower screens rather than shower curtains.

I would go back. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e s, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review.
Our garden is indeed a secret hideaway in Amsterdam You can relax there and enjoy a drink or even eat our breakfast.,

Thank yuo for your stay an we hope to welcome you again.

With kindest regards
E. Schreurs
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

2nd visit to this hotel - last time 2009, when i was impressed. Stayed for 2 days in July 2014 & observations - LOCATION - Excellent - reached in a 25 min walk from centraal station or No 16 or 24 tram to vitzelstraat. Hotel in quiet street. 10 - 15 mins walk to Dam Square RLD etc, 10 mins to leidseplien & only 5 to rembrant square.. ROOM - was a little dissapointed in this - single room on 5th floor (dont worry the hotel has a lift) - I know Amsterdam has small rooms due to type of buildings but this was very small - just enough room to walk to from bed / shower room & no more. Facilities kettle / safe (free), TV, shower room near the bed. This was the downside for me - the shower room had an extractor type fan noise all the time - even with the slide door shut, i could still hear this, even though i wore earplugs - very annoying. I spoke to staff but was advised it was automatic & could not be turned off. STAFF - Cant fault them , friendly & polite at all times. CLEANLINESS - Seemed OK, however, I noticed 2 large bites on my arms on day 2 - difficult to know where they came from - the bedsheets looked clean - may have came from the rear smoking yard, where mosquitos couldve been far more in number due to it being very hot days. I told reception staff about this - they didnt have any incect repellent to hand but for a short stay i wasnt too concerned. PRICE - £136 room only - fair but next time for the same money, id probably look at other hotels which seemed more modern, a little further away & offered breakfast in the deal. OVERALL - a nice place & definatly worth a quick stay & see what you think..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e s, Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your feedback.
The single room on the 5th floor is small but has the nice view on the garden. We will take care off the noise and if we can reduce the noise a litlle bit. But I am afraid it is the ventilator which subtracts the condens in the shower. so litlle can be done.

We still hope we can welcome you as our guest in the future.

With kindest regards
E. Schreurs
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights solo before moving to another city to meet family. I stayed in single room # 106 which was small but with a good sized bathroom. The great feature about this room was that there was an access door to the quiet rear courtyard with greenery all around and patio chairs to relax. They serve breakfast at tables set up in the courtyard (as well as indoors) but the courtyard was usually vacant during the day and evening. There is a small cottage at the rear of the courtyard that must be for families or groups. It was a wonderful oasis escape from the busy city all around. The staff is very helpful and since you must leave your key when you go out, they are at the reception desk at all hours. Location is good especially with a bike where you can get around this incredible city easily.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Just got back from a three night stay here. The room was in the eaves on the top floor, a little bit tatty and tired looking but with a great view over the canal. The room was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable; the room was also very quiet even with the window open. The location was utterly superb, handy for Rembrandt Square, the Heineken Experience, Canal Cruise and the Riksmuseum. The staff were very pleasant and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
62 hotel reviews
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights with some friends. It was a great weekend! The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of Amsterdam and you can easily cycle to the main attractions of the city in a few minutes. The hotel rents green bicycles for about 12.5€ per day and it very convenient to rent them here. The hotel faces a nice channel (nice pink flowers on the balconies) and the area is not crowed as others so it is not noisy. The only problems with noise you can have is if your room is close to the elevator as people start to use it early in the morning. Sometimes you can hear noise from the above floor, but in my case this was not a big issue. I was lucky to have a silent (far from the elevator) and quite large single room (403), while my friends had smaller rooms (404 and 303). So if you want a single room I suggest you to ask for room 403. Rooms were clean and the toilet too. They give you shampoo, soap, and body lotion (hairdryer also available). There is also a boiler with coffee and tea in the room. My TV was big enough. Everything worked properly. Everyday There were cleaning and new towels. The shower was new too. I had view of the nice garden behind the hotel. Breakfast was convenient (about 10€) and good with cereals, fruit, yogurt, bread, toast, cheese, ham... If you want to do breakfast outside you can have good and typical bagels at the corner for about 6€ each. The staff of the hotel deserves full 5 stars, they are extremely kind and helpful! A taxi from the hotel to the airport is 39€. We are happy about our stay at this hotel and may go back here again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 1015, 1017 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam
Hampshire Hotel Prinsengracht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.